Alterations

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1560 1
Alterations
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 06, 2016
ISBN
9781681191928
Buy This Book
      

If anyone saw the prom boards Amelia Blanco makes on her favorite fashion app, they'd think Ethan Laurenti was her boyfriend. They wouldn't know that all the plans she's made for them are just dreams, and that she's the girl who watches him from the kitchen while her parents cook for his famous family. When Amelia's abuelita enrolls her in a month-long fashion internship in NYC, Amelia can't imagine leaving Miami--and Ethan--for that long. As soon as she gets to New York, however, she finds a bigger world and new possibilities. She meets people her own age who can actually carry on a conversation about stitching and design. Her pin boards become less about prom with Ethan and more about creating her own style. By the time she returns to Miami, Amelia feels like she can accomplish anything, and surprises herself by agreeing to help Ethan's awkward, Steve-Jobs-wannabe brother, Liam, create his own fashion app. As Liam and Amelia grow closer, Ethan realizes that this newly confident, stylish girl may be the one for him after all . . . even though he has a reality TV star girlfriend he conveniently keeps forgetting about. The "new and improved" Amelia soon finds herself in between two brothers, a whole lot of drama, and choice she never dreamed she'd have to make.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Great Read For YA Contemporary Lovers!
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I cannot stand the cuteness! Alterations by Stephanie Scott is the YA contemporary read that everyone needs in their life. It's a quick, feel-good read about a girl who loves fashion, Pinterest, and is crushing hard for one of the boys next door.

What I Liked:

First of all, I loved how the main character is Latina. It felt nice to be able to relate to her since I am also Hispanic and her life was one I could understand to a certain level of familiarity. The terms of endearment, love for soap operas or telenovelas, and the close-knit relationship between the main character and her grandmother made me smile throughout the novel. It's been a long time since I read a book without the general and cliché representation we always get in literature, so it was comforting to read a book where it was handled well.

Besides the Latina main character, I also found Alterations to be extremely relatable since Amelia has a passion for Pinterest and Instagram, something that any book lover will definitely see themselves in if they use these social media platforms. A year ago I might have not understood the call of Instagram and interacting with your followers, but now I do and I enjoyed the references in this book.

It wasn't until after I finished Alterations that I learned that this book is a retelling of Audrey Hepburn's movie Sabrina, so curious to learn more about the inspiration behind this book, I immediately went to see it and ended up finding a new classic to love! What's more, I found myself loving the characters from Alterations even more since I couldn't help myself from imagining them when I watched the movie. This truly made my reading experience even better and would recommend anyone to do this too when they read Alterations!

And I cannot not mention the cute romance in this book. Amelia is torn between two dashing Laurenti boys who couldn't be more opposites from each other. Ethan is the striking popular guy who Amelia has had a crush for ages, and then there's Liam, the nerdy cute guy who loves tech. I always knew who I was vying for from the start, but I still enjoyed reading about this sweet love triangle.

What Didn't Do It For Me:

While Amelia and her Abuelita have a great relationship, I was a bit let down with the relationship she has with her mother (and her mother's personality). Amelia loves her mother and respects her, but I don't think her mother deserves a daughter like Amelia. She's supposed to be a good role model for Amelia, but she lies about a few things that didn't sit well with me. She also has some feeble excuses for not pursuing her dreams and it's a bit hard to believe that Amelia's Abuelita would have let her get sidetracked for that long. It kind of goes against their values, and to be honest, I wanted a good mother for the main character for once. It's starting to be something unheard of in YA literature.

I was also expecting more from the first half of the story, when Amelia goes to her internship to New York. She spends her time working hard with her project (which I admired!) but not much happens besides her spinning an impressive web of lies. This is where I wanted to feel the beginning of many butterflies in my stomach, but I didn't until much later.

Final Verdict:

Alterations is a great contemporary read where you will not only get a hard-driven Latina main character with a love for fashion, but also a great spin to Audrey Hepburn's movie, Sabrina. Definitely recommend!
Good Points
It's a YA retelling of Audrey Hepburn's Sabrina!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."