The Island

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
2188 0
The Island
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 13, 2016
ISBN
1780748590
Buy This Book
      

"With a huge debt to Robinson Crusoe and the film Cast Away, this ambitious story stars troubled teenager Frances, whose nurturing love for her younger brother drives her to imagine escaping their abusive, dysfunctional home." —The Daily Mail As part of an “Outward Bound” style treatment for young people who’ve committed crimes, Frances finds herself on a plane to a remote village where she will do community service in exchange for staying out of juvenile detention. But an accident leaves her alone on a small island in the middle of the Indian Ocean. She has to find water and food. She has to survive. And when she is there she also has to think about the past. The things that she did before. The things that made her a monster. Nothing is easy. Survival is hard and so is being honest with herself. So when she discovers another survivor on the island, will it bring out the worst in her again? Or will it finally help her to see that her future is worth fighting for? A gripping and thoughtful story about a girl determined to survive against all odds and find the courage to become the person she wants to be.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Quote Worthy
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The Island is just a book you can’t put down. The book consists of short chapters that flip between the past and the present. While reading, it gave me very Lost TV feel.

What I liked best: The reader has to piece together the events in Fran’s life that forced her to get on that ill-fated plane. Fran isn’t the easiest person to get to know- and that is the point. You don’t want to root for her at first. What makes this story great is that you constantly have the desire to turn the page. I needed to know- How will Fran get out of this one? Or What horrible thing did Fran do?

Olivia Levez weaves in facts and tidbits about survival skills and the brutality of Mother Nature. The writing style is very easy to read and she hooks you into the story quickly.

While hopefully, we never find ourselves stranded on an island after a plan crash, Fran’s story is one that is relatable. She has a depth; she isn’t perfect. Due to the harshness of life she has built a wall and become “a rock.” But once she reveals all the intricate pieces of herself- she is a character worth loving.

This is one book that should be on everyone’s radar. Fast-paced and incredibly written, readers will be captivated by Fran and her desire to just survive.
Good Points
Fast-Paced
Engaging
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...

Latest Member Reviews

Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
5.0
"My Name Ollis Bator from Tx USA. After 12years of marriage, me and my husband have been into one quarrel..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
4.0
"‘The Missing: The True Story of My Family in WWII’ by Michael Rosen shares the story of a family who..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
"THINGS THAT GO is a delightful lift-the-flap and peek-through exploration of vehicles. In three sets of pages with flaps, die-cuts,..."
Welcome to Florida
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO FLORIDA is a fun touristy picture book about the state of Florida. The book goes through some of..."
Sounds of the Sky
 
5.0
"SOUNDS OF THE SKY is a great nonfiction collection of animal facts, focusing on birds. The book takes the reader..."
Sounds of the Wild
 
5.0
"SOUNDS OF THE WILD is a fantastic non-fiction children's book that takes the reader on a journey through several islands'..."
Rhyme with Me (Indestructibles)
 
5.0
"RHYME WITH ME! is a great new installment in the Indestructibles line of books. This new book features questions, which..."
When Elephants Listen with Their Feet: Discover Extraordinary Animal Senses
 
4.3
"WHEN ELEPHANTS LISTEN WITH THEIR FEET is a seriously cool collection of animal facts around the senses. The book goes..."
Ultimate Earth: Oceans and Seas
 
4.3
"ULTIMATE EARTH: OCEANS AND SEAS is an engaging look at the creatures who live in the water with lift-the-flaps and..."