The Lost and The Found

Featured
 
3.3
 
4.0 (1)
1186 0
The Lost and The Found
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 13, 2016
ISBN
978-1101932049
Buy This Book
      

Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face on the Milk Carton, and Natasha Preston’s The Cellar will be captivated by this twisty psychological thriller about an abducted girl who finally returns home to her family—but is she really who she claims to be? THE LOST When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Since then, Faith’s childhood has revolved around her sister’s disappearance—from her parents’ broken marriage and the constant media attention, to dealing with so-called friends who only ever want to talk about her missing sister. THE FOUND Now, thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the front yard of the Logans’ old house, disoriented and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Can her sister finally be back? Faith always dreamed of her sister coming home; she just never believed it would happen. But soon a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated from her family and paranoid about her sister’s motives. Before long, Faith begins to wonder if it’s the abduction that’s changed her sister, or if it’s something else. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Lost and The Found
(Updated: September 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What worked: This story starts out similar to recent news stories where some abducted girls are later found and returned to their families. Only in this story, readers get a glimpse of what happens after the media leaves. In The Lost and the Found we see how this family tries to adjust after their missing daughter is returned to them thirteen years later. Sure, they are beyond happy that Laurel is alive, but we also see the awkward moments like when Faith and her mother have lunch with a former neighbor and her daughters. Also we see Michel, the new companion of Faith and Laurel's father, being quietly pushed aside in order to keep a facade of how the family 'used' to be.

Mostly we see Faith's reactions to her sister's sudden appearance. At first she is excited that her older sister has been found and really tries to reconnect, but something is just off. She pushes those thoughts aside at first. I really liked how the author shows this. Also she shows the little things Laurel does that don't seem 'right'. Add to that how Faith struggles with feelings of guilt and even jealousy.

I really like how we see how the sudden appearance of Laurel, after being missing for thirteen years, causes it's own havoc. Faith has been on guard with people that she feels have only wanted to be friends because her sister is famous with all the media attention. There's also a betrayal that took me off guard.

Readers at first see a very traumatized Laurel when she's returned to her family. Her moods swift quickly from being happy to be home to very secretive. I admit I kind of knew where this story was going but the final reveal did stump me. I didn't see that coming!

Kuddos for open-ending conclusion which works perfectly.

The romance though didn't quite work for me. It felt forced at times and I really wanted to see more of it.

Psychological thriller on the aftermath of a girl being returned to her family after being missing for thirteen years. Twists on what might have in fact really happened that will surprise readers at the end.
Good Points
1. Good psychological thriller
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
good twists
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"The Lost and the Found" is the story of Faith Logan, who has lived her life in the shadow of her missing older sister who disappeared while they were playing in the sandbox at 6 years old (when Faith was 4). Fourteen years after her disappearance, her sister Laurel appears at their old house carrying the bear she was holding when she disappeared. Laurel is haunted by the things that were done to her and rebuilding herself with the aid of Faith and their parents. Faith is caught up in the reappearance and her sister, allowing her wants/needs and feelings to fall to the wayside until the night that changes everything.

This book is captivating and eloquent, the portrait of a disappearance and reappearance and the trials that result. Faith's viewpoint was unique and gave a different color to the story. The way her family has fallen apart and put themselves back together over time- and then must do it again once Laurel is back- gives the book a hopeful feel.

I loved the very, very last part at the end which gives more insight into Faith, but regardless, I found Faith to be a completely believable character and I liked her a lot. She grows throughout the story and finds herself, figuring out her own desires for her life and for her family. It's not always easy to get there, but she does. The major twist in the story is a little predictable, since it's blatantly hinted at in the description. I wish the description didn't mention this, so it would have been more of a surprise. At any rate, the why and how is still a surprise. I won't say much more so as not to contain spoilers, but I would have loved it more if it if I hadn't known it was coming.

Michel was my favorite character- he is Faith's father's significant other (husband?). He and Faith have a close relationship, spending a lot of time together. He seems to be one of the few people with her interests at heart (but I imagine this would be the way it would be, re: her parents, when you lose a child and you don't have to worry so much about the one who is safe). He's an insightful and gentle character. I would like to read about his story, as he seems to have some mysteries of his own.

Overall, I really enjoyed the story; it was haunting and enthralling with some great twists at the end. Please note that I received this book from the publisher through netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonora Logroño has finally been introduced to her family’s bakery...
The Order of Time
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
“If you’re into secret societies, time-travel, dangerous artifacts, deadly assassins,...
Thomas Edison
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Learn about the life of Thomas Edison in this early...
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Pete the Cat for 12 groovy, cozy stories perfect...
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As in Anne Frank's "Diary of a Young Girl" and...
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning non-fiction picture book about the origins of the...
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All...
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A reassuring bedtime story about the special bond between a...
We Are Together
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The power of love and friendship is celebrated in this...
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been...
Diamond City (Diamond City, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"A thrilling adventure, through a vibrant city as alive as...
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Cassandra Cain, teenage assassin, isn't exactly Batgirl material...yet. Will she...
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The long-awaited sequel to Of Fire and Stars—in which Mare...
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid's Tale meets Wilder Girls in this genre-defying novel...
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...

Latest Member Reviews

Always Forever Maybe
 
3.7
"ALWAYS FOREVER MAYBE is a YA contemporary about domestic abuse and friendship. Bee (Joanna Betts) has always felt like a..."
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
"RAGE AND RUIN is a fantastic sequel in THE HARBINGER series. Picking up where the first book left off, we..."
Diamond City (City of Steel and Diamond, #1)
 
3.3
"DIAMOND CITY follows Aina, an assassin. Aina was out on the streets as a young child, when her parents were..."
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
"SHADOW OF THE BATGIRL is an origin story for Cassandra Cain. Cassandra was raised by her villain father as a..."
That's Not What Happened
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: There have been countless school shootings in the United States and hundreds if not thousands of..."
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: One of my biggest complaints about Of Fire and Stars was its lacking characterization, but that’s been..."
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
"AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a poignant YA dystopian that really speaks to humanity and the present...."
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
"THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK This book was everything I wanted and more. It begins with Kallia and her performance. It quickly descends into..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
Live Like Legends
 
5.0
"LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is an absolutely fantastic YA fantasy romance. We follow Kalista, who is a princess born to be..."
Blood Countess (Lady Slayers)
 
4.3
"Visually, this book is a gorgeous work of art, splattered with blood from cover to cover. For those familiar with..."