The Lost and The Found

Featured
 
3.3
 
4.0 (1)
1323 0
The Lost and The Found
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 13, 2016
ISBN
978-1101932049
Buy This Book
      

Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face on the Milk Carton, and Natasha Preston’s The Cellar will be captivated by this twisty psychological thriller about an abducted girl who finally returns home to her family—but is she really who she claims to be? THE LOST When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Since then, Faith’s childhood has revolved around her sister’s disappearance—from her parents’ broken marriage and the constant media attention, to dealing with so-called friends who only ever want to talk about her missing sister. THE FOUND Now, thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the front yard of the Logans’ old house, disoriented and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Can her sister finally be back? Faith always dreamed of her sister coming home; she just never believed it would happen. But soon a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated from her family and paranoid about her sister’s motives. Before long, Faith begins to wonder if it’s the abduction that’s changed her sister, or if it’s something else. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Lost and The Found
(Updated: September 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What worked: This story starts out similar to recent news stories where some abducted girls are later found and returned to their families. Only in this story, readers get a glimpse of what happens after the media leaves. In The Lost and the Found we see how this family tries to adjust after their missing daughter is returned to them thirteen years later. Sure, they are beyond happy that Laurel is alive, but we also see the awkward moments like when Faith and her mother have lunch with a former neighbor and her daughters. Also we see Michel, the new companion of Faith and Laurel's father, being quietly pushed aside in order to keep a facade of how the family 'used' to be.

Mostly we see Faith's reactions to her sister's sudden appearance. At first she is excited that her older sister has been found and really tries to reconnect, but something is just off. She pushes those thoughts aside at first. I really liked how the author shows this. Also she shows the little things Laurel does that don't seem 'right'. Add to that how Faith struggles with feelings of guilt and even jealousy.

I really like how we see how the sudden appearance of Laurel, after being missing for thirteen years, causes it's own havoc. Faith has been on guard with people that she feels have only wanted to be friends because her sister is famous with all the media attention. There's also a betrayal that took me off guard.

Readers at first see a very traumatized Laurel when she's returned to her family. Her moods swift quickly from being happy to be home to very secretive. I admit I kind of knew where this story was going but the final reveal did stump me. I didn't see that coming!

Kuddos for open-ending conclusion which works perfectly.

The romance though didn't quite work for me. It felt forced at times and I really wanted to see more of it.

Psychological thriller on the aftermath of a girl being returned to her family after being missing for thirteen years. Twists on what might have in fact really happened that will surprise readers at the end.
Good Points
1. Good psychological thriller
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
good twists
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"The Lost and the Found" is the story of Faith Logan, who has lived her life in the shadow of her missing older sister who disappeared while they were playing in the sandbox at 6 years old (when Faith was 4). Fourteen years after her disappearance, her sister Laurel appears at their old house carrying the bear she was holding when she disappeared. Laurel is haunted by the things that were done to her and rebuilding herself with the aid of Faith and their parents. Faith is caught up in the reappearance and her sister, allowing her wants/needs and feelings to fall to the wayside until the night that changes everything.

This book is captivating and eloquent, the portrait of a disappearance and reappearance and the trials that result. Faith's viewpoint was unique and gave a different color to the story. The way her family has fallen apart and put themselves back together over time- and then must do it again once Laurel is back- gives the book a hopeful feel.

I loved the very, very last part at the end which gives more insight into Faith, but regardless, I found Faith to be a completely believable character and I liked her a lot. She grows throughout the story and finds herself, figuring out her own desires for her life and for her family. It's not always easy to get there, but she does. The major twist in the story is a little predictable, since it's blatantly hinted at in the description. I wish the description didn't mention this, so it would have been more of a surprise. At any rate, the why and how is still a surprise. I won't say much more so as not to contain spoilers, but I would have loved it more if it if I hadn't known it was coming.

Michel was my favorite character- he is Faith's father's significant other (husband?). He and Faith have a close relationship, spending a lot of time together. He seems to be one of the few people with her interests at heart (but I imagine this would be the way it would be, re: her parents, when you lose a child and you don't have to worry so much about the one who is safe). He's an insightful and gentle character. I would like to read about his story, as he seems to have some mysteries of his own.

Overall, I really enjoyed the story; it was haunting and enthralling with some great twists at the end. Please note that I received this book from the publisher through netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...
Manu: A Graphic Novel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set at a magical school for girls, a funny and...
Barakah Beats
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic...
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle—twelve-year-old Young Lady of Quality and Victorian amateur detective—is...
How to Get Away with Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle has no desire to go on a relaxing...
Playing the Cards Your Dealt
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Kyle's Little Sister
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My name is Grace, not "Kyle's little sister!" ...
Ground Zero
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In time for the twentieth anniversary of 9/11, master storyteller...
Final Season
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player...
Sunny Makes a Splash (Sunny #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest in the New York Times bestselling Sunny series...
The Magical Reality of Nadia (The Magical Reality of Nadia #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the author's real life experiences, this rollicking, charming...
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children are rarely introduced properly to architecture, but there are...
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fresh from their hair-raising adventures in The Mystery of the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
"THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a dark YA horror that creeps up on you. The book follows two teens, Eliot..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."