Ugly Love

 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
1072 0
uglylvoe.jpg
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
August 05, 2015
ISBN
9781476753188
Buy This Book
      
#1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with a new heart-wrenching love story.

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn't think it's love at first sight. They wouldn't even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn't want love, she doesn't have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don't expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can't handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Tragic and compelling
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Ugly Love is just as its title suggests: it is an ugly story about two irrecoverably different people who have nothing in common aside from an aversion to relationships. At times, this book was difficult to read and I was full sobbing for the last quarter.

Tate is a registered nurse who is completely dedicated to furthering her education. Miles is an airline pilot who is still suffering from a horrific experience as a teenager, and avoids any opportunity to fall in love again. When they meet, Tate and Miles clash and fight, but they can’t deny an intense physical attraction to one another. Neither can afford to fall in love but they realise they have the perfect setup: sex only. This could be a great arrangement, but Tate can’t stick to the two simple rules Miles has for her: never ask about his past and don’t expect a future.

I didn’t know what to expect when I began reading this novel. To be honest, the premise sounds like it was inspired by 50 Shades of Grey and that’s what I began to expect from it. I assumed there would be an over-abundant amount of sex scenes with only minimal character development. This being a Colleen Hoover novel, I should have known better.

The novel focused on Tate and Miles’ perspectives; Tate for the present and Miles from six years earlier. I really enjoyed this set up as it opened my eyes to Miles’ true personality and I don’t believe that would have worked as well from just Tate’s perspective. Miles’ character development was approached in such a mature and stable manner. I am honestly floored by Hoover’s writing ability. We see Miles grow from an affectionate, sweet teenage boy who only wishes to bring happiness to those he loves, into a joyless, hardened man who never tries to cultivate relationships with others.

The characters were so incredibly realistic it felt as though they were sitting right in front of me. Tate was quite naïve, but very strong and determined. She could be sassy and rude, and while this annoyed me at times, it was still fantastic to see because she was real. There are so many authors out there who try hard to make their female protagonists likeable. I felt this was a great change of pace – we don’t always have to like the protagonist, but they do need to be interesting and that was definitely the case here. However, her older brother, Corbin, got on my nerves and his personality got dry very quickly. His over-protectiveness was realistic, but still angered me. He continually threatened people if they so much as looked at his sister, despite the fact that Tate could clearly look after herself. At the beginning, his personality was tolerable, but as the novel progressed, I was tempted to skip the pages that featured Corbin.

The relationship between Tate and Miles was a central part of the novel, very complicated but fascinating and it spurred me to read on. There were a lot of sex scenes spread throughout the text, but they were not overwhelming. Those scenes, while steamy, were also imbued with emotional and passionate tension. When Miles and Tate conversed before and after such scenes, it occurred naturally and effortlessly – you could practically feel the romance between the two developing right in front of you.

I thought I knew where this story was going and, while I correctly guessed a few plotlines, I was so wrong about the rest. It had the markings of a cliché romance: girl and boy hate each other, fall in love, but something is keeping them apart until they find a way to be together permanently. And while those clichés framed the foundation of the story, the novel was about so much more too. When the climax hit, I was not prepared for it at all. I did not see, nor expect, such a heartbreaking and devastating thing to occur. I thought this story was about Tate, but it was Miles’ story through and through. Reading the final few chapters of Ugly Love made me an emotional mess. I thought this novel was going to be a fun, sex-filled read, but it was a beautiful, tragic romance.

The writing was, at times, over-the-top, but mainly lovely. Tate’s perspective was to be expected – she is a twenty-something woman and it definitely read like that, which I enjoyed. However, Miles’ perspective followed a strange, poetic style where the format of the text was in the centre of the page, and most of the sentences were on individual lines as opposed to being organised in paragraphs. I really enjoyed this at the beginning of the novel, but as the book progressed, it got quite old and felt dramatic. Miles also droned on and on about a girl he fell in love with as a teenager and, as a result, I was starting to hate the name ‘Rachel’ due to how over-used it was (and that’s quite unfortunate because it is also my sister’s name).

Despite a few annoyances on my part, the novel was beautifully developed and truly wonderful to experience. Everything comes together and no plotline is left unanswered. If you are looking for a novel to make you cry buckets of tears, pick up Ugly Love as soon as you get the chance.
Good Points
Check out my blog and other reviews: www.thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Apocalypse Taco
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sid, Axl, and Ivan volunteer to make a late-night fast-food...
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war and...
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Part of a super fun middle grade series, Awesome Achievers...
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first I Can Read! book featuring beloved picture book...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In a beautiful anthology, ten children’s book greats share stories,...
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
First time in print! The...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...

Latest Member Reviews

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."