Orange: The Complete Collection 1

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1032 0
Orange: The Complete Collection 1
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 26, 2016
ISBN
978-1626923027
Buy This Book
      
A Plea From the Future

On the day that Naho begins 11th grade, she recieves a letter from herself ten years in the future. At first, she writes it off as a prank, but as the letter’s predictions come true one by one Naho realizes that the letter might be the real deal. Her future self tells Naho that a new transfer student, a boy named Kakeru, will soon join her class. The letter begs Naho to watch over him, saying that only Naho can save Kakeru from a terrible future. Who is this mystery boy, and can Naho save him from his destiny? The heart-wrenching sci-fi romance that has over million copies in print in Japan!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Orange: The Complete Collection 1
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I'm a firm believer that manga and graphic novels are perfect for reluctant readers. I know as that's what helped my son discover the magic of books.

What worked: First off, I loved the premise of this manga novel that has a teen receive a letter from her future self. In that letter it warns her to watch out for the new transfer kid. Naho at first thinks her friends are pranking her but when events from the letter come true? She starts to wonder about the mysterious boy and what she can do to help with his fate.

One thing I need to mention is this is a manga book and you have to read it Japanese style which is right to left. Other that that, this book has all the angst of high school life only add to that an apparent time-traveling element. Naho is at first skeptical of the mysterious letter and then when events start happening, just like the letter warned? She doesn't know what to do. Should she try to intercede? And if she does what will the consequences be later on down the line.

Kakeru is the transfer student who seems standoffish at first and then almost too happy. No one really knows his story only that something tragic happened to his mother. Naho doesn't know how to address that issue without coming across as too forward. How Takano shows the doubts, struggles of Naho are very real. She doesn't just jump in and try to solve the problem without serious doubts.

There is chemistry between Kakeru and Naho right at the start. The shyness and awkwardness is there too. Neither one knows how to reach out to the other without fear of breaking up a growing friendship with Naho's group.

Add to that the drama of the Mean girl and the awkwardness of trying to help someone who already has a girlfriend.

The illustrations add to the story line. I like how they show the emotions and reactions of each character in the story. This is the first collection that follows the school year. The second collection continues the story.

What would you do if your future self tried to warn you about the fate of a friend? Time traveling elements with romance make this a must read for fans of Manga and graphic novels. ORANGE won't disappoint.
Good Points
1. Intriguing premise of a teen that receives a letter from her future self
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."