The Lost and The Found

Featured
 
3.3
 
4.0 (1)
1261 0
The Lost and The Found
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 13, 2016
ISBN
978-1101932049
Buy This Book
      

Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face on the Milk Carton, and Natasha Preston’s The Cellar will be captivated by this twisty psychological thriller about an abducted girl who finally returns home to her family—but is she really who she claims to be? THE LOST When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Since then, Faith’s childhood has revolved around her sister’s disappearance—from her parents’ broken marriage and the constant media attention, to dealing with so-called friends who only ever want to talk about her missing sister. THE FOUND Now, thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the front yard of the Logans’ old house, disoriented and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Can her sister finally be back? Faith always dreamed of her sister coming home; she just never believed it would happen. But soon a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated from her family and paranoid about her sister’s motives. Before long, Faith begins to wonder if it’s the abduction that’s changed her sister, or if it’s something else. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Lost and The Found
(Updated: September 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What worked: This story starts out similar to recent news stories where some abducted girls are later found and returned to their families. Only in this story, readers get a glimpse of what happens after the media leaves. In The Lost and the Found we see how this family tries to adjust after their missing daughter is returned to them thirteen years later. Sure, they are beyond happy that Laurel is alive, but we also see the awkward moments like when Faith and her mother have lunch with a former neighbor and her daughters. Also we see Michel, the new companion of Faith and Laurel's father, being quietly pushed aside in order to keep a facade of how the family 'used' to be.

Mostly we see Faith's reactions to her sister's sudden appearance. At first she is excited that her older sister has been found and really tries to reconnect, but something is just off. She pushes those thoughts aside at first. I really liked how the author shows this. Also she shows the little things Laurel does that don't seem 'right'. Add to that how Faith struggles with feelings of guilt and even jealousy.

I really like how we see how the sudden appearance of Laurel, after being missing for thirteen years, causes it's own havoc. Faith has been on guard with people that she feels have only wanted to be friends because her sister is famous with all the media attention. There's also a betrayal that took me off guard.

Readers at first see a very traumatized Laurel when she's returned to her family. Her moods swift quickly from being happy to be home to very secretive. I admit I kind of knew where this story was going but the final reveal did stump me. I didn't see that coming!

Kuddos for open-ending conclusion which works perfectly.

The romance though didn't quite work for me. It felt forced at times and I really wanted to see more of it.

Psychological thriller on the aftermath of a girl being returned to her family after being missing for thirteen years. Twists on what might have in fact really happened that will surprise readers at the end.
Good Points
1. Good psychological thriller
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
good twists
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"The Lost and the Found" is the story of Faith Logan, who has lived her life in the shadow of her missing older sister who disappeared while they were playing in the sandbox at 6 years old (when Faith was 4). Fourteen years after her disappearance, her sister Laurel appears at their old house carrying the bear she was holding when she disappeared. Laurel is haunted by the things that were done to her and rebuilding herself with the aid of Faith and their parents. Faith is caught up in the reappearance and her sister, allowing her wants/needs and feelings to fall to the wayside until the night that changes everything.

This book is captivating and eloquent, the portrait of a disappearance and reappearance and the trials that result. Faith's viewpoint was unique and gave a different color to the story. The way her family has fallen apart and put themselves back together over time- and then must do it again once Laurel is back- gives the book a hopeful feel.

I loved the very, very last part at the end which gives more insight into Faith, but regardless, I found Faith to be a completely believable character and I liked her a lot. She grows throughout the story and finds herself, figuring out her own desires for her life and for her family. It's not always easy to get there, but she does. The major twist in the story is a little predictable, since it's blatantly hinted at in the description. I wish the description didn't mention this, so it would have been more of a surprise. At any rate, the why and how is still a surprise. I won't say much more so as not to contain spoilers, but I would have loved it more if it if I hadn't known it was coming.

Michel was my favorite character- he is Faith's father's significant other (husband?). He and Faith have a close relationship, spending a lot of time together. He seems to be one of the few people with her interests at heart (but I imagine this would be the way it would be, re: her parents, when you lose a child and you don't have to worry so much about the one who is safe). He's an insightful and gentle character. I would like to read about his story, as he seems to have some mysteries of his own.

Overall, I really enjoyed the story; it was haunting and enthralling with some great twists at the end. Please note that I received this book from the publisher through netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Problem with Pierre
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The differences between Bertram and his neighbor Alan were never...
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love to press the soft, silicone buttons on...
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Step into an opulent world filled with risk, romance, and...
Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...

Latest Member Reviews

The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."