A Season for Fireflies

 
4.0 (2)
 
3.3 (1)
1023 0
A Season for Fireflies
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 28, 2016
ISBN
9780062327642
Buy This Book
      
A year ago, Penny Berne was the star of her high school’s theater department, surrounded by a group of misfit friends and falling in love for the first time. Now her old friends won’t talk to her, her new best friend is the most popular girl in school, and her first love, Wes, ignores her. Penny is revered and hated. Then, in a flash, a near-fatal lightning strike leaves Penny with no memory of the past year—or how she went from drama nerd to queen bee.

As a record number of fireflies light up her town and her life, Penny realizes she may be able to make things right again—and that even if she can’t change the past, she can learn to see the magic where she never could before.

This captivating new novel about first love, second chances, and the power of memory is perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall and Katie Cotugno’s How to Love.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Inspiring and heartfelt.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
There are books one simply enjoys, and then there are the ones that touch us in unexpected ways and keep us thinking about them long after we’ve turned the last page. A Season for Fireflies is one of the few books that falls into the second category.

Penny is your typical teenager, only not really. She’s dealing with family issues most never have to face. She can’t tell her friends for fear of what they’ll think of her, so she pushes them away instead and finds ones who won’t ask the hard question. In short order she goes from theater nerd to high school royalty, leaving behind a girl she’s hurt and a boy whose love just came at the wrong time. She thinks she’s happy, thinks she’s better off.

When a lightning strike erases the last year of her life, she wakes up wondering why her old friends no longer talk to her and barely knowing her new friends. She finds she must recapture the girl she was without losing the one she had become.

This is a true story of second chances and the intense emotions just seep through the pages. It’s impossible not to be touched by them. Watching Penny fall apart is heartbreaking and watching her pull through is inspiring. She’s incredibly strong. Wes, the boy who can’t seem to fall out of love with her, has very really struggles with trusting her again after she all but abandoned him, but he’s also exactly the kind of person anyone would want by their side during such a traumatic time.

An inspiring and heartfelt story that explores what it means to be young and make mistakes, but to have the courage to know you were wrong and do things differently the second time around.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
YA Contemporary
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I really enjoyed reading BETWEEN US AND THE MOON (written by the same author), which I thought was a really realistic and heartbreaking book. Here's what I thought of her next book, A SEASON FOR FIREFLIES. YA Contemporary (with romance), A SEASON FOR FIREFLIES is a story about second chances... without realizing that you were at fault in the first place.

Penny Berne is missing a year's worth of memories. When she goes back to her social life, she finds it amazingly changed in so many ways. She has a new group of friends, she lost her old group of friends, she has abandoned her passion for theater, and she is friends with the most popular girl in the school. She begins to put back the pieces together, and in the process, she manages to find herself again.

The story unfolds by starting in sophomore year (late May). It's an awkward entrance, and it doesn't exactly follow the synopsis quite closely. (The synopsis is a tad misleading.) It shows the beginnings of Penny leaving the gang behind, it shows Penny quitting theater, and it shows Penny joining the popular girl. The plot of rediscovery could have been spread out a bit more, however, so it would have more "cushion."

The romance between Penny and Wes, though a part of the book, takes a larger influence over the story, which isn't unexpected. However, though their romance is terribly sweet, it is Penny's relationships with other characters (and her love for theater) which seems to be written more strongly and have a better effect on the story overall.

The relationships are really indeed the best part of the book. I enjoy Penny's dynamic with her new and popular best friend, Kylie. (I must add that I really do love Kylie as a character. That's all I will say about her.)

The ending along is perhaps the best part of the entire book, though. Reading it alone just makes me smile so much, and I absolutely adore it. (But I won't spoil!)

Overall, A SEASON FOR FIREFLIES is a great book. It's great for those who need a book to read, and it's perfect for those who are looking for books about second chances and getting lost and finding the place you're truly meant to be all along. Those who wish for a HEA in BETWEEN US AND THE MOON will find it in A SEASON FOR FIREFLIES.

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: A Season for Fireflies
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The concept and the cover of this book was what drew me in originally and the characters kept me invested. I liked that we got to see Penny beforehand, before she turned into popular Penny, instead of using flashbacks. I felt more of a connection to her old crowd that way than I think I would have through flashbacks, though there was some flashbacks throughout the book.

There was a lot of focus on Penny and what she was going through, understandable as she was the main character. We saw the cause of her pulling out of the play then the story skipped ahead a year and she was suddenly one of the most popular girls in school with a whole new group of friends. When she was struck by lightning and woke up to having lost a year of her memories, I definitely felt for her. It would be horrible to wake up and find out that your best friends were no longer your best friends by your choice. We got to see Penny try to figure out who she was and what happened to her in that missing year to turn her into someone she didn’t recognize.

I also liked that we got to see her friends and former friends react to Penny’s situation, though it was all through Penny’s POV so it was a little limiting. The plot moved pretty quickly and it was a short book it there were times when it felt like people or issues were getting brushed aside so it could go back to focusing on the main point, Penny dealing with the memory loss and figuring out why she quit theater and her former friends.

It was a good summer read book and I enjoyed the concept of the story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...
The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
Creep
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The haunting tale of a family that moves into...
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher,...
The Last of the Firedrakes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She never felt like she belonged…until magic pulled her...

Latest Member Reviews

Girl at Heart
 
4.7
"I know better than to start a Kelly Oram book at bedtime. I know better, yet I do it with..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"If you read the first series, Redefining Me, you got a glimpse at these characters and probably love them just..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."
The Reader
 
5.0
"I devoured The Reader by M.K. Harkins. There’s no other way to describe it. I read it in one sitting..."
Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Tin Men
 
4.8
"Tin Men by Amalie Jahn The story: After losing his estranged father, Charlie Johnson’s..."
Tin Men
 
4.5
"Would you risk your future to discover your past? What I Loved: The premise of..."
Perfectly You
 
4.3
"What I loved: Ivy's character is strong, driven, and even a bit inconsiderate at times. Giving her character flaws..."
COLD DAY IN THE SUN
 
4.3
"An adorable story that has a lot to say. The story: Holland is the only..."
Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake
 
4.0
"'Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake' by Seven Steps is a story of friendship lost and found between main characters..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
4.8
"'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't..."
Igloo High
 
3.8
"'Igloo High' by Jacinthe Dessureault has many of the typical aspects that young adult novels contain, including a popular girl,..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
"This was a sweet high school love story centered around basketball and missed intentions. What I liked: ..."
The Kilwade Tragedy
 
5.0
"Before I start this review, I do want to let you all know that this book is trigger heavy. The..."
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
" What I loved: The cover, obviously, is gorgeous and eye catching. Skye's character is a genuine..."