Please Don't Tell

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1122 0
Please Don't Tell
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 24, 2016
ISBN
978-0062317322
Buy This Book
      

Joy killed Adam Gordon—at least, that’s what she thinks. The night of the party is hazy at best. But she knows what Adam did to her twin sister, Grace, and she knows he had to pay for it. What Joy doesn’t expect is that someone else saw what happened. And one night a note is shoved through her open window, threatening Joy that all will be revealed. Now the anonymous blackmailer starts using Joy to expose the secrets of their placid hometown. And as the demands escalate, Joy must somehow uncover the blackmailer’s identity before Joy is forced to make a terrible choice. In this darkly compelling narrative, debut author Laura Tims explores the complicated relationship between two sisters, and what one will do for the other. It’s a story that will keep readers turning pages and questioning their own sense of right and wrong.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

offers brilliant characters and a new perspective on sexual assault
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Loved:
From early on, it’s clear what Adam did to Grace: he sexually assaulted her. Whether it’s intended to be a surprise or not, it’s honestly in the novel’s favor that it can be figured out so early on. As Grace narrates the “before” and Joy narrates the “after” of Adam’s death, we see how he affected both of them and how the sisters’ relationship with one another broke down. Both of them are neck-deep in troubles at all times and it makes you want to take them to your bosom so you can make everything better for them.

Maybe what Adam did is so clear to me because I’m a fellow survivor. Grace is far worse off than I ever was–in addition to living with OCD and magical thinking before, she develops an eating disorder after–but we thought about what happened to us in the same roundabout ways.

Honestly, the title is so apt it hurts. Most of Grace and Joy’s harships come about because of those three words: “please don’t tell.” Whether they said it themselves or someone said it to them, they secrets they promise to keep put them on a one-way road to tragedy. Those words came from the mouth of the boy who sexually abused me and for some reason, twelve-year-old me did what he said for six months. Ten years later, I’m still dealing with how my life changed because of those words.

Though I concentrate on Grace above because she’s the one I have a personal connection with, Joy is no less interesting as blackmail drives her to find out what really happened the night Adam died and she deals with her own alcohol issues. Multiple blackouts, including one on the night of the party that makes us wonder if Joy really is the killer as the blackmailer claims.

Like I said. Both troubled.

In summary, Please Don’t Tell is an incredible read, but it’s going to hurt if you’ve personally been affected by the issues within its paces. The book took me a very long time to read because it hurt so bad even though the content itself was so brilliantly good.

What Left Me Wanting:
It took me about half the book to figure out who was blackmailing Joy. That’s a bit unfortunate, but the full story of why and what happened to lead up to it is bound to surprise you like it did me.

Moreover, I’m troubled by Joy’s possible asexuality and how Levi disregards her when she asks him to stop hitting on her. On page 116, she tells him that flirting is “never ever going to work. Not with you or anybody else. Not for me.” Being asexual, my heart leaped a little in joy–but no other quotes further indicate asexuality and the word itself is never said. When Levi disregards what she said and continues to hit on her, she does nothing about it. Add in how aggressively she pursued and got with a past crush and I’m no longer certain of what the line meant at all.

This is very much personal disappointment, however. It’s unlikely to bother other readers the way it bothered me and I’m buying a hardcover of Please Don’t Tell for my personal collection regardless.

Final Verdict:
Come for the psychological thriller and mystery, stay for the strength of the characters. If someone has done to you what Adam did to Grace, I hope you have the strength to tell. What may come in the wake of what will most likely suck and suck horribly, but Grace and Joy demonstrate what happens when we don’t tell. Please Don’t Tell offers brilliant characters and a new perspective on sexual assault just when you thought it had been explored in every possible way.
Good Points
*well-written, complicated relationship between sisters Grace and Joy
*confronts exactly how it hurts people not to talk about their sexual abuse
*compelling and hard to put down because of the above and more
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
Little Penguin's New Friend
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
The 12th Candle
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."