Wake The Hollow

 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
843 0
Wake The Hollow
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 02, 2016
ISBN
978-1633753518
Buy This Book
      
Tragedy has brought Micaela Burgos back to her hometown of Sleepy Hollow. It's been six years since she chose to live with her affluent father in Miami instead of her history-obsessed eccentric mother. And now her mother is dead.

But while Sleepy Hollow was made immortal by literature, the town is real. So are its prejudices and hatred, targeting Mica's Cuban family and the secrets of their heritage that her mother obsessed over. But ghostly voices whisper in the wind, questioning whether her mother’s death might not have been an accident after all, and Mica knows there's a reason she's here.

With the help of two very different guys―who pull at her heart in very different ways―Micaela must uncover the hidden secret of Sleepy Hollow…before she meets her mother's fate.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A fast-paced thriller with many twists and turns
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I’ve had Wake the Hollow by Gaby Triana in my TBR pile for two months, and happy circumstances led me to read this horror/thriller/mystery tale during the month of October as the air begins to become more brisk, leaves start to brighten the trees as they change, and people are decorating their houses with pumpkins, ghosts, and spider webs. This time of year is also the setting for the book.

Wake the Hollow brings Micaela Burgos back to the town where she spent the first twelve years of her life, Sleepy Hollow, New York, to deal with matters relating to her mother’s unexpected death. Having left the town and her mother when her parents split up and her dad moved to Miami, Florida, Micaela is uncertain of the reception she’ll receive from the people of the town. Her mom was widely regarded as a little eccentric and kooky at best, and plain crazy and a thief at worst, and Micaela’s memories of her first twelve years have been honed and focused on her mom’s faults and the hurt she felt while living in Sleepy Hollow. Added to the difficulty of returning is Micaela’s ability to see and hear dead people—persistent dead people (including her mother) who desperately want Micaela to solve problems for them.

Micaela is reunited from the beginning with her best friend from her years in the town, Abraham. Bram, as he’s now called, has grown into a handsome young man, and he makes it clear to Micaela that he hopes their relationship will grow from the adolescent crush he originally had on her. As Micaela deals with fallout from her mother’s reputation and history, manages communications from the dead, and struggles to come to terms with her own feelings with the town and its people, Bram resumes his role as one of the few people Micaela trusts—while also developing into one of her problems.

As in the original Sleepy Hollow legend, there is a love triangle that helps propel the plot. A mysterious student teacher shows an unusual interest in Micaela, and he appears with disturbing regularity wherever Micaela happens to be. Young enough to be in their peer group, and attractive enough to catch Micaela’s eye, Dane Boracich is more than he seems, and Dane incites Bram to jealous fits as he insinuates himself into the story.

Triana does a wonderful job of giving a nod to the original “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” as she writes. It’s obvious that she’s a fan of Washington Irving, and lovers of literature from the period in which he lived and wrote will have extra incentive to read this book. Another positive of Wake the Hollow is Triana’s setting of Sleepy Hollow. The town is a character in and of itself, and I had no trouble immersing myself in the place and its culture.

Choosing the absolutely perfect time of year to read this book probably increased my enjoyment of it, but Triana’s ability to weave a tale, build tension, and bring a satisfying ending would have ensured a positive review no matter when that happened. Wake the Hollow will be a treat for many: readers of speculative, historical, and contemporary fiction as well as fans of the mystery, thriller, and horror genres.
Good Points
Completely engrossing
A blend of historical, speculative, and contemporary fiction
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wake The Hollow
(Updated: August 22, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Eighteen-year-old Micaela Burgos comes back to her hometown Sleepy Hollow after the tragic death of her mother. Town locals considered her mother crazy with her over the top obsession with author Washington Irving. She insisted that they were in fact related but no one believes that. When Micaela comes back to town, there are many rumors that circulate around what her mother was doing which involved stealing an important artifact. Add to this, Micaela 'hears' things that might in fact be the answer to the questions she has about the death of her mother. Micaela stays in town even with the Townies dislike of her but she needs to find the truth even if that might mean she will end up like her mother.

What worked: This is one clever take on the story of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Only in this case there is a mystery behind not only Washington Irving but the author of Frankenstein-Mary Shelley. I really loved the twists and turns throughout this novel. Add the hint of romance, suspense, and just the right dash of horror to make this a page turning tale.

Micaela is guided by the voices of the dead but like a friend of her mother tells her, "It's the real, live people you should fear." Micaela has trust issues-for obvious reasonings-but that doesn't stop her from reaching out to Bram, a childhood friend. There is at first an obvious attraction between the two. Then add to that Mr. Boracich, a student teacher who has his own secrets.

What I really loved is how readers don't know what or who to believe. Just when you think you know who might in fact be behind the mysterious happenings in town, Triana throws another twist reveal your way.

LOVE THAT!

The town of Sleepy Hollow is shown with all the paranormal hauntings and events without going over the top. I loved the added little bits of info on the legend behind Washington Irving and the whole idea behind a maybe romance between two literary greats.

Suspenseful jaunt through modern day Sleepy Hollow where a centuries old mystery is met with paranormal elements.
Good Points
1. Clever take on the whole Sleepy Hollow Story
2. Spooky, suspenseful
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."