Silver Stars (Front Lines)

Featured
 
5.0
 
4.3 (1)
1509 1
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 31, 2017
ISBN
978-0062342188
Buy This Book
      

For fans of Girl in the Blue Coat, Salt to the Sea, and The Boy at the Top of the Mountain, the second book of New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant’s epic alternate history is a coming-of-age story about three girls who are fiercely fighting their own personal battles in the midst of the greatest war of all time. The summer of 1943, World War II. With heavy memories of combat, Frangie, Rainy, Rio and the rest of the American army are moving on to their next target: the Italian island of Sicily. The women won’t conquer Italy alone. They are not heroes for fighting alongside their brothers—they are soldiers. But Frangie, Rainy, Rio, and the millions of brave females fighting for their country have become a symbol in the fight for equality. They will brave terrible conditions in an endless siege; they will fight to find themselves on the front lines of WWII; and they will come face-to-face with the brutality of war until they win or die.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Silver Stars
(Updated: November 07, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Just wowza. I'm a huge fan of FRONT LINES, the first book in the series. This series is an alternative history of what would have happened if women fought alongside men during WWII. SILVER STARS continues the story of three heroines who are WWII soldiers.

What worked: All of it. This coming of age story has readers continue seeing the war through the eyes of three different protagonists--Northern Californian farm girl Rio Richlin; African American Frangie Marr; and Intelligence Specialist Rainy Schulterman. It's the summer of 1943 and these women find themselves in North Africa and then Sicily and finally Italy. The earlier enthusiasm all of them had when they enlisted is now tempered. The changes are subtle at first but what really stands out in this story has to be how Grant gets into each of their fears, struggles, and doubts. He also doesn't shy back on the racism that was there during this time. As a matter of fact, some of his scenes only verified stories my own Uncle(who served in the North Africa campaign) and Grandpa Console(who served as a mechanic in Sicily) told around the dinner table when I was a child.

Each of the women go through their own horrors of the war. Rio fights in the trenches alongside the men. She struggles with the feelings she has of liking what she's doing which goes contrary to what she's been taught. She's good at what she does and others recognize that too. There's also kind of a love triangle. There's bomber pilot Strand who is from her small town and someone she has a crush on. Then there's Jack, the British soldier in her unit. She's more confused on exactly what her feelings are for either of them and fears that one only wants that girl he dated back in the states.

Rainy's journey starts off with her wanting to do all she can against the Nazis as they're behind the slaughter of her people in Europe. What happens to her at the end though is horrific and could very easily shattered anyone. Her story is one of strength and a burning resistance.

Frangie sees that discrimination and racism continue overseas. Grant doesn't hold back on what she encounters from fellow soldiers to downright racism and contempt from those who were suppose to be leaders. Though this all she doesn't shut down but battles courageously though Nazi fire to being looked down on as a 'black' medic. Her story is one that needs to be told. I heard stories like hers from my Uncle. He shared about the black troops that were in the North Africa campaign. Mostly though I fear that this part of the story has been held back. Grant does an excellent job letting readers see how it might have been for a black woman to be a soldier during this time.

Coming of age story that has three different heroines battle not only the enemy but their own doubts and struggles of what it means to be fighting in a war that isn't use to women being on the front lines. Mostly though this is a story of three girls who go on a journey that has them become strong and courageous at the end. Can't wait to see where their journey does end.
Good Points
1. Excellent alternative history of what would have happened if women fought along side men during WWII
2. Gritty, raw coming of age story
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: Silver Stars - Michael Grant
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I really enjoyed reading the first book in this series, Front Lines, so I was really excited for this sequel. These books are long but never feel like it. They’re packed with historical events without feeling dry. They tell the story of some great female characters that I would love to know in real life. They’re growth through these first two books have been amazing journeys and absolutely compelling stories to read.

I loved seeing how Rio, Frangie, and Rainy had all changed from the beginning of the first book to the end of this one. They’re growth was believable and it was amazing to see how much they had changed, to the point where they were nowhere near the girls who had started their journey. Just like in the first book, each character managed to do the most with their shared POV and made it so hard to pick a favourite of the three of them. I loved seeing them interact with the other soldiers and the dynamics it created.

The near 600 pages fly by with all the action that happened. The pacing was great, never feeling like it was too fast or like growth or the softer moments were being sacrificed for too much action. There was a good balance throughout the whole book. The book brought up many issues, religion, racism, sexism, politics in a way that seemed natural to the plot and not shoehorned in, which was great.

It was a great follow up to a book I really enjoyed in Front Lines but also stood on its own as a great book in the series. It pushed the characters and the plot forward and set up the next book without feeling like it was a placeholder in between the beginning and the end. The downside is having to wait so long for the next book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Faith has always known she was different and her...
The Mall
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Poems to Live Your Life By, Chris Riddell, political...
The Claires
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four beautiful girls. Quadruplets. They are not identical.But each is...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo,...
What He Hides
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She wants the truth... or does she? They say...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King,...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"more forgetting time. more midnight dances with yourself."...
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
It’s been years since eighteen-year-old Becca Hart believed in...
More Than His Best Friend
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
She’s got a strict rule against dating. Could her...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...

Latest Member Reviews

TBH, This is SO Awkward
 
4.0
"'TBH, This is SO Awkward: A Novel in Text' by Lisa Greenwald is quite interesting in that it is written..."
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."