With Malice

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
1242 0
With Malice
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 06, 2016
ISBN
9780544805095
Buy This Book
      

A read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend--only what if the accident wasn't an accident? Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life. (less) Hardcover, 320 pages

Editor reviews

2 reviews

You Need to Read This!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I am telling everyone to grab this book, a giant glass of lemonade, a towel, and hit the beach and don't leave till you finish this book.

From the very first page you are thrust into the mind of Jill Charron. She finds herself in a hospital with no memory of the past months. She cannot remember going on a trip to Italy and can't even remember she was in a car accident. Jill finds herself in the midst of a media frenzy as the community and the press turn against to her mark her as a cold killer.

What I liked best: The entire book just works. For mystery/thriller fans and readers of Gone Girl or The Girl on a Train will love this one. What got to me was how real everything felt. Like other reviewers it reminded me of a the real life murder case of a college student accused of killing her roommate. Jill is a likable character and you really feel like you are getting into her mind.

Eileen Cook's writing style makes this thriller stand out. The narrative is told through Jill's perspective, but the reader also gets to read the Italian dectives' notes, comments from blog posts, and see how the media twists and turns facts to sway people's opinion. Cook weaves an entertaining mystery with important insights into how media can sway public opinion and how sometimes people are quick to join the majority to victimize or villainize those involved in an incident.

As the bits and pieces of the accident begin to unfold, the reader is thrown into a worldwide of twists and turns. Truth is sometimes more than just the facts. Sometimes you have to dig deeper.

Highly recommended book. On my list for best books of the summer.
Good Points
Fast pace
Keeps you on the edge of your seat
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
With Malice
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital bed with no memories of what put her there. Then she finds out while on a trip to Italy, she was in involved in a tragic accident that claimed the life of her BFF Simone. The media runs wild saying that it wasn't an accident but something a lot worse. Jill struggles to remember what lead up to the accident and whether or not she was to blame.

What worked: I was totally addicted to this edge of the seat murder mystery! It reminded me a lot of a recent real life murder case in Italy of a college student accused of killing her room mate. Only in this novel there are enough twists and turns that keep you second guessing what really happened on that fateful day.

The story alternates between Jill's point of view with the investigation both here and in Italy. Readers get glimpses of what Jill's friends and school mates actually thought of her and Simone. Jill doesn't come across as an entitled 'rich' girl but rather one that is fighting to regain her memories while trying to make sense of the tragic event.

Bit by bit the story reveals that not is all it seems to be with both friends. The reveals are surprising and the ending has a total wowza punch.

Addictive criminal murder mystery that is loaded with secrets that will have readers guessing right to the last page. Well-written with a powerful insight into the lives of two friends that takes a tragic twist.
Good Points
1. Well-written mystery that will have readers guessing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Read it NOW!!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that to heart because it important. I love the setting and the main character. Jill is suffering from amnesia after the accident and all the clues point that it wasn't an accident. She has no memory of the event and it makes for very thrilling mystery as she slowly starts to recall parts of the event. RECOMMENDED.

Amnesia, Best Friends, Italy, Mystery, Detective, Accidents.
Good Points
Intense mystery.
Fast paced.
Shocking ending.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Tiger Queen
 
5.0
"All Kateri wants to do is impress her father, become the queen she's meant to be, protect her people, and..."
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
"Isaiah's family has struggled after the death of his sister in a car accident that wasn't her fault. The parents..."
The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."