A Season for Fireflies

 
4.0 (2)
 
3.3 (1)
1229 0
A Season for Fireflies
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 28, 2016
ISBN
9780062327642
Buy This Book
      
A year ago, Penny Berne was the star of her high school’s theater department, surrounded by a group of misfit friends and falling in love for the first time. Now her old friends won’t talk to her, her new best friend is the most popular girl in school, and her first love, Wes, ignores her. Penny is revered and hated. Then, in a flash, a near-fatal lightning strike leaves Penny with no memory of the past year—or how she went from drama nerd to queen bee.

As a record number of fireflies light up her town and her life, Penny realizes she may be able to make things right again—and that even if she can’t change the past, she can learn to see the magic where she never could before.

This captivating new novel about first love, second chances, and the power of memory is perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall and Katie Cotugno’s How to Love.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Inspiring and heartfelt.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
There are books one simply enjoys, and then there are the ones that touch us in unexpected ways and keep us thinking about them long after we’ve turned the last page. A Season for Fireflies is one of the few books that falls into the second category.

Penny is your typical teenager, only not really. She’s dealing with family issues most never have to face. She can’t tell her friends for fear of what they’ll think of her, so she pushes them away instead and finds ones who won’t ask the hard question. In short order she goes from theater nerd to high school royalty, leaving behind a girl she’s hurt and a boy whose love just came at the wrong time. She thinks she’s happy, thinks she’s better off.

When a lightning strike erases the last year of her life, she wakes up wondering why her old friends no longer talk to her and barely knowing her new friends. She finds she must recapture the girl she was without losing the one she had become.

This is a true story of second chances and the intense emotions just seep through the pages. It’s impossible not to be touched by them. Watching Penny fall apart is heartbreaking and watching her pull through is inspiring. She’s incredibly strong. Wes, the boy who can’t seem to fall out of love with her, has very really struggles with trusting her again after she all but abandoned him, but he’s also exactly the kind of person anyone would want by their side during such a traumatic time.

An inspiring and heartfelt story that explores what it means to be young and make mistakes, but to have the courage to know you were wrong and do things differently the second time around.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
YA Contemporary
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I really enjoyed reading BETWEEN US AND THE MOON (written by the same author), which I thought was a really realistic and heartbreaking book. Here's what I thought of her next book, A SEASON FOR FIREFLIES. YA Contemporary (with romance), A SEASON FOR FIREFLIES is a story about second chances... without realizing that you were at fault in the first place.

Penny Berne is missing a year's worth of memories. When she goes back to her social life, she finds it amazingly changed in so many ways. She has a new group of friends, she lost her old group of friends, she has abandoned her passion for theater, and she is friends with the most popular girl in the school. She begins to put back the pieces together, and in the process, she manages to find herself again.

The story unfolds by starting in sophomore year (late May). It's an awkward entrance, and it doesn't exactly follow the synopsis quite closely. (The synopsis is a tad misleading.) It shows the beginnings of Penny leaving the gang behind, it shows Penny quitting theater, and it shows Penny joining the popular girl. The plot of rediscovery could have been spread out a bit more, however, so it would have more "cushion."

The romance between Penny and Wes, though a part of the book, takes a larger influence over the story, which isn't unexpected. However, though their romance is terribly sweet, it is Penny's relationships with other characters (and her love for theater) which seems to be written more strongly and have a better effect on the story overall.

The relationships are really indeed the best part of the book. I enjoy Penny's dynamic with her new and popular best friend, Kylie. (I must add that I really do love Kylie as a character. That's all I will say about her.)

The ending along is perhaps the best part of the entire book, though. Reading it alone just makes me smile so much, and I absolutely adore it. (But I won't spoil!)

Overall, A SEASON FOR FIREFLIES is a great book. It's great for those who need a book to read, and it's perfect for those who are looking for books about second chances and getting lost and finding the place you're truly meant to be all along. Those who wish for a HEA in BETWEEN US AND THE MOON will find it in A SEASON FOR FIREFLIES.

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: A Season for Fireflies
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The concept and the cover of this book was what drew me in originally and the characters kept me invested. I liked that we got to see Penny beforehand, before she turned into popular Penny, instead of using flashbacks. I felt more of a connection to her old crowd that way than I think I would have through flashbacks, though there was some flashbacks throughout the book.

There was a lot of focus on Penny and what she was going through, understandable as she was the main character. We saw the cause of her pulling out of the play then the story skipped ahead a year and she was suddenly one of the most popular girls in school with a whole new group of friends. When she was struck by lightning and woke up to having lost a year of her memories, I definitely felt for her. It would be horrible to wake up and find out that your best friends were no longer your best friends by your choice. We got to see Penny try to figure out who she was and what happened to her in that missing year to turn her into someone she didn’t recognize.

I also liked that we got to see her friends and former friends react to Penny’s situation, though it was all through Penny’s POV so it was a little limiting. The plot moved pretty quickly and it was a short book it there were times when it felt like people or issues were getting brushed aside so it could go back to focusing on the main point, Penny dealing with the memory loss and figuring out why she quit theater and her former friends.

It was a good summer read book and I enjoyed the concept of the story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."