The Museum of Heartbreak

Featured
 
3.5 (2)
 
4.7 (1)
2680 1
The Museum of Heartbreak
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
June 07, 2016
ISBN
1481432109
Buy This Book
      

In this ode to all the things we gain and lose and gain again, seventeen-year-old Penelope Marx curates her own mini-museum to deal with all the heartbreaks of love, friendship, and growing up. Welcome to the Museum of Heartbreak. Well, actually, to Penelope Marx’s personal museum. The one she creates after coming face to face with the devastating, lonely-making butt-kicking phenomenon known as heartbreak. Heartbreak comes in all forms: There’s Keats, the charmingly handsome new guy who couldn’t be more perfect for her. There’s possibly the worst person in the world, Cherisse, whose mission in life is to make Penelope miserable. There’s Penelope’s increasingly distant best friend Audrey. And then there’s Penelope’s other best friend, the equal-parts-infuriating-and-yet-somehow-amazing Eph, who has been all kinds of confusing lately. But sometimes the biggest heartbreak of all is learning to let go of that wondrous time before you ever knew things could be broken.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A Book to Bring to the Beach
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0


What grabbed me first, I hate to admit, is the incredibly cool cover. The Museum of Heartbreak is the perfect book to throw in with your towel and sunscreen as you head down to the ocean. It is a quick light read that also deals with some pretty important issues of hope, friendship, love, discovery, and of course heartbreak.

What I loved: The story is perfect for this time of year. After finishing up two incredibly dense books this is what I needed. I really enjoyed Pen as a character. Her love of words and books, her uncertainty, her foibles, and the desire to have things stay the same but also change- reminds me a lot of moments in my own teen years as well as my friends.
Pen collects artifacts from her life and which each artifact comes a memory and a revelation about her as a person.

What left me wanting more? I wish there was more. There were definitely points in the book where I wish there was more on the other characters in the book as well. In a way I am contradicting myself- I love the fact that the book was quick and I could read it in one sitting at the beach, but on the other hand I wish it was longer so I could get to know the other characters just a little bit more. And like many summer time books, at times the plot was a little predictable, but again for a summer beach read this is what I crave.

Overall: This is a fun read. It connects to the heart by sorting through issues that matter; the every changing dynamics of friendships, how to hold on to hope, the difficulties that can come with falling in love, and how heartbreak can sometimes make everything whole again. A comfy ready for a sunny day!

Good Points
fun read
book and pop culture references
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Quick, light read for contemporary lovers
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The Museum of Heartbreaks is one of my most anticipated reads for this year. I instantly fell in love with the cover because it's totally beautiful.

WHAT I LIKED:

Meg Leder's writing style is catchy, simple yet it expresses a lot of emotions. Penelope's emotions and thoughts are very easy to pick up. She's a true romantic, she likes that "sweep-me-off-my-feet" kind of romance. While I do admit that it's a bit adorable, it seems Pen's a little too much of that. She is a bookworm though, and I love how she collects those things that ended up in the "Museum" because I love collecting things as well. ALSO SHE LOVES TWIN PEAKS!! The other characters are interesting somehow but I think they fell a little flat for me. More on that on the next section.

The plot might be a little cliche but I liked it and it has interesting points. The tropes presented in the book are typical but it did not take away the joy of reading the story. Although yeah, I have to admit there were times where I want to whack Penelope, or Eph, or Keats's head.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING MORE:

The characters! I need more of them! It seems that most of them were written as a plot-device, thus they ended up flat. I like Eph though, he's kind of the guy I want to hang out with. I don't know if him being pretty bad at expressing his emotions can be considered good for the story. I just don't know. Good thing that he's a really good guy but sometimes he tends to be a bit passive. I feel the same way about Keats, Audrey and Pen's other friends like Grace.

FINAL VERDICT:

To be honest, it's really hard for me to write this review because I feel like the book is a balance between great and meh. There are times when I really felt the story but also felt detached to it. I was a bit disappointed that I didn't gush or swoon hard but it's a fun read though, and a quick one as well.

I think the book is a great read for contemporary romance lovers.
Good Points
interesting plot points, slow-build romance
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I truly loved this book
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but the most profound symbolism is dinosaurs.

this is the type of book that you seem to annalize. Maybe it was just me who annalized it but it definitely brought the sense of having hidden meanings, hidden messages, and a lot of deep thinking to what the author would like to actually come to say.

It definitely started slow. it felt as if it were already explaining something the reader already knows. And Pen seems to be the innocent and pure teenager that is actually what I think teens are. Or probably just me when I was a teen. i related to her so much. Hating change, believing in that epic love story, how it's a choice with her or without her. i could see myself clearly in her... and this book is what made it beautiful.

i would definitely understand if not all who read this would get it. but i want to thank Meg Leder for writing a book not because of heartbreaks, but because of writing a book for people who feels scared, neglected, ans even ignorant sometimes. i have to admit, I feel braver having finished it. and these are the books that would stay in your heart for a long time.

i love the characters. Pen is the type of main character that you would hate but also like. Eph is so brave and frank, Aud is her own person. And these characters are represented by someone we know in our lives... scary yet enticing...

i could go on and on about this book. i really truly loved it.


*i won this book and other book swag in a giveaway hosted by rivetedlit.com.
Good Points
~ very relatable main character
~ type of book that i loved to annalize
~ type of book that has hidden meanings and messages
~ very realistic characters
~ just the message is beautiful
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."