The Princess Spy

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
2095 0
The Princess Spy
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 04, 2014
ISBN
978-0310730989
Buy This Book
      
Margaretha has always been a romantic, and hopes her newest suitor, Lord Claybrook, is destined to be her one true love. But then an injured man is brought to Hagenheim Castle, claiming to be an English lord who was attacked by Claybrook and left for dead. And only Margaretha—one of the few who speaks his language—understands the wild story.


Margaretha finds herself unable to pass Colin’s message along to her father, the duke, and convinces herself “Lord Colin” is just an addled stranger. Then Colin retrieves an heirloom she lost in a well, and asks her to spy on Claybrook as repayment. Margaretha knows she could never be a spy—not only is she unable to keep anything secret, she’s sure Colin is completely wrong about her potential betrothed. Though when Margaretha overhears Claybrook one day, she discovers her romantic notions may have been clouding her judgment about not only Colin but Claybrook as well. It is up to her to save her father and Hagenheim itself from Claybrook’s wicked plot.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Frog Prince Retelling
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A sweet romance featuring a showy villain, a troublesome language barrier, a vengeful hero (who may be impaired in more ways than just his fashion sense), and a heroine who isn’t afraid to wield blunt objects in defense of those she loves.

Running almost concurrent with the timeline of another book in the series (The Golden Braid), this book remains true to the germanic-flavored historical fairytale retelling of the rest of the Hagenheim series. The book can stand alone, but those who’ve read other books in the series will have the benefit of seeing what’s become of some favored past characters.

Margaretha, the eldest daughter of Duke Wilhelm and Lady Rose, recognizes it is her duty to marry advantageously. She had been holding out hope for a love match--stalling to the point that her younger sister is now of marriageable age. She’s in the middle of allowing a gaudy English Lord to court her when a severely injured foreigner arrives at Hagenheim castle. While she assists in his care and recovery, the man raves incoherently in English. Margaretha then finds it difficult to believe him when he recovers his wits only to accuse her current suitor of a heinous murder…

Note: The fairytale connection is a bit more tenuous than in any of Dickerson’s other books in the series, at least in this reader’s opinion. I made it all the way through without connecting that it was loosely based on The Princess and the Frog. But then again, other books have had more blatant tip-offs in either the title or the names of characters. I doubt most readers will find this bothersome.

What I Liked:

-I ended up liking Margaretha far more than I’d anticipated. The blurb had me braced for a naïve chatterbox with delusions of romantic idealism, but what I got was considerably more complex. I LOVED that reader’s first glimpse into her mind was a scene with her being thoroughly distracted by her would-be suitor’s kitschy hat fixation. (I may or may not have then spent the rest of the book mentally referring to Claybrook as: Lord Fancy Hats.) While there’s no attempt to deny Margaretha’s lack of experience with the world outside of Hagenheim castle, her limited exposure doesn’t make her entitled, self-important, or otherwise irritating. She is believably intuitive and quick to adapt, while exuding a bit more exuberance than most of Dickerson’s previous heroines.


-Despite the relatively condensed timeline, the romance is slow-burn and believably impeded by a number of factors—not the least of which is a language barrier.

-This book continues Dickerson’s trend of accessible historical nuance. Most germanic and medieval terms were either explained or were easy to puzzle out from their context. Although, the word ‘solar’ was frequently used but never explained. (It is an upper chamber in a medieval house. You’re welcome.)


What Didn’t Work For Me:

-The prologue felt rushed—almost an afterthought. While it gave some idea of the motives and situation for Colin, it didn’t quite engage me emotionally or connect me to any of the characters. It took me a lot longer to feel any kind of way about Colin than I would have liked. Even when I did start to care, I never quite felt connected to his backstory.

-From the blurb, I would have thought that Margaretha was a lot more enthralled with the idea of a grand romance with Lord Claybrook than proved actual. From the get go she wasn’t meshing well with the man, and seems well aware. The trouble is more her age and cultural/familial expectations—combined with the fact that she’s already turned down several suitors. She’s considering settling for a man she sees as eccentrically vain but well-intended, when a strange Englishman with a head injury interrupts her efforts.
Also, from the title I was expecting a bit more spying going on. But Margaretha’s actual spying amounted to just a scene or two.

-I do wish there had been a more memorable example of Margaretha failing to keep a secret, as that might have helped explain her insecurities in that area. It was repeatedly insinuated that she talked too much, but the spats in which she did so felt a bit forced for emphasis rather than true to her nature. (External chattiness was more of a nervous response and didn’t seem to match her internal monologue.) Her spiritual life also didn’t seem to bear much distinction from other heroines in this same series.

-The prose throughout contained a bit of unnecessary recapping and repetitious facts that felt as though they could have been trimmed out. (Most of these instances centered around Margaretha’s “prattling” or the rehashing of how Colin’s sister’s best friend was murdered.)

In the final analysis, I’d place this one right at about the same enjoyment level as The Merchant’s Daughter--if that means anything to existing followers of the Hagenheim series. Readable, but not quite as strong as others.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...

Latest Member Reviews

In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
"THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which..."
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
"There were so many things I really liked about this book. The case of the missing girls was obviously the..."
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
"POISON PRIESTESS is an intriguing YA historical fiction that follows Catherine Monvoisin, a fortune teller and infamous master of poisons...."
Ember of Night
 
4.3
"EMBER OF NIGHT is an intense and steamy YA fantasy read. The book follows Harley, an almost 18-year-old who has..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
"THE SKY ABOVE US is a YA drama about grief, loss, and the search for something better. The book follows..."
Poisoned
 
4.3
"POISONED by Jennifer Donnelly is a YA fairytale retelling of the original Snow White by the Brothers Grimm. In it,..."
Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall in Love
 
N/A
"[b]AMOXIL[/b] is used to treat many different types of infections caused by bacteria, such as ear infections, bladder infections, pneumonia,..."
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
"WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS is a consuming and compelling YA thriller. The book is told from several points-of-view, but primarily..."
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
"HAVOC is an intriguing continuation of a YA paranormal romance. In this world, witches and werewolves live side by side..."
Coming Up for Air
 
4.7
"COMING UP FOR AIR is an intense and heart-wrenching YA contemporary with some heavy themes. The book is told between..."
A Curse of Ash & Embers (The Blackbone Witches, #1)
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ASH AND EMBERS is an intriguing, character-driven YA fantasy read. Elodie has received a letter of employment..."
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
"ZOE ROSENTHAL IS NOT LAWFUL GOOD is a fun YA contemporary about embracing what you love and finding your people...."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"While being forced to clean an old room in her Catholic school, Maeve finds an old tarot deck that instantly..."
Just Our Luck
 
4.3
"JUST OUR LUCK is a charming YA contemporary about loss, anxiety, and friendship. Leo is a bit of a loner,..."
Flamefall (The Aurelian Cycle, #2)
 
5.0
"FLAMEFALL is the absolutely stunning and enthralling sequel to FIREBORNE, and the second in the Aurelian Cycle trilogy. The book..."