Defending Taylor

Featured
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
2141 1
Defending Taylor
Age Range
16+
Release Date
July 05, 2016
ISBN
149263008X
Buy This Book
      

There are no mistakes in love. Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor's always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that's what is expected of a senator's daughter. But one impulsive decision-one lie to cover for her boyfriend-and Taylor's kicked out of private school. Everything she's worked so hard for is gone, and now she's starting over at Hundred Oaks High. Soccer has always been Taylor's escape from the pressures of school and family, but it's hard to fit in and play on a team that used to be her rival. The only person who seems to understand all that she's going through is her older brother's best friend, Ezra. Taylor's had a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But it's hard to trust after having been betrayed. Will Taylor repeat her past mistakes or can she score a fresh start?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

I love this book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
It’s a great experience to jump back into the world of Hundred Oaks. This series has been one of my favorites. How awesome it is to have seven novels all revolving around one town? Pretty cool, right?

Since Miranda Kenneally is one of my favorite authors, I jumped into this book with only two things in mind, Taylor and soccer. It’s the featured sport for this novel. I don’t know much about soccer (or football for most people) but I’ve always wanted to try it. I was able to finish this book in one day which isn’t really surprising for a Hundred Oaks novel because I love the series.

Taylor Lukens is a straight-A student, and the incoming captain of the soccer team at St. Andrews, until one incident happened which caused her to cover and lie for her boyfriend, leading to her transfer to Hundred Oaks High. It wasn’t really hard to relate to her character and I think, among all the other characters in the series, I could relate to Taylor best, especially when it comes to being in constant pressure. I like her dedication and her whole personality. She’s snarky, sassy and sweet at the same time.

And of course, the love interest, Landscaping Lion guy, who’s Hispanic, has a buzzed hair, lean muscular body, and cute. I’m calling him Sebastian. Oh, wait.

The male lead is actually Ezra Carmichael, the bestfriend of Taylor’s older brother, Oliver.

Here’s the thing, I really thought Landscaping Lion guy was going to be the male lead. I was waiting for his name to drop, until I actually realized it’s going to be Ezra. Hahaha! I even asked Miranda if the Landscaping Lion guy had a name until she asked me what I wanted to call him so I said Sebastian. Hahaha!

Anyway, Ezra seems this pretty cool guy, like I said, he’s best friends with Oliver, which means he’s practically best friends with Taylor as well. It’s quite nice to see how their friendship blossomed into something more, because there’s definitely a tension and chemistry between them. I love Ezra’s personality as well.

This book is such a complete package. It dealt with sports, politics, friendship, family, and even disabilities and it delivers really great. I love the family relationship between Taylor and her dad, also with her twin siblings, Oliver and Jenna.

As for the cameos, Jack and Savannah are here. Apparently, Jack’s family are good friends with Taylor’s so we see Jack here for several times. I’m so glad that one of those times is a very vital one for the story.

The way the book handles all the issues is realistic, which is really great. I’m so glad this book didn’t disappoint.

(Review originally posted at The Bibliophile Confessions)
Good Points
great family/friend relationships, interesting plot points, dimensional characters
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Nice
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This was an interesting book. Filled with the hardships of meeting expectations, Taylor is not sure what she wants to do with her life except what her parents expect. One mistake changes Taylor's whole life and makes her rethink wants she wants in her future. A cute and simple book that was just great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."