How To Hang A Witch

 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
1459 0
How To Hang A Witch
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 26, 2016
ISBN
13: 9780553539486
Buy This Book
      
For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.


Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?
If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Unique and Fun Read
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Original Review Located: http://www.literarychaos.com/

Being the history buff that I am, I was so excited to read this novel. I kept seeing the book trailer and author video all over my social media, which only made me want to read it more. The videos left me so intrigued by the premise of the book that I built up very high expectations. In many ways, the author, Adriana Mather, surpassed my expectations, in other ways I was left feeling disappointed.

While I had high expectations I was not sure what to expect when I first started reading the novel. I wasn't sure if it was going to be some kind of paranormal historical fiction or if it was going to be a paranormal romance. I was pleasantly surprised that while history is important to the book it takes place in present day and uses the past to make parallels to the present. I personally thought this was a very unique and intriguing way to use history as a plot device.

One of the things that I liked most about this book was the setting she created. Mather created a world that was so vivid, the description of the homes and the town really gives the reader feel for what Salem looks like in the modern day. This coupled with the creepy atmosphere that she creates as the reader gets further into the book lend for a visually appealing read.

The characters in the book were rather hit or miss for me. There were times that I really liked the main character Sam, and there were other times that I felt she was childish and bullheaded. Then there was the love triangle--if you can call it that. I personally am just so tired of the cliche that is the love triangle. It is so overdone in young adult literature, and this one, in particular, was poorly constructed and just felt forced.

The other big miss for me in this book was the fact that many of the characters simply felt too juvenile for me. I oftentimes felt like the characters were being childish simply for the sake of being childish, and this got on my nerves multiple times throughout the book. There were some points through the book that I had to sit back and remind myself that the characters are young high school students and not adults. After trying to alter my mindset a little it did get better.

In total, I did really enjoy this book. It was by no means a perfect read, and I really had to put myself in the right headspace to read it. But it was a fun easy paranormal read, that while part a series can easily be read as a standalone. I think this would be a perfect fall read for a younger audience.
Good Points
Interesting Concepts, Good Parallels,
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...

Latest Member Reviews

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
"THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which..."
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
"There were so many things I really liked about this book. The case of the missing girls was obviously the..."
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
"POISON PRIESTESS is an intriguing YA historical fiction that follows Catherine Monvoisin, a fortune teller and infamous master of poisons...."
Ember of Night
 
4.3
"EMBER OF NIGHT is an intense and steamy YA fantasy read. The book follows Harley, an almost 18-year-old who has..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
"THE SKY ABOVE US is a YA drama about grief, loss, and the search for something better. The book follows..."
Poisoned
 
4.3
"POISONED by Jennifer Donnelly is a YA fairytale retelling of the original Snow White by the Brothers Grimm. In it,..."
Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall in Love
 
N/A
"[b]AMOXIL[/b] is used to treat many different types of infections caused by bacteria, such as ear infections, bladder infections, pneumonia,..."
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
"WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS is a consuming and compelling YA thriller. The book is told from several points-of-view, but primarily..."
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
"HAVOC is an intriguing continuation of a YA paranormal romance. In this world, witches and werewolves live side by side..."
Coming Up for Air
 
4.7
"COMING UP FOR AIR is an intense and heart-wrenching YA contemporary with some heavy themes. The book is told between..."
A Curse of Ash & Embers (The Blackbone Witches, #1)
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ASH AND EMBERS is an intriguing, character-driven YA fantasy read. Elodie has received a letter of employment..."
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
"ZOE ROSENTHAL IS NOT LAWFUL GOOD is a fun YA contemporary about embracing what you love and finding your people...."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"While being forced to clean an old room in her Catholic school, Maeve finds an old tarot deck that instantly..."
Just Our Luck
 
4.3
"JUST OUR LUCK is a charming YA contemporary about loss, anxiety, and friendship. Leo is a bit of a loner,..."
Flamefall (The Aurelian Cycle, #2)
 
5.0
"FLAMEFALL is the absolutely stunning and enthralling sequel to FIREBORNE, and the second in the Aurelian Cycle trilogy. The book..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"Return to Enchantia and meet the Glass Queen in this second installment of Gena Showalter‘s series Forest of Good and..."