Finding Abbey Road (Exile #3)

Featured
 
3.0
 
3.0 (1)
1301 0
Finding Abbey Road (Exile #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 02, 2016
ISBN
978-0062134011
Buy This Book
      

Kevin Emerson’s Exile trilogy combines the swoon-worthy romance of a Susane Colasanti novel with the rock ’n’ roll of Eleanor & Park. Packed with mystery and music, Kevin Emerson’s final volume in the Exile series is the pitch-perfect ending to Summer’s journey of self-discovery and love and an ode to music fans everywhere. Catherine Summer Carlson has hit rock bottom. Her band, Dangerheart, is falling apart, and finding the last of the lost songs now seems impossible. Can the band pull together to outwit Candy Shell Records, stay one step ahead of the police, and find a way to get to London to unlock the Eli White mystery before it’s too late? Summer knows that escaping to London would be the riskiest thing she’s ever done, but she also knows that this might be her and Dangerheart’s last chance of becoming the band they’ve always dreamed of being—and her last shot at figuring out what her heart really wants.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A quick and exciting mystery
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

FINDING ABBEY ROAD by Kevin Emerson is a quick but immersive read. The mystery of finding Caleb’s biological father, whom everyone had presumed dead, is enthralling and drives the story forward. Even though their eventual meeting is less than what you might hope, it’s still satisfying to get that point.

The romance between Summer and Caleb doesn’t take center stage in this book and Emerson writes it in such a genuine and authentic way – something that was lacking in the previous two installments. It makes sense that their relationship would take the back burner to the mystery of finding Caleb’s dad and it feels more appropriate there.

What Left Me Wanting More:

There was much less focus on the band as a whole and on their story together and instead focused much more intensely on Summer and Caleb, their relationships, and the mystery of the hidden songs.

Summer is a character who is difficult to connect with through the entire story. I could relate to her being unsure of what she wants to do with her life and her frustration with parents’ plan for her that she’s not sure she wants but at the same time she’s pushy and often inconsiderate of other people’s feelings. She steps into the role of manager for the band but doesn’t make decisions that are in the bands best interest. She’s incredibly stubborn about her view of how the band will be successful and that is art of the reason the band falls apart at the beginning of the book.

Final Verdict:
Overall, FINDING ABBEY ROAD is a satisfying end to this series. It wraps up the mystery while still leaving room for growth and leaves the characters in better places than we found them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: Finding Abbey Road
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This was the quickest read of all three books in the series. It also ended up being my least favourite of the three. There was a lot less focus on the band as a whole and on their story together and a lot more attention put on Summer and Caleb, their relationship, and the mystery of the hidden songs. I enjoyed the series more when the focus was more on the band and the mystery of Caleb’s father and his hidden songs were in the background.

Summer was a character I had a hard time connecting with the whole series. I could understand her being unsure of what she wanted to do with her life and her frustration that her parents had a plan for her that she might not want. But she was also very pushy and very inconsiderate of everyone else’s feelings around her. She was supposed to be the manager for the band but she never seemed to actually act in their best interest. She was so stubborn about the way she wanted the band to make it and maybe if she had paid more attention to them as a band instead of just Caleb and his mystery, the band wouldn’t have been on the verge of falling apart by this last book.

Dangerheart, which was my favourite part of the first two books, were barely a blip in this one. All the great supporting cast that we’d met through Exile and Encore to an Empty Room were mostly background noise to a Summer/Caleb duet. Since my main enjoyment came from the band and the supporting characters, I found it harder to get into this book and read it more quickly to get to the end just to get to the end.

I liked the concept of this series but with the lack of connection to the main character and enjoying the band story line that fell to the background, this conclusion wasn’t my favourite of the books.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."