Dreams

 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1013 2
Dreams
Age Range
14+
Release Date
July 27, 2016
ISBN
1534839194
Buy This Book
      
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to do. Taylor Scott sees the world differently than she did a year ago. She’s no longer the love-sick teenager, quick to smile and full of joy. Now she’s the broken college student just trying to get through the day without letting her feelings overwhelm her. It isn’t until she meets Josh that pieces of herself she’d lost start falling back into place and she can finally see that it’s okay to be happy again.

Josh Walker is a professional athlete whose always avoided distractions. His career is just getting started and he works harder than anyone else. Hockey is his life. It’s the only thing that makes sense to him. When a new coach joins the team, it’s his daughter that threatens to complicate everything. He wants to help her. Needs to help her. But when he needs her to do the same, he finds out what she’s really made of. No one ever told him that the hardest part of his hockey career wouldn’t have to do with hockey at all.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Can Love Conquer All?
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
In 'Dreams' by Michelle Lynn, the past is a constant struggle while hope seems almost an irreparable goal. Yet, in true romantic fashion, love conquers all, and main characters Taylor and Josh find that through the sadness, heartache, and troubles that have seemingly conquered their lives, they can find new truth and maybe just have a chance to be happy again.

Taylor Scott is not your typical nineteen-year-old girl. Having lost the love of her life at only eighteen, she knows grief and sorrow in a way that no one ever should. She has yet to pick up the pieces of what she considers her broken life, willing away the days despite knowing that Danny will never come back to her. She doesn't know how to move on, and even if she did, she has no desire to do so. She feels that if she did, she would be disgracing her relationship with Danny, and she can't bear to have that happen.

Josh Walker is the light at the end of Taylor's grief-stricken tunnel. Even though she doesn't let him in at first, he kindly befriends her, not really expecting that much more will come from it. Not that he wouldn't want it to, but his good guy persona is not just a front. He's really that guy. In his friendships and his eventual relationship with Taylor, his sweetness shines through. His family life was never so great - especially his relationship with his brother Ethan - but he comes through it all with grace. Especially in the eyes of his brother's ex-girlfriend, Michaela, who is a voice of reason in Josh's life when things are not necessarily going so well for him. His hockey career is seemingly in danger, and if he has anything to say about it, no one ever needs to know what's wrong with him if that means it will affect his future.

Yet both Taylor's and Josh's futures hinge on how they cope with their issues together. Their friendship eventually leads to sparks that turn into something more, but just when things seem to be going right, trouble strikes. They both have to figure out what they mean to each other and how to get past everything that has been weighing them down from their pasts in order to move forward with their future.

With a winning cast of side characters, including Taylor's roommate Abigail and Josh's teammate and roommate, Mack, along with Taylor's parents and many others, 'Dreams' is one of Michelle Lynn's 'New Beginnings' novels, and for anyone who has read all of them, they may find this one the best of the bunch. While the others had much of the same heart, sweetness, and romance, Taylor's and Josh's story is one that stands out. The fact that it tackles real-life issues and the ways in which people cope is a definite plus. Check out all of Lynn's 'New Beginnings' books. You won't be sorry you did!
Good Points
'Dreams' is one of Michelle Lynn's 'New Beginnings' novels, and for anyone who has read all of them, they may find this one the best of the bunch. While the others had much of the same heart, sweetness, and romance, Taylor's and Josh's story is one that stands out. The fact that it tackles real-life issues and the ways in which people cope is a definite plus. Check out all of Lynn's 'New Beginnings' books. You won't be sorry you did!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Heart-wrenching
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Dreams by Michelle Lynn

The Story:
Taylor lost herself when the boy she loved died, and years later she cannot seem to return to life, or enjoyment. When she meets Josh, a professional hockey player, he stirs feelings she thought withered and dead. Can Josh mend her shattered heart? Especially when they each hide something from the other?

The characters:
We meet a broken-hearted Taylor in chapter one. There is good depth to her backstory. Her journey throughout the story is gradual, authentic, and thought out in great detail.
Josh is not a typical hockey player. Through his sport we experience the full complexities of his personality and hardships.
The main protagonists compliment and challenge each other, the reader roots for them from the outset. The sweet-frustration of the characters not recognizing this themselves builds through the piece, yet the Author does not let the frustration reach dire levels.

The World:
This Author is known for her hockey-world romances; and the sport is integral to the characters and plot. Lovers of the sport will be impressed with the authenticity of this novel, and fans of Ms Michelle Lynn’s other hockey romances; Choices and Promises, can be assured of an action-packed novel written from a fresh aspect of the hockey world.

The Readability:
The information we’re given is clear. The writing style is light and engaging. Professionally edited and suitable for 15 years +.

Final Verdict:
Dreams is an easy-to-read young adult romance.

Favorite Quote:
"No one ever thinks they're going to lose the love of their life - at least, not at eighteen."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...

Latest Member Reviews

Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."