Recreated (The Reawakened Series)

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1180 0
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 02, 2016
ISBN
9780385376600
Buy This Book
      

From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of The Tiger’s Curse, comes Recreated, the second book in the epic Egyptian-inspired Reawakened series, in which a seventeen-year-old must literally go to hell to save the love of her life. Lily Young thought traveling across the globe with a reawakened sun prince was a grand adventure. Now she’s about to embark on the journey of a lifetime. When Amon and Lily part tragically, he transports himself to the Netherworld—what mortals call hell. Tormented by the loss of his one true love, he’d rather suffer in agony during Lily’s mortal years than fulfill his duty to protect humanity. Heartbroken, Lily seeks refuge on her grandmother’s farm. Yet she can feel Amon’s pain, and she has been having dreams—dreams of Amon continually suffering. For before he departed, Amon gave Lily something very special, an item that connects them even though they are worlds apart. Now Lily must use this object to free him, and to free their realms from darkness and utter chaos. She will do whatever it takes.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fantasy and mythology collide
(Updated: July 29, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I absolutely love the world in Recreated. The sequel in the Reawakened series, which was a great follow up. Colleen's worlds are always so richly described and brought to life. I find myself drawn quickly in to the world and swept up in the fights. In Recreated Lily has to travel to the Netherworld to save her love Amon. Before she can she must become a sphinx. Because of not getting an exact account of what to do to accomplish this, Lily merges with Tia, the Lioness who agreed to this, and ends up living inside of Lily. Allowing Tia to take over Lily's body if she wishes. Honestly when we first learn that was not what was supposed to happen, I was suspicious. I mean who wouldn't be of someone who knew she was supposed to kill her and didn't disclose that information. But Tia quickly became a character that I if not love than liked very much. I enjoyed their conversations and I liked that it seemed to me that Tia only wanted what was best for Lily.

Lily is a character I have very much enjoyed getting to know. She's smart and brave, and isn't afraid to do what it takes to save the one she loves. Even if it is standing up to Gods and Goddesses. Most of the characters in Colleen's world are in fact amazing. She was a way of writing characters that you feel for in the deepest way. I love Lily, Amon, Asten, Ahmose. They are all amazing and I love each one of the. I find that Colleen is really amazing at writing characters in general. Even the Villains.

Lily now has to travel to the netherworld, where she must be careful of those wishing to do her harm, which is most of the creatures. Colleen's Netherworld is creepy. There are reapers, and jackals and creepy ghosts who try to get Lily, Asten, and Ahmose to save them. One of the many things I enjoy is the fact that Lily does not make stupid choices. She's smart and resourceful. She doesn't run straight in to danger, and when she does, she trusts her instincts. She's sure of herself and not afraid to use what she has. For the most part Tia and Lily work together. I like that they don't fight each other and while Lily and Tia are having a hard time coming to terms with each others feelings I enjoy that they work well together.

What left me wanting more:

There are a couple things that bothered or left me confused. While Lily and Amon's love grows stronger. Some things happen that bring that into question. I don't want to say to much because I definitely don't want to spoil anything for anyone. But things happen and suddenly Lily is questioning her feelings even though she was so sure before. I will say though by the end of the book you understand where it's all coming from but it hasn't resolved itself so I guess we have to wait till the next book to find out what will happen. Although I can't believe I have to wait a year to know what happens! I truly hope that it gets resolved and that everyone can have a happy ending. Because sheesh, come on Colleen don't they deserve it!

And the last thing that was a bit confusing was the conversations between Lily and Tia. There were a couple moments where you weren't really sure who was talking which made it a bit confusing to the reader. Although by the end you come to understand why Colleen made it a bit confusing. I think it added to the mystery and it definitely made it more interesting wondering what Lily was doing.


Overall I thought that Recreated was an amazing follow up to Reawakened. It moved the story along without feeling like it was dragging or information overload. We got a better sense of each character and I for one am very excited to see where this story full of magic and mayhem will lead. The Reawakened series is a action packed story full of charming characters, and even worse villains. Those that enjoy fantasy mixed with mythology, will definitely enjoy this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."