Wandering Wild

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1448 0
Wandering Wild
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 03, 2016
ISBN
978-1510704008
Buy This Book
      

"I believe in possibility. Of magic, of omens, of compasses, of love. Some of it's a little bit true." Sixteen-year-old Tal is a Wanderer—a grifter whose life is built around the sound of wheels on the road, the customs of her camp, and the artful scams that keep her fed. With her brother, Wen, by her side, it's the only life she's ever known. It's the only one she's ever needed. Then, in a sleepy Southern town, the queen of cons picks the wrong mark when she meets Spencer Sway—the clean-cut Socially Secured boy who ends up hustling her instead of the other way around. For the first time, she sees a reason to stay. As her obligations to the camp begin to feel like a prison sentence, the pull to leave tradition behind has never been so strong. But the Wanderers live by signs, and all the signs all say that Tal and Spencer will end disaster and grief. Is a chance at freedom worth almost certain destruction? Wandering Wild is an achingly romantic journey of tradition and self-discovery—a magical debut.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A Look at a Whole New World
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I love when a book can show me a whole new world, and WANDERING WILD did just that with it’s story of Talia, or “Tal” to those who know her, and her brother Wen. Tal and Wen are Wanderers – Gypsies – and the book begins with them arriving in a new place and starting a con on the unsuspecting (and really cute) Spencer Sway.

Tal is a teen who has never known anything but the road, and she thinks she loves it. Wen has also lived on the road his whole life, but he dreams of stability and school and books and a “normal” life. WANDERING WILD follows the two of them and centers itself as they and their band of Wanderers end up camping outside of Cedar Falls, South Carolina.

I don’t know anything about wanderers/grifters/gypsies/travelers/rovers, but the lifestyle portrayed in WANDERING WILD rings true. One of the things I liked about the book was that it made me want to learn more about them.

The book is contemporary YA, and the relationship between Tal and Spencer takes center stage. Although she’s definitely a strong female character, it’s a tad disconcerting that Tal doesn’t realize the lack of freedom she has leading the Wanderer life until a boy comes along to show her how things COULD be. However, many people need to see themselves reflected in the eyes of others before seeing their true potential, and eye-rolling gender stereotypes aside, Tal’s romance with Spencer Sway feels real. What really tugged at my heart though is Wen’s romance with books … that’s what really made me sigh.

The Spirit of the Falconer, the religion that drives the Wanderers, is a bit of a distraction throughout the book. Owls, both real and symbolic, arrive on the scene at random intervals and I was never really sure what they meant. The characters in the book were equally confused, so I don’t feel too awful about being mystified by them.

One of the real highlights of WANDERING WILD is the language. The descriptions are gorgeous at times, like when Spencer says to Tal, “Because when I’m with you, I see colors that don’t exist.” I confess that I melted a little bit inside with that one.

All in all, WANDERING WILD was fun and interesting, and the setting and characters were different enough to keep me engaged and reading. I really liked Tal, and I adored Wen. Maybe it’s too much to hope that he gets a story of his own down the line …

My thanks to the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Beautiful language at times

A new world/lifestyle to explore
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Wandering Wild
(Updated: May 22, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What worked: Engaging glimpse into the life of Grifters mixed with forbidden love and hope. Sixteen-year-old Tal is a wanderer who travels to the next big con. Along with her younger brother Wen, they end up in a Southern town. When a con goes wrong, a townie, Spencer Sway, helps her out. The chemistry between these two sparks right at the beginning and doesn't let go.

I really loved the voice of this novel! Grifters are those who wander though towns on the look out for the next con, heist. Taylor does a great job of showing the life of teens that are wanderers. Tal isn't all hardcore. Readers see her daily struggles of trying to make enough money to save her younger brother from being beaten. Though she thinks she's 'free' from things like being forced to stay in one town or even to attend school, she's really not. Some of the customs and folk legends are mingled throughout. Like the whole omen of owls.

I was hooked from the very first page! The almost musical voice is very addictive: Here's an example where Tal describes her relationship with Spencer:

...Using that one word-love-he's made us into something so sugary sweet we have to be phony. Like cotton candy and Pixy Stix and promises.

The other characters are equally intriguing. Lando, the Boss's son, who is more controlling. Sonia, the former BFF, who change after being married only reminds Tal of what she doesn't want. Rona, the woman who takes over watching Tal and her brother after their mother is in jail. The town of Cedar Falls which shows the possibilities and also the ray of hope that there might in fact be a way out of the prison-like experience that Tal feels.

Gripping portrayal where two different ways of life collide set in a quiet Southern town with promises of hope and redemption.
Good Points
1. Love the voice!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."