It Ends With Us

Hot
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
4044 0
It Ends With Us
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 02, 2016
ISBN
9781501110368
Buy This Book
      
Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up. She graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant and has a total soft spot for Lily; and the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his no dating rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan, her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all too human characters, “It Ends with Us” is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Amazing and heartbreaking
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
It Ends With Us was the first Colleen Hoover novel I have ever read and I’m so glad that was the case. Hoover is a massive presence in the contemporary YA community and I thought it was about time I finally sat down to see what all the fuss was about.

The novel follows twenty-three year old business graduate Lily Bloom who has had a hard life growing up in an abusive family, and falling in love with a homeless boy when she was fifteen with disastrous consequences; but she has finally left that life behind and opened her own flower store in Boston. There, she meets Ryle Kincaid, a successful neurosurgeon who is driven to be the absolute best in his field. When they meet, sparks fly, but Ryle is completely against relationships and desires only a one night stand from Lily. But the more time the two spend time together, the more Ryle falls for her. Lily also has to deal with the sudden reappearance of Atlas, her first love. Lily relives her past with Atlas through a series of diary entries dedicated to Ellen DeGeneres. Lily’s life gets turned upside down as she tries to contend with the pressures of opening her own business and being torn between two different men whom she loves more than anything.

From the moment I first opened this book, I was hooked. Colleen Hoover is a beautiful writer that draws you into the story so it feels as though you have become the protagonist and are experiencing everything through Lily’s eyes. We are a part of her journey. The novel begins quickly as Lily meets Ryle only a few pages into the first chapter. I really like that. Lily is a high-functioning woman and the pacing of the novel completely matches her personality.

Lily was a beautiful protagonist. I fell in love with her when I read her first journal entry. I was right there with her during her high moments and her low moments. She was such a strong character who tried to do what she thought was best. What surprised me the most was those moments where I found myself agreeing with Lily even though I knew I shouldn’t. Lily tried everything to keep her relationship going and her excuses for Ryle really broke my heart. However, those scenes were so real too, I couldn’t fault her even though I desperately wanted to.

At the beginning of the novel, I fell in love with Ryle just as Lily did. He was smart, handsome, ambitious, and even a little arrogant, which I enjoyed. I really liked his determination to be the best in his field, no matter what. His willpower and drive made me suddenly want to start writing my long-overdue essay. Even when he commits unforgiveable acts, there was still a part of me that liked him! I couldn’t believe it! That is definitely a testament to Hoover’s writing skill that she had me finding excuses for such a man.

Atlas, though. Oh, Atlas. If only I had someone like him in my life. Atlas is the new standard to which I will measure all future book boyfriends. His backstory was so heartbreaking to read, even as I looked forward to them because I really enjoyed reading his growing friendship with Lily. His love for Lily knows no bounds and there were times were I was completely blown away by his commitment to her, even though he hadn’t seen her in years.

I don’t want to say much more about the characters, or the plot itself, because this book is one of those rare cases where the less you know, the better the book is. I will say this though: It’s so easy to judge someone when you don’t know them, to say, “I would never have done that if that was me,” or, “But why didn’t she just leave him?” It Ends With Us reminds us to never judge someone in a situation that you are not in yourself. Sometimes, leaving a relationship is not as easy as people think it can be, especially when there are children – and love – involved. This book reminded me of that.

It Ends With Us spoke to me on a deeply personal level – it was so raw and heartbreaking, there were many moments where I found myself putting the book down for a long while so I could just take a breath. Please, please read this book. Go in with an open mind and I can guarantee you will be changed forever.
Good Points
Check out my blog and other reviews here: www.thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."