Frost Like Night (Snow Like Ashes #3)

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
3563 0
Frost Like Night (Snow Like Ashes #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 20, 2016
ISBN
978-0062286987
Buy This Book
      

Angra is alive, his Decay is spreading—and no one is safe. Meira will do anything to save her world. With Angra trying to break through her mental defenses, she desperately needs to learn to control her own magic—so when the leader of a mysterious Order from Paisly offers to teach her, she jumps at the chance. But the true solution to stopping the Decay lies in a labyrinth deep beneath the Season Kingdoms. To defeat Angra, Meira will have to enter the labyrinth, destroy the very magic she’s learning to control—and make the biggest sacrifice of all. Mather will do anything to save his queen. He needs to rally the Children of the Thaw, find Meira—and finally tell her how he really feels. But with a plan of attack that leaves no kingdom unscathed and a major betrayal within their ranks, winning the war—and protecting Meira—slips farther and farther out of reach. Ceridwen will do anything to save her people. Angra had her brother killed, stole her kingdom, and made her a prisoner. But when she’s freed by an unexpected ally who reveals a shocking truth behind Summer’s slave trade, Ceridwen must take action to save her true love and her kingdom, even if it costs her what little she has left. As Angra unleashes the Decay on the world, Meira, Mather, and Ceridwen must bring the kingdoms of Primoria together…or lose everything.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Sob fest till the very end
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
FROST LIKE NIGHT was such a perfect ending for a great series. It picks up where Ice Like Fire left off. Meira has left and gone with Rares to figure out how to protect herself, fight against Angra, and end the war. What I loved is how much Meira grows in this last book. She really learns how to control her magic and trust that the people she loves can handle whats to come. She blames herself for what happened to her people and to her friends, but in FLN, through Rares and Oana she learns to let that go. That it’s not her fault and the best she can do is to fight. She learns not to fear her magic, even though magic has been used to do bad things, her and her magic are not bad and can do good.

What I loved:

A lot of the first part of the book is setting up what’s to come in the second half. So I know for some it feels like it moves slow but it really is a good set up. Plus we get to see more and more relationships grow. Not to mention how Rhythms and Seasons are fighting together, side by side to stop Angra. As well as Meira’s relationship with her friends, her people, and those in the surrounding kingdoms. I absolutely loved Meira’s strength in this book. She starts out as someone who really doubts herself and her magic, but in FROST LIKE NIGHT she really comes into her own. She knows to win this war she will have to use her magic. And she learns to trust those closest to her. With a lot of really close calls this book will have you on the edge of your seat. It is told in multiple POVs and every time you leave one, it’s in the middle of something happening. Which made me flip through the pages so fast. And not reading the last page was the hardest thing I had to do. This book was everything I had hoped for.

Now when I first started this series, Mather really really bothered me, but in these last two books, he grew on me so much. The way he’s willing to fight beside Meira and how he trusts her. I really loved that about his character. He didn’t stop her from doing anything, he just promised he’d follow her. I think that’s one of my favorite things in books. When the guy doesn’t get in the way of the girl but stands beside her and helps her. I love that! It’s one of the things I loved best about this series and these characters.

What left me wanting more:

Like I said before the first half of the book is really setting up the fighting and getting everyone together and getting a plan in motion that it starts out a bit slow. But that build up and the slow burn really get it going for when the fighting does start. There are plans and failed missions and it all comes together in the end. So that when you get to the final battle it really packs a punch. Then there’s the different POVs. Which always interrupt the best parts, but I liked knowing what was happening in everyone else’s part of the fight. It just made me turn the pages faster. Plus I think Sara pulled it off really well. I liked seeing inside Mather’s mind and Ceridwen’s. Especially Ceridwen’s, she’s such a little punk, but in like the best way possible.

Overall, I loved this book. It was amazing and left me in tears and I was just so happy with the way it ended. I thought Sara did such an amazing job. This is a series that I have loved since the very beginning and seeing it end in such a great way, makes it worth every moment of waiting. Frost Like Night is an amazing sob fest that had me crying sad and happy tears. I don’t want to say to much and spoil it for anyone else, but pick this one up when it comes out September 20th. It’s worth it, it really is! And when you do read it come drop me a line and we can freak out over it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: Frost Like Night
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Frost Like Night is the conclusion to the amazing Snow Like Ashes series. I have loved every single book in this series and the conclusion did not disappoint. Since it was the conclusion, I don’t want to say too much so I don’t end up spoiling anything in the series.

There was everything I wanted in this book. There was action, character growth, surprises, edge of your seat moments. The book was told in dual POVs again, Meira and Mather, and I really enjoyed being in both their POVs. We got to see both of their perspectives on things and when they were separated, there was no wondering what was going on with the other group. We also got to see Ceridwen’s POV and she was an interesting addition. She was a warrior and not someone I would want to fight against.

The book picked up where the second left off and it was fast-paced the whole way through. I started it late at night and I couldn’t stop. I kept reading until I was finished. There was never a good stopping point where I wouldn’t be wondering what happened in the next chapter. 500 pages and it flew by!

A great conclusion to a great series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."