Interference

FeaturedHot
 
4.7
 
4.0 (1)
3585 1
Interference
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 27, 2016
ISBN
978-0545812320
Buy This Book
      

As a Congressman's daughter in Washington, DC, Kate Hamilton is good at getting what she wants -- what some people might call "interfering." But when her family moves to West Texas so her dad can run in a special election, Kate encounters some difficulties that test all her political skills. None of her matchmaking efforts go according to plan. Her father's campaign gets off to a rough start. A pro tip for moving to Texas: Don't slam the star quarterback's hand in a door. And whenever Kate messes up, the irritatingly right (and handsome) Hunter Price is there to witness it. But Kate has determination and a good heart, and with all her political savvy -- and a little clever interference -- she'll figure out what it takes to make Red Dirt home.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Well-written mix of football, Emma, politics, and Hamilton
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Loved:

Kate Hamilton isn’t your sweet ingenue. She’s as well-versed in politics as her dad and is practically on fire with fury after her ex-boyfriend Parker posted many… unflattering photos of Kate on the school website for the girl he’d been cheating on Kate with. None of them are nudes, but they impacted her father’s career enough that they had to flee to Texas and her father is now running for election in his hometown district instead of his original North Carolina district.

From her reflections on life in DC, it’s clear Kate never stood down in the face of injustice and she’s not about to start doing so in Red Dirt, Texas. She already has a plan in mind for vengeance against Parker, but in the meantime, she’s happy trying to “fix” thing she sees as wrong in Red Dirt. Her new friend Ana is ostracized because her ex-boyfriend Hank spread rumors she’s a slut? Set her up with hometown-hero quarterback Kyle Stone so no one will ever bother her again! Kyle turns out to be a massive douche? Try and fail multiple times to screw him over. She’s a mess, to say the least.

If you love Hamilton–and really, who doesn’t?–Kate might feel a little familiar: she’s basically Alexander Hamilton reborn as a modern high school student with all of the meddling tendencies of Emma from Jane Austen’s eponymous novel. Kate’s pushy willing to fight anyone at any time over any perceived injustice. She’s so dedicated that she misses things readers will find obvious. See: Kyle’s overinflated ego, Ana’s feelings, and Hunter’s major crush on her.

Just like Kate is desperately trying to find the “soul” in her photographs, she’s trying to find who she is. She’s lived a life so full of political spin she’s practically the concept given life! Interference has a lot of football talk and political shenanigans, but it’s mostly about Kate finding herself. In the meantime, readers are treated to lovely writing and a familiar yet unique small-town setting. The political lens we come to see Red Dirt’s district through gives what could have been a tired setting new life and is dead-on about how important football is in a town like that.

What Left Me Wanting:

Speaking of Hunter, his and Kate’s slow-burn romance is the only thing about the novel worth criticizing. The romantic chemistry between them wasn’t there for me and I wondered how much better off the book would have been had their relationship remained platonic.

Final Verdict:

Throughout the book, I had “Just Like Fire” by P!nk stuck in my head and it’s for good reason: that song is practically Kate’s anthem. If you’ve head that song and like the lyrics, this is the book you want. This well-written mix of football, Emma, politics, and Hamilton will please almost any reader. (In addition, have fun trying to convince me Kate isn’t descended from Alexander Hamilton from her father and Korean through her mother. My headcanons won’t be altered even if the author herself says I’m wrong. No evidence for it = none against it sometimes.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A riveting read with high school football, age-old rivalries, and a heated political campaign
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Even if the characters take a bit to warm up to, the book is a good read. Stick with it - even if the chemistry isn't always there, the author does bring it altogether by the end of the story.
Good Points
Kate Hamilton has the best of intentions. She does. Being a Congressman’s daughter and living in the political hotbed of DC, it’s taught her a thing or two about how to sway the vote, how to make perception reality, and how to maneuver in and around difficult situations.

When a high school breakup turns into a scandal in the middle of her Dad’s current campaign, Kate and her family go back to his roots, leaving the urban environment of Washington, DC for the expanse (and dust) of Red Dirt, Texas. Kate is looking to make things right, even if she is miles from any civilization. She needs to make her ex pay for what he did, she needs some volunteer hours pronto to beat him for a coveted recommendation letter, and she needs to build her photography portfolio if she wants to get into a decent art program.

What she goes looking for and what she finds ends up being two very different things. Her proposal to volunteer at the library is met by hostility and sarcasm and a small case of mistaken identity. Her offer to volunteer at the animal shelter gets her thrown into a difficult situation, where she is out of her depth. Her attempt to match people together blows up into a disaster unto itself, and the people getting hurt are people she is starting to care about.

Through it all, Kate is a girl struggling to understand where she fits in with her family, the family business, and a town where she is the new girl. With her trusty film camera, access to a darkroom, and an unexpected friendship with Hunter Price, she figures out how to understand the soul of a town, a photograph, and even herself.

Set against the backdrop of high school football, age-old rivalries, and a heated political campaign, Kay Honeyman gives readers a riveting story with “Interference.” Her dialogue is strong and captivating. Her characters are made human with their flaws and their vulnerabilities, which also makes them endearing when we realize they really are doing the very best they can.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Story of Inventions
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Christmas
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: CHRISTMAS is a fun activity book for elementary-aged children (and maybe older toddlers). The book features..."
Baby, Find the Shapes! (Indestructibles)
 
4.7
"BABY, FIND THE SHAPES! is a fun addition to the Indestructibles book series. The best feature of this book is..."
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
4.3
"Born in 1927, Althea Gibson experienced the racial and gender disparities that were prevalent at the time, but were in..."
Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”
 
5.0
"WELCOME TO JAZZ is a truly delightful and entertaining children's book. The book teaches about jazz in terms of history,..."
National Geographic Student World Atlas
 
5.0
" A wonderful representation of the world for teaching kids to love the earth they live on. With bright,..."
Ralph Masiello's Alien Drawing Book
 
4.7
"A cute way for kids to learn how to draw. This book takes kids through a step by..."
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."