Bluescreen (Mirador #1)

 
4.0
 
3.7 (1)
866 0
Bluescreen (Mirador #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 16, 2016
ISBN
9780062347879)
Buy This Book
      
Los Angeles in 2050 is a city of open doors, as long as you have the right connections. One of those connections is a djinni—a smart device implanted right in a person’s head. In a world where virtually everyone is online twenty-four hours a day, this connection is like oxygen—and a world like that presents plenty of opportunities for someone who knows how to manipulate it.

Marisa Carneseca is one of those people. She might spend her days in Mirador, the small, vibrant LA neighborhood where her family owns a restaurant, but she lives on the net—going to school, playing games, hanging out, or doing things of more questionable legality with her friends Sahara and Anja. And it’s Anja who first gets her hands on Bluescreen—a virtual drug that plugs right into a person’s djinni and delivers a massive, non-chemical, completely safe high. But in this city, when something sounds too good to be true, it usually is, and Mari and her friends soon find themselves in the middle of a conspiracy that is much bigger than they ever suspected.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Sci-Fi
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I may or may not mention how much I love Dan Wells' stories (but now you know that I do love his stories and novels). PARTIALS is one of my favorite Science Fiction novels, and I think I can easily add BLUESCREEN to the list. YA Sci-Fi with a tiny hint of horror (no, not in a ghostly or supernatural way), Bluescreen is a really enjoyable book that centers around these devices called djinni and a girl named Marisa.

Bluescreen (the drug) is what really kicks off the conflict in the most dramatic and scariest way possible by having Marisa's friend walking into an almost suicidal situation. Dan Wells starts off the story with suspenseful action, and the creepiness of the program (Bluescreen, the virtual drug) just gets to me and my bones. It reminds me of the day when my Facebook was hacked (back in 2011), and I have no clue to what was going on. All I know was that I was posting weird stuff on my wall at an exponential speed, and I could do literally nothing about it. I could only watch. It's exactly how I feel for these characters who are in way over their heads and are only on a rollercoaster they could hardly get out of.

The plot has a mixture of mystery and action. It involves a future version of the mob, a scary hacker(s), a puzzling world of virtual reality and computers in people's heads, and a possible romance. For me, the mystery is the foremost of my attention. It's a compelling puzzle, which I enjoyed looking over and wondering about as I read along with the story. The drug has an insidious virus within, and the factor/level of horror just sends my skin crawling. Imagine someone controlling every bit of action, seeing what you see, and pulling your strings. That's exactly what that virus does. And oh, that's a darn good virus/horror story.

Marisa Carneseca (has a very annoying last name, which is hard to type out, and) is the Nancy Drew of this book. She's the one trying to solve the virus' strangeness, and she's the one who is tracing its history. She's a very active character, going to strange places and doing exceptional things (just like Lois Lane).

The ending leaves such great potential for a sequel. Sign me up for another virtual adventure.

Overall, BLUESCREEN is definitely a worthy read with loads of action, intrigue, and suspense (with a very, very tiny hint of romance). If you love PARTIALS and other virtual reality novels like INSIGNIA, you will surely love this one.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: Bluescreen
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This was a book that I probably wouldn’t have picked up just based on the description. I hadn’t read anything by Dan Well before but I’ve heard good things about the Partials series. I get nervous when I start a book with so much technology-based world-building since I am definitely not very knowledgeable in that area. I usually do good to figure out my iPod and Kobo. This did make it hard for me to follow such a tech-heavy plot line but I was able to enjoy the interactions and friendships between the characters.

Marissa was both an interesting and frustrating character. She obviously cared about her friends and family, and she was extremely brave but she also was reckless and was blind to how her actions were affecting and influencing her family. All the teens involved were reckless, throwing themselves into real danger like it was a video game. There didn’t seem to be much growth to her character, more like there was moments of realization, and we have to wait for the next book to see if those realizations turn into growth.

I still find it hard to describe the overall plot since there was so much talk of gaming and coding and hacking and things I had zero idea about. The image I got was that everyone was like Harper from Andromeda just on an even high level of being absorbed with technology. Bao, who was my favourite character, was the only one without a djinni and that was probably why I found myself latching on to his character more than the others.

Even without quite getting the technology aspect, I could understand all the action that was happening. The book was packed with it and there were definitely some intense moments. The action and the relationships between the characters made up for the fact that I didn’t always grasp what was going on in the tech-side of the plot and made me want to keep reading.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."