Recreated (The Reawakened Series)

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1116 0
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 02, 2016
ISBN
9780385376600
Buy This Book
      

From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of The Tiger’s Curse, comes Recreated, the second book in the epic Egyptian-inspired Reawakened series, in which a seventeen-year-old must literally go to hell to save the love of her life. Lily Young thought traveling across the globe with a reawakened sun prince was a grand adventure. Now she’s about to embark on the journey of a lifetime. When Amon and Lily part tragically, he transports himself to the Netherworld—what mortals call hell. Tormented by the loss of his one true love, he’d rather suffer in agony during Lily’s mortal years than fulfill his duty to protect humanity. Heartbroken, Lily seeks refuge on her grandmother’s farm. Yet she can feel Amon’s pain, and she has been having dreams—dreams of Amon continually suffering. For before he departed, Amon gave Lily something very special, an item that connects them even though they are worlds apart. Now Lily must use this object to free him, and to free their realms from darkness and utter chaos. She will do whatever it takes.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fantasy and mythology collide
(Updated: July 29, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I absolutely love the world in Recreated. The sequel in the Reawakened series, which was a great follow up. Colleen's worlds are always so richly described and brought to life. I find myself drawn quickly in to the world and swept up in the fights. In Recreated Lily has to travel to the Netherworld to save her love Amon. Before she can she must become a sphinx. Because of not getting an exact account of what to do to accomplish this, Lily merges with Tia, the Lioness who agreed to this, and ends up living inside of Lily. Allowing Tia to take over Lily's body if she wishes. Honestly when we first learn that was not what was supposed to happen, I was suspicious. I mean who wouldn't be of someone who knew she was supposed to kill her and didn't disclose that information. But Tia quickly became a character that I if not love than liked very much. I enjoyed their conversations and I liked that it seemed to me that Tia only wanted what was best for Lily.

Lily is a character I have very much enjoyed getting to know. She's smart and brave, and isn't afraid to do what it takes to save the one she loves. Even if it is standing up to Gods and Goddesses. Most of the characters in Colleen's world are in fact amazing. She was a way of writing characters that you feel for in the deepest way. I love Lily, Amon, Asten, Ahmose. They are all amazing and I love each one of the. I find that Colleen is really amazing at writing characters in general. Even the Villains.

Lily now has to travel to the netherworld, where she must be careful of those wishing to do her harm, which is most of the creatures. Colleen's Netherworld is creepy. There are reapers, and jackals and creepy ghosts who try to get Lily, Asten, and Ahmose to save them. One of the many things I enjoy is the fact that Lily does not make stupid choices. She's smart and resourceful. She doesn't run straight in to danger, and when she does, she trusts her instincts. She's sure of herself and not afraid to use what she has. For the most part Tia and Lily work together. I like that they don't fight each other and while Lily and Tia are having a hard time coming to terms with each others feelings I enjoy that they work well together.

What left me wanting more:

There are a couple things that bothered or left me confused. While Lily and Amon's love grows stronger. Some things happen that bring that into question. I don't want to say to much because I definitely don't want to spoil anything for anyone. But things happen and suddenly Lily is questioning her feelings even though she was so sure before. I will say though by the end of the book you understand where it's all coming from but it hasn't resolved itself so I guess we have to wait till the next book to find out what will happen. Although I can't believe I have to wait a year to know what happens! I truly hope that it gets resolved and that everyone can have a happy ending. Because sheesh, come on Colleen don't they deserve it!

And the last thing that was a bit confusing was the conversations between Lily and Tia. There were a couple moments where you weren't really sure who was talking which made it a bit confusing to the reader. Although by the end you come to understand why Colleen made it a bit confusing. I think it added to the mystery and it definitely made it more interesting wondering what Lily was doing.


Overall I thought that Recreated was an amazing follow up to Reawakened. It moved the story along without feeling like it was dragging or information overload. We got a better sense of each character and I for one am very excited to see where this story full of magic and mayhem will lead. The Reawakened series is a action packed story full of charming characters, and even worse villains. Those that enjoy fantasy mixed with mythology, will definitely enjoy this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."