Wake The Hollow

 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
792 0
Wake The Hollow
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 02, 2016
ISBN
978-1633753518
Buy This Book
      
Tragedy has brought Micaela Burgos back to her hometown of Sleepy Hollow. It's been six years since she chose to live with her affluent father in Miami instead of her history-obsessed eccentric mother. And now her mother is dead.

But while Sleepy Hollow was made immortal by literature, the town is real. So are its prejudices and hatred, targeting Mica's Cuban family and the secrets of their heritage that her mother obsessed over. But ghostly voices whisper in the wind, questioning whether her mother’s death might not have been an accident after all, and Mica knows there's a reason she's here.

With the help of two very different guys―who pull at her heart in very different ways―Micaela must uncover the hidden secret of Sleepy Hollow…before she meets her mother's fate.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A fast-paced thriller with many twists and turns
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I’ve had Wake the Hollow by Gaby Triana in my TBR pile for two months, and happy circumstances led me to read this horror/thriller/mystery tale during the month of October as the air begins to become more brisk, leaves start to brighten the trees as they change, and people are decorating their houses with pumpkins, ghosts, and spider webs. This time of year is also the setting for the book.

Wake the Hollow brings Micaela Burgos back to the town where she spent the first twelve years of her life, Sleepy Hollow, New York, to deal with matters relating to her mother’s unexpected death. Having left the town and her mother when her parents split up and her dad moved to Miami, Florida, Micaela is uncertain of the reception she’ll receive from the people of the town. Her mom was widely regarded as a little eccentric and kooky at best, and plain crazy and a thief at worst, and Micaela’s memories of her first twelve years have been honed and focused on her mom’s faults and the hurt she felt while living in Sleepy Hollow. Added to the difficulty of returning is Micaela’s ability to see and hear dead people—persistent dead people (including her mother) who desperately want Micaela to solve problems for them.

Micaela is reunited from the beginning with her best friend from her years in the town, Abraham. Bram, as he’s now called, has grown into a handsome young man, and he makes it clear to Micaela that he hopes their relationship will grow from the adolescent crush he originally had on her. As Micaela deals with fallout from her mother’s reputation and history, manages communications from the dead, and struggles to come to terms with her own feelings with the town and its people, Bram resumes his role as one of the few people Micaela trusts—while also developing into one of her problems.

As in the original Sleepy Hollow legend, there is a love triangle that helps propel the plot. A mysterious student teacher shows an unusual interest in Micaela, and he appears with disturbing regularity wherever Micaela happens to be. Young enough to be in their peer group, and attractive enough to catch Micaela’s eye, Dane Boracich is more than he seems, and Dane incites Bram to jealous fits as he insinuates himself into the story.

Triana does a wonderful job of giving a nod to the original “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” as she writes. It’s obvious that she’s a fan of Washington Irving, and lovers of literature from the period in which he lived and wrote will have extra incentive to read this book. Another positive of Wake the Hollow is Triana’s setting of Sleepy Hollow. The town is a character in and of itself, and I had no trouble immersing myself in the place and its culture.

Choosing the absolutely perfect time of year to read this book probably increased my enjoyment of it, but Triana’s ability to weave a tale, build tension, and bring a satisfying ending would have ensured a positive review no matter when that happened. Wake the Hollow will be a treat for many: readers of speculative, historical, and contemporary fiction as well as fans of the mystery, thriller, and horror genres.
Good Points
Completely engrossing
A blend of historical, speculative, and contemporary fiction
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wake The Hollow
(Updated: August 22, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Eighteen-year-old Micaela Burgos comes back to her hometown Sleepy Hollow after the tragic death of her mother. Town locals considered her mother crazy with her over the top obsession with author Washington Irving. She insisted that they were in fact related but no one believes that. When Micaela comes back to town, there are many rumors that circulate around what her mother was doing which involved stealing an important artifact. Add to this, Micaela 'hears' things that might in fact be the answer to the questions she has about the death of her mother. Micaela stays in town even with the Townies dislike of her but she needs to find the truth even if that might mean she will end up like her mother.

What worked: This is one clever take on the story of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Only in this case there is a mystery behind not only Washington Irving but the author of Frankenstein-Mary Shelley. I really loved the twists and turns throughout this novel. Add the hint of romance, suspense, and just the right dash of horror to make this a page turning tale.

Micaela is guided by the voices of the dead but like a friend of her mother tells her, "It's the real, live people you should fear." Micaela has trust issues-for obvious reasonings-but that doesn't stop her from reaching out to Bram, a childhood friend. There is at first an obvious attraction between the two. Then add to that Mr. Boracich, a student teacher who has his own secrets.

What I really loved is how readers don't know what or who to believe. Just when you think you know who might in fact be behind the mysterious happenings in town, Triana throws another twist reveal your way.

LOVE THAT!

The town of Sleepy Hollow is shown with all the paranormal hauntings and events without going over the top. I loved the added little bits of info on the legend behind Washington Irving and the whole idea behind a maybe romance between two literary greats.

Suspenseful jaunt through modern day Sleepy Hollow where a centuries old mystery is met with paranormal elements.
Good Points
1. Clever take on the whole Sleepy Hollow Story
2. Spooky, suspenseful
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."