With Malice

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
1519 0
With Malice
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 06, 2016
ISBN
9780544805095
Buy This Book
      

A read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend--only what if the accident wasn't an accident? Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life. (less) Hardcover, 320 pages

Editor reviews

2 reviews

You Need to Read This!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I am telling everyone to grab this book, a giant glass of lemonade, a towel, and hit the beach and don't leave till you finish this book.

From the very first page you are thrust into the mind of Jill Charron. She finds herself in a hospital with no memory of the past months. She cannot remember going on a trip to Italy and can't even remember she was in a car accident. Jill finds herself in the midst of a media frenzy as the community and the press turn against to her mark her as a cold killer.

What I liked best: The entire book just works. For mystery/thriller fans and readers of Gone Girl or The Girl on a Train will love this one. What got to me was how real everything felt. Like other reviewers it reminded me of a the real life murder case of a college student accused of killing her roommate. Jill is a likable character and you really feel like you are getting into her mind.

Eileen Cook's writing style makes this thriller stand out. The narrative is told through Jill's perspective, but the reader also gets to read the Italian dectives' notes, comments from blog posts, and see how the media twists and turns facts to sway people's opinion. Cook weaves an entertaining mystery with important insights into how media can sway public opinion and how sometimes people are quick to join the majority to victimize or villainize those involved in an incident.

As the bits and pieces of the accident begin to unfold, the reader is thrown into a worldwide of twists and turns. Truth is sometimes more than just the facts. Sometimes you have to dig deeper.

Highly recommended book. On my list for best books of the summer.
Good Points
Fast pace
Keeps you on the edge of your seat
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
With Malice
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital bed with no memories of what put her there. Then she finds out while on a trip to Italy, she was in involved in a tragic accident that claimed the life of her BFF Simone. The media runs wild saying that it wasn't an accident but something a lot worse. Jill struggles to remember what lead up to the accident and whether or not she was to blame.

What worked: I was totally addicted to this edge of the seat murder mystery! It reminded me a lot of a recent real life murder case in Italy of a college student accused of killing her room mate. Only in this novel there are enough twists and turns that keep you second guessing what really happened on that fateful day.

The story alternates between Jill's point of view with the investigation both here and in Italy. Readers get glimpses of what Jill's friends and school mates actually thought of her and Simone. Jill doesn't come across as an entitled 'rich' girl but rather one that is fighting to regain her memories while trying to make sense of the tragic event.

Bit by bit the story reveals that not is all it seems to be with both friends. The reveals are surprising and the ending has a total wowza punch.

Addictive criminal murder mystery that is loaded with secrets that will have readers guessing right to the last page. Well-written with a powerful insight into the lives of two friends that takes a tragic twist.
Good Points
1. Well-written mystery that will have readers guessing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Read it NOW!!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that to heart because it important. I love the setting and the main character. Jill is suffering from amnesia after the accident and all the clues point that it wasn't an accident. She has no memory of the event and it makes for very thrilling mystery as she slowly starts to recall parts of the event. RECOMMENDED.

Amnesia, Best Friends, Italy, Mystery, Detective, Accidents.
Good Points
Intense mystery.
Fast paced.
Shocking ending.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."