With Malice

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
1325 0
With Malice
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 06, 2016
ISBN
9780544805095
Buy This Book
      

A read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend--only what if the accident wasn't an accident? Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life. (less) Hardcover, 320 pages

Editor reviews

2 reviews

You Need to Read This!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I am telling everyone to grab this book, a giant glass of lemonade, a towel, and hit the beach and don't leave till you finish this book.

From the very first page you are thrust into the mind of Jill Charron. She finds herself in a hospital with no memory of the past months. She cannot remember going on a trip to Italy and can't even remember she was in a car accident. Jill finds herself in the midst of a media frenzy as the community and the press turn against to her mark her as a cold killer.

What I liked best: The entire book just works. For mystery/thriller fans and readers of Gone Girl or The Girl on a Train will love this one. What got to me was how real everything felt. Like other reviewers it reminded me of a the real life murder case of a college student accused of killing her roommate. Jill is a likable character and you really feel like you are getting into her mind.

Eileen Cook's writing style makes this thriller stand out. The narrative is told through Jill's perspective, but the reader also gets to read the Italian dectives' notes, comments from blog posts, and see how the media twists and turns facts to sway people's opinion. Cook weaves an entertaining mystery with important insights into how media can sway public opinion and how sometimes people are quick to join the majority to victimize or villainize those involved in an incident.

As the bits and pieces of the accident begin to unfold, the reader is thrown into a worldwide of twists and turns. Truth is sometimes more than just the facts. Sometimes you have to dig deeper.

Highly recommended book. On my list for best books of the summer.
Good Points
Fast pace
Keeps you on the edge of your seat
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
With Malice
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital bed with no memories of what put her there. Then she finds out while on a trip to Italy, she was in involved in a tragic accident that claimed the life of her BFF Simone. The media runs wild saying that it wasn't an accident but something a lot worse. Jill struggles to remember what lead up to the accident and whether or not she was to blame.

What worked: I was totally addicted to this edge of the seat murder mystery! It reminded me a lot of a recent real life murder case in Italy of a college student accused of killing her room mate. Only in this novel there are enough twists and turns that keep you second guessing what really happened on that fateful day.

The story alternates between Jill's point of view with the investigation both here and in Italy. Readers get glimpses of what Jill's friends and school mates actually thought of her and Simone. Jill doesn't come across as an entitled 'rich' girl but rather one that is fighting to regain her memories while trying to make sense of the tragic event.

Bit by bit the story reveals that not is all it seems to be with both friends. The reveals are surprising and the ending has a total wowza punch.

Addictive criminal murder mystery that is loaded with secrets that will have readers guessing right to the last page. Well-written with a powerful insight into the lives of two friends that takes a tragic twist.
Good Points
1. Well-written mystery that will have readers guessing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Read it NOW!!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that to heart because it important. I love the setting and the main character. Jill is suffering from amnesia after the accident and all the clues point that it wasn't an accident. She has no memory of the event and it makes for very thrilling mystery as she slowly starts to recall parts of the event. RECOMMENDED.

Amnesia, Best Friends, Italy, Mystery, Detective, Accidents.
Good Points
Intense mystery.
Fast paced.
Shocking ending.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."