The Memory of Things

Featured
 
4.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1882 2
The Memory of Things
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 06, 2016
ISBN
13: 9781250095527
Buy This Book
      

The powerful story of two teenagers finding friendship, comfort, and first love in the days following 9/11 as their fractured city tries to put itself back together. On the morning of September 11, 2001, sixteen-year-old Kyle Donohue watches the first twin tower come down from the window of Stuyvesant High School. Moments later, terrified and fleeing home to safety across the Brooklyn Bridge, he stumbles across a girl perched in the shadows. She is covered in ash and wearing a pair of costume wings. With his mother and sister in California and unable to reach his father, a New York City detective likely on his way to the disaster, Kyle makes the split-second decision to bring the girl home. What follows is their story, told in alternating points of view, as Kyle tries to unravel the mystery of the girl so he can return her to her family. But what if the girl has forgotten everything, even her own name? And what if the more Kyle gets to know her, the less he wants her to go home? The Memory of Things tells a stunning story of friendship and first love and of carrying on with our day-to-day living in the midst of world-changing tragedy and unforgettable pain—it tells a story of hope.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

The Memory of Things
(Updated: October 29, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
It's so true when they say you'll always remember where you were on 9-11. I was a first grade teacher at that time. When I got to work, a team teacher told me what had happened in NYC. I didn't believe her until I saw the one tower collapsing on the TV in the first grade wing. I'll never forget the horror, disbelief, and numbness of that day. THE MEMORY OF THINGS brings back all those memories.

What worked: This is a powerful tale of 9-11 shown through the eyes of a teen living in Brooklyn. Sixteen-year-old Kyle is in school when the attacks happen. School is closed and on the way home he encounters a girl covered in ash with wings standing on a rail over the bridge. Out of the horror and confusion that happens, he is drawn to the girl and gets her off the bridge. He takes her home. The girl doesn't know her name or how she ended up there. The author nails the emotions that circulated on that day and the ones that followed. Kyle tries to make sense of a world that is crumbling right in front of him. The girl is almost like a metaphor of what most felt that day: the confusion, horror, disbelief, and the surrealism of it all.

Kyle's story is basically ours too. We see his disbelief and fear--especially with his father who is on the police force and at Ground Zero. We hear about his friend's loved ones that were working at the Towers when the attacks happened. Then we see how hope prevails through it all. It's through the little acts like Kyle having a complete stranger stay at his house. It's all his love for his disabled uncle and how he refuses to believe he won't recover. It's also the times Kyle looks to find some normalcy in his life like watching a cartoon to walking to Coney Island. It's the stolen kisses. I loved all of this!

Another bonus is the girl's voice is told in free verse. Readers get a glimpse of her memories and a painful past that she's not sure she wants to revisit.

Emotional packed tale of that infamous day where through it all, hope refuses to be silent.
Good Points
1. Powerful story of 9-11 shown through the eyes of a teen
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Leaves a Small Mark on Your Heart
(Updated: June 06, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I was fresh out of college in 2001 and interning at a local high school. The Memory of Things is a powerful read. Personally, it brought up a lot of emotions, but in a good way. I instantly was transported back to the exact place I was sitting when the news spread around the school. I had friends interning in the towers, students had parents working in the city, and a coworker had a son-in-law working for Canter-Fitzgerald. Emotions were high and confusing and disbelief were rolling and weaving through everyone’s thoughts.
Gae Polisner takes all these emotions and crafts it into an exquisite story about loss, pain, survival, and perseverance.

I knew from the very first page that The Memory of Things was going to pull at my heart strings in some many different ways. But as Gae Poliner responded, it pulled but it didn’t break. And that shows just how resilient the human heart can be- we can feel pain, sorrow, intense loss, and with the power of hope, love, and tolerance, we can mend all those wounds and come out even stronger.

Underneath the historical context, The Memory of Things is lyrical, moving, and real. Polisner captures every hour and moment accurately in a physical and emotional way. Told through the eyes of two teenagers, one in prose and one in almost poetic way, this coming-of-age story is one everyone should read- young and old. It is one that should be read and talked about.

The Memory of Things is highly recommended. It is one of those books I know will never leave me and has left a tiny mark on my heart that I don’t ever want to go away.
Good Points
Realistic portrayal of 9/11
Unique two voice narration
Emotionally moving
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."