The Call

Featured
 
3.5 (2)
 
4.0 (1)
1793 2
The Call
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 30, 2016
ISBN
13: 9781338045611
Buy This Book
      

The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller where only one thing is certain . . . you will be Called. Thousands of years ago, humans banished the Sidhe fairy race to another dimension. The beautiful, terrible Sidhe have stewed in a land of horrors ever since, plotting their revenge . . . and now their day has come. Fourteen-year-old Nessa lives in a world where every teen will be "Called." It could come in the middle of the day, it could come deep in the night. But one instant she will be here, and the next she will wake up naked and alone in the Sidhe land. She will be spotted, hunted down, and brutally murdered. And she will be sent back in pieces by the Sidhe to the human world . . . unless she joins the rare few who survive for twenty-four hours and escape unscathed. Nessa trains with her friends at an academy designed to maximize her chances at survival. But as the days tick by and her classmates go one by one, the threat of her Call lurks ever closer . . . and with it the threat of an even more insidious danger closer to home.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Gruesome tale of death and survival
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This is one of the more stranger books I've read, but it was unique in every way. Think Miss Peregrine's Home for Pecuilar Children meets anything Tim Burton can come up with--in a weird dystopian world. Got that? Okay good. :)

The Call is not for the tame or the faint-hearted. At times it got quite gruesome, and quite often stepped outside of reality.

In The Call, there are several POV's--for the most part the transition between POV's were seamless--but at times, it wasn't causing me to stumble in my reading a bit.

But, this was a unique book with a unique premise and even more unique characters.

In fact it is the "uniqueness" of this novel that is its strong suit. It's definitely unlike anything I've ever read, and I think those of you who enjoy all things strange will revel in this book--and it's other worldliness.

It's absolutely otherworldly.

To be honest, my thoughts are a little jumbled on this one. On the one hand, this was interesting, and unique book. On the other, I am completely weirded out and couldn't explain this book if I tried.

It's one of those books you have to read to understand--but be warned it's a scary place to be.

If I had to say, I'd say it's worth reading if you really enjoy horror, and don't mind a little blood. Pretty perfect for the upcoming holiday--Halloween, of course. *insert evil laugh here.*
Good Points
Unique Plot
Characters You Can Root For
Keeps You on your Toes
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Fascinating and yet horrific survival story
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I came across The Call while looking through Goodreads and it immediately grabbed my attention. Everything about The Call made me want to read it! The Call is described as Hunger Games with horror added in and I could not agree more. I am a huge fan of survival stories and with the idea of horror mixed in...YEP...HAD ME!

I really enjoyed The Call and the characters within the story. The Call is a survival story that is based around young adults who are sent to an elite school where they are trained to fight for their lives against the "Sidhe" The Sidhe are creatures who have been banished to another world and have signed a treaty with humans to prevent a war by requesting each teen to be "called" over to the Sidhe land and fight for their lives. The teen has about a day in the Sidhe land to fight and survive and if they live though the day then they are sent back to the human world and can live the rest of their lives free from being called. The time is different in the Sidhe land and a entire day equals 3 minutes in the human world and the human is returned to the exact same spot in which they left when they were called....which can cause issues if anything has changed while they are gone.

The Sidhe land is really horrifying and the Sidhe people are even worse. The Call is truly a horror story and is not for the faint of heart. The Sidhe people are brutal and if the teen that is "called" actually survives...then they are usually sent back horribly disfigured or worse...in order to send a message to the human world.

"They've been warned about this from their first night in survival college, when they wake up naked and alone in the middle of the woods......Even in your dreams, act as if your life depends on it, because someday it will."

The main character, Nessa, is a young girl who has polio and can barely use her legs. She is seen by everyone as weak and fragile and Nessa is ANYTHING BUT FRAGILE! Nessa is such a strong character and has such an amazing outlook on her life...Nothing stops her and she trains just as hard if not harder than everyone else. I really would have loved to explore the characters more and learn more about each one. The relationships between some of the characters was very strained and there was continuous turmoil between the teens. I also felt like there was more going on with the adults/teachers that are introduced in the story and the reader doesn't really get to explore this aspect of the story.

I really enjoyed most everything about The Call and it kept my attention for the most part but the one drawback of the entire book was how short the book was. This story is so fascinating and the author really could have created an amazing, deep story with this book and I feel as though the story was too crammed and the reader really needed more information about everything. I wanted to read more about the Sidhe land and the background of why and how this all happened...I wanted to know more about these amazing characters and their will to survive. The Call is an survival story that is just as fascinating as it is horrifying...I recommend any ya horror fans to check this book out immediately!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Bleak Survival.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The book is a very easy read and the story was interesting. I enjoyed the story but I did get lost here and there the story is not really scary just interesting. I really wanted to know what was going to happen and who would survive. Recommended.
Good Points
Survival is 1 out of 10
Story was good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."
Prepped
 
5.0
"PREPPED is a really captivating YA contemporary fiction. Becca is 17 years old and dreams of going away to college..."