Dragon Marked (Supernatural Prison #1)

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
2887 0
Dragon Marked (Supernatural Prison #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
November 17, 2015
ISBN
978-1503949782
Buy This Book
      
As a wolf shifter with razor-sharp senses, Jessa Lebron can perceive the slightest change in the air. And her lupine instincts go into overdrive right before her mother, who abandoned her years ago, returns to the pack bearing secrets that change everything.

The biggest secret of all: Jessa is dragon marked, a designation that places her in grave danger. The dragon marked are destined to resurrect the dragon king, a fearsome ancient warmonger. And they must be eliminated.

Soon Jessa is locked up in Vanguard, the notorious paranormal prison that houses criminal vampires, feys, and magic users. Thankfully, she’s not alone: Braxton Compass, her best friend and a dragon shifter, has her back. Jessa and Braxton must find a way to free themselves and the rest of the dragon marked. But can her pack mates help her stop the dragon king before his deadly return?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Supernatural at it's best
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
DRAGON MARKED is about a girl named Jessa, who is a wolf shapeshifter. She soon learns though that she is dragon marked. Which places her in grave danger with The Four. Four men whose main job is to hunt and capture those marked by the dragon king. Jessa, along with her best friend (maybe more) Braxton, get locked up in Vanguard. The prison their town protects. After an incident in the prison Jessa goes on the run to escape being locked away forever.

What I liked


Dragons are on of my favorite mythical creatures. I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect from this book, but I was pleasantly surprised to find myself enjoying it. Jessa, a wolf shapeshifter lives in Stratford, a supernatural town hidden away from humans, with her best friends the Compass’. They go to a supernatural school together until they turn the age of 25. Which allows them to graduate and take their place on the council. What I thought was interesting was the way this town was setup. It almost reminded me of Storybook from Once Upon a Time. The town Stratford is hidden away from humans and allows the supernaturals to exist without having to hide what they are. They have a barrier around town that protects the town, as well as the supernatural prison, in case any criminals get out.

Jessa was a character that I’ve seen before, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying getting to know her. She was pretty awesome, she knew how to fight, and put away food. I love seeing women characters who aren’t afraid to be tough and eat! That being said the Compass’ four brothers and Jessa’s best friends, were totally willing and ready to protect Jessa themselves. The dynamic between Jessa and the four brothers was also something that I liked. I also didn’t mind when they stood up for Jessa. Or especially when they had her back as she fought. Which she did often. I really related to Jessa’s attitude. She was a fighter by nature and she didn’t let people hurt those that she loved.

The way that Jaymin talked about sex in this book was one of the best. She didn’t shy away from it and she didn’t act like kids in their 20s weren’t having it. While it didn’t get graphic, it was there. And I honestly loved it. I liked that no one was shamed for having it and no one was shamed for not having it. There were some parts that were a little cringy but overall I liked that this book talked about it in a normal context.

What left me wanting more:

The way they talked. I don’t know why but abbreviating words when you speak is such a pet peeve of mine. So every time they called supernatural supes, made me cringe so much. But after awhile the language starts to grow on you and it didn’t bother me as much anymore. And the one other thing was the way Jessa talked about the other girls in the town. The girls would drool over the Compass boys and Jessa would make a comment about it that bothered me a bit, but after getting deeper into the book, I think her comments were ones born of not wanting to share her boys. Which made the comments a little more understanding.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and how much I became invested in the characters. They made me laugh. I also loved the dynamic between Braxton and Jessa, even if Jessa wasn’t willing to admit to her feelings. There are three books in this series and I actually am going to be picking them up and seeing how it all ends. There is mention of sex in this book, but it’s not graphic at all, and is done really well. If you like dragons and buff boys DRAGON MARKED is a book you should really check out. I’m excited to see where this series goes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."