The Museum of Heartbreak

Featured
 
3.5 (2)
 
4.7 (1)
2940 1
The Museum of Heartbreak
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
June 07, 2016
ISBN
1481432109
Buy This Book
      

In this ode to all the things we gain and lose and gain again, seventeen-year-old Penelope Marx curates her own mini-museum to deal with all the heartbreaks of love, friendship, and growing up. Welcome to the Museum of Heartbreak. Well, actually, to Penelope Marx’s personal museum. The one she creates after coming face to face with the devastating, lonely-making butt-kicking phenomenon known as heartbreak. Heartbreak comes in all forms: There’s Keats, the charmingly handsome new guy who couldn’t be more perfect for her. There’s possibly the worst person in the world, Cherisse, whose mission in life is to make Penelope miserable. There’s Penelope’s increasingly distant best friend Audrey. And then there’s Penelope’s other best friend, the equal-parts-infuriating-and-yet-somehow-amazing Eph, who has been all kinds of confusing lately. But sometimes the biggest heartbreak of all is learning to let go of that wondrous time before you ever knew things could be broken.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A Book to Bring to the Beach
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0


What grabbed me first, I hate to admit, is the incredibly cool cover. The Museum of Heartbreak is the perfect book to throw in with your towel and sunscreen as you head down to the ocean. It is a quick light read that also deals with some pretty important issues of hope, friendship, love, discovery, and of course heartbreak.

What I loved: The story is perfect for this time of year. After finishing up two incredibly dense books this is what I needed. I really enjoyed Pen as a character. Her love of words and books, her uncertainty, her foibles, and the desire to have things stay the same but also change- reminds me a lot of moments in my own teen years as well as my friends.
Pen collects artifacts from her life and which each artifact comes a memory and a revelation about her as a person.

What left me wanting more? I wish there was more. There were definitely points in the book where I wish there was more on the other characters in the book as well. In a way I am contradicting myself- I love the fact that the book was quick and I could read it in one sitting at the beach, but on the other hand I wish it was longer so I could get to know the other characters just a little bit more. And like many summer time books, at times the plot was a little predictable, but again for a summer beach read this is what I crave.

Overall: This is a fun read. It connects to the heart by sorting through issues that matter; the every changing dynamics of friendships, how to hold on to hope, the difficulties that can come with falling in love, and how heartbreak can sometimes make everything whole again. A comfy ready for a sunny day!

Good Points
fun read
book and pop culture references
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Quick, light read for contemporary lovers
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The Museum of Heartbreaks is one of my most anticipated reads for this year. I instantly fell in love with the cover because it's totally beautiful.

WHAT I LIKED:

Meg Leder's writing style is catchy, simple yet it expresses a lot of emotions. Penelope's emotions and thoughts are very easy to pick up. She's a true romantic, she likes that "sweep-me-off-my-feet" kind of romance. While I do admit that it's a bit adorable, it seems Pen's a little too much of that. She is a bookworm though, and I love how she collects those things that ended up in the "Museum" because I love collecting things as well. ALSO SHE LOVES TWIN PEAKS!! The other characters are interesting somehow but I think they fell a little flat for me. More on that on the next section.

The plot might be a little cliche but I liked it and it has interesting points. The tropes presented in the book are typical but it did not take away the joy of reading the story. Although yeah, I have to admit there were times where I want to whack Penelope, or Eph, or Keats's head.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING MORE:

The characters! I need more of them! It seems that most of them were written as a plot-device, thus they ended up flat. I like Eph though, he's kind of the guy I want to hang out with. I don't know if him being pretty bad at expressing his emotions can be considered good for the story. I just don't know. Good thing that he's a really good guy but sometimes he tends to be a bit passive. I feel the same way about Keats, Audrey and Pen's other friends like Grace.

FINAL VERDICT:

To be honest, it's really hard for me to write this review because I feel like the book is a balance between great and meh. There are times when I really felt the story but also felt detached to it. I was a bit disappointed that I didn't gush or swoon hard but it's a fun read though, and a quick one as well.

I think the book is a great read for contemporary romance lovers.
Good Points
interesting plot points, slow-build romance
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I truly loved this book
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but the most profound symbolism is dinosaurs.

this is the type of book that you seem to annalize. Maybe it was just me who annalized it but it definitely brought the sense of having hidden meanings, hidden messages, and a lot of deep thinking to what the author would like to actually come to say.

It definitely started slow. it felt as if it were already explaining something the reader already knows. And Pen seems to be the innocent and pure teenager that is actually what I think teens are. Or probably just me when I was a teen. i related to her so much. Hating change, believing in that epic love story, how it's a choice with her or without her. i could see myself clearly in her... and this book is what made it beautiful.

i would definitely understand if not all who read this would get it. but i want to thank Meg Leder for writing a book not because of heartbreaks, but because of writing a book for people who feels scared, neglected, ans even ignorant sometimes. i have to admit, I feel braver having finished it. and these are the books that would stay in your heart for a long time.

i love the characters. Pen is the type of main character that you would hate but also like. Eph is so brave and frank, Aud is her own person. And these characters are represented by someone we know in our lives... scary yet enticing...

i could go on and on about this book. i really truly loved it.


*i won this book and other book swag in a giveaway hosted by rivetedlit.com.
Good Points
~ very relatable main character
~ type of book that i loved to annalize
~ type of book that has hidden meanings and messages
~ very realistic characters
~ just the message is beautiful
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."