The Call

Featured
 
3.5 (2)
 
4.0 (1)
1663 2
The Call
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 30, 2016
ISBN
13: 9781338045611
Buy This Book
      

The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller where only one thing is certain . . . you will be Called. Thousands of years ago, humans banished the Sidhe fairy race to another dimension. The beautiful, terrible Sidhe have stewed in a land of horrors ever since, plotting their revenge . . . and now their day has come. Fourteen-year-old Nessa lives in a world where every teen will be "Called." It could come in the middle of the day, it could come deep in the night. But one instant she will be here, and the next she will wake up naked and alone in the Sidhe land. She will be spotted, hunted down, and brutally murdered. And she will be sent back in pieces by the Sidhe to the human world . . . unless she joins the rare few who survive for twenty-four hours and escape unscathed. Nessa trains with her friends at an academy designed to maximize her chances at survival. But as the days tick by and her classmates go one by one, the threat of her Call lurks ever closer . . . and with it the threat of an even more insidious danger closer to home.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Gruesome tale of death and survival
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This is one of the more stranger books I've read, but it was unique in every way. Think Miss Peregrine's Home for Pecuilar Children meets anything Tim Burton can come up with--in a weird dystopian world. Got that? Okay good. :)

The Call is not for the tame or the faint-hearted. At times it got quite gruesome, and quite often stepped outside of reality.

In The Call, there are several POV's--for the most part the transition between POV's were seamless--but at times, it wasn't causing me to stumble in my reading a bit.

But, this was a unique book with a unique premise and even more unique characters.

In fact it is the "uniqueness" of this novel that is its strong suit. It's definitely unlike anything I've ever read, and I think those of you who enjoy all things strange will revel in this book--and it's other worldliness.

It's absolutely otherworldly.

To be honest, my thoughts are a little jumbled on this one. On the one hand, this was interesting, and unique book. On the other, I am completely weirded out and couldn't explain this book if I tried.

It's one of those books you have to read to understand--but be warned it's a scary place to be.

If I had to say, I'd say it's worth reading if you really enjoy horror, and don't mind a little blood. Pretty perfect for the upcoming holiday--Halloween, of course. *insert evil laugh here.*
Good Points
Unique Plot
Characters You Can Root For
Keeps You on your Toes
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Fascinating and yet horrific survival story
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I came across The Call while looking through Goodreads and it immediately grabbed my attention. Everything about The Call made me want to read it! The Call is described as Hunger Games with horror added in and I could not agree more. I am a huge fan of survival stories and with the idea of horror mixed in...YEP...HAD ME!

I really enjoyed The Call and the characters within the story. The Call is a survival story that is based around young adults who are sent to an elite school where they are trained to fight for their lives against the "Sidhe" The Sidhe are creatures who have been banished to another world and have signed a treaty with humans to prevent a war by requesting each teen to be "called" over to the Sidhe land and fight for their lives. The teen has about a day in the Sidhe land to fight and survive and if they live though the day then they are sent back to the human world and can live the rest of their lives free from being called. The time is different in the Sidhe land and a entire day equals 3 minutes in the human world and the human is returned to the exact same spot in which they left when they were called....which can cause issues if anything has changed while they are gone.

The Sidhe land is really horrifying and the Sidhe people are even worse. The Call is truly a horror story and is not for the faint of heart. The Sidhe people are brutal and if the teen that is "called" actually survives...then they are usually sent back horribly disfigured or worse...in order to send a message to the human world.

"They've been warned about this from their first night in survival college, when they wake up naked and alone in the middle of the woods......Even in your dreams, act as if your life depends on it, because someday it will."

The main character, Nessa, is a young girl who has polio and can barely use her legs. She is seen by everyone as weak and fragile and Nessa is ANYTHING BUT FRAGILE! Nessa is such a strong character and has such an amazing outlook on her life...Nothing stops her and she trains just as hard if not harder than everyone else. I really would have loved to explore the characters more and learn more about each one. The relationships between some of the characters was very strained and there was continuous turmoil between the teens. I also felt like there was more going on with the adults/teachers that are introduced in the story and the reader doesn't really get to explore this aspect of the story.

I really enjoyed most everything about The Call and it kept my attention for the most part but the one drawback of the entire book was how short the book was. This story is so fascinating and the author really could have created an amazing, deep story with this book and I feel as though the story was too crammed and the reader really needed more information about everything. I wanted to read more about the Sidhe land and the background of why and how this all happened...I wanted to know more about these amazing characters and their will to survive. The Call is an survival story that is just as fascinating as it is horrifying...I recommend any ya horror fans to check this book out immediately!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Bleak Survival.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The book is a very easy read and the story was interesting. I enjoyed the story but I did get lost here and there the story is not really scary just interesting. I really wanted to know what was going to happen and who would survive. Recommended.
Good Points
Survival is 1 out of 10
Story was good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."