One Paris Summer

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1381 0
One Paris Summer
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 07, 2016
ISBN
978-0310755166
Buy This Book
      

Most teens dream of visiting the City of Lights, but it feels more like a nightmare for Sophie Brooks. She and her brother are sent to Paris to spend the summer with their father, who left home a year ago without any explanation. As if his sudden abandonment weren't betrayal enough, he's about to remarry, and they’re expected to play nice with his soon-to-be wife and stepdaughter. The stepdaughter, Camille, agrees to show them around the city, but she makes it clear that she will do everything in her power to make Sophie miserable. Sophie could deal with all the pain and humiliation if only she could practice piano. Her dream is to become a pianist, and she was supposed to spend the summer preparing for a scholarship competition. Even though her father moved to Paris to pursue his own dream, he clearly doesn't support hers. His promise to provide her with a piano goes unfulfilled. Still, no one is immune to Paris’s charm. After a few encounters with a gorgeous French boy, Sophie finds herself warming to the city, particularly when she discovers that he can help her practice piano. There’s just one hitch—he’s a friend of Camille’s, and Camille hates Sophie. While the summer Sophie dreaded promises to become best summer of her life, one person could ruin it all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Adorable Book About First Love and Following Your Dreams
(Updated: May 14, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Comment beau! One Paris Summer is a lovely summer read perfect for fans of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith & Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.

The story follows 16 year old Sophie Brooks as she and her older brother are forced to spend the summer in Paris in order to attend their father's wedding. While anyone else would be thrilled at the idea of visiting Paris, Sophie is battling against her feelings of her father's abandonment little over a year ago, and can't quite come to terms that she's also meeting her new stepmother and stepsister.However, everything could have been better if only her father had kept his promise of getting her a piano to practice, for she is a talented pianist who hopes to gain a scholarship back home and needs all the practice she can get. But seeming as he is against of her following her own dreams, Sophie is left to deal with a terrible stepsister who might ruin all the things she loves (and comes to love).

What I Loved:

One Paris Summer has all the elements I love in a YA Contemporary Romance. It has great characters, a beautiful setting, talks about family relationships, and has a relatable main character that grows magnificently throughout the story.

One of its biggest highlights is that there's no evil stepmother in the story (evil stepsister is a whole other thing). Actually, Sophie develops a special mother-daughter bond with Eva that greatly proves how sometimes good things do come out of bad situations or circumstances. It also shows how people who you least expect might become precious later on in your life.

The romance in this book is enchantingly sweet. A first love in the City of Lights with a charming, handsome boy like Mathieu (very French) is the kind that will make readers swoon and run off to learn French like moi! There were a few times that his personality threw me off, but overall, he's a great love interest.

The plot is not something unheard of, yet it manages to stand out well on its own. I love how it tours you through Paris, visiting famous landmarks and also giving a taste of its delicious food.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The issue of Sophie's father running off to Paris (or any other city) without notice is a theme that always sets me on edge. I know these situations happen in real life, but it's something hard to accept when that particular parent doesn't give you enough reasons for his/her leaving, like Sophie's dad. That's why it comes off as unsettling to me when both parents force Sophie and Eric to spend the summer with him in another country AND to meet his new family.

Sophie surprised me by being mature with the whole situation. Yes, she was angry and highly against his father's actions, and yet she comes to forgive him quite easily. While that is wonderful, I wish she had demanded a better explanation from him and her mother to give me, the reader, the chance to also forgive both of them for their immature actions as parents.

Besides Sophie's father, I also had a bit of a hard time swallowing Camille, her terrible stepsister, and Dane, her brother's friend who gets to visit during their stay in Paris. Both are immature and nasty, without a single redeemable quality to them. I would have liked to at least see a sweeter side to Camille since the ending wasn't enough for me.

Final verdict:

One Paris Summer is a trés bien read set in the beautiful city of lights with an adorable romance that blooms in its pages. Although it's not perfect, it had me flipping pages non-stop because it's the kind of YA romance us readers like to fall in love with.
Good Points
Sophie surprises with her maturity and keen sense of following her dreams.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Grandpa's Stories
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
One young girl reflects on a year with her beloved...
The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
So, you want to know about Jack Wilson? Here’s some...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...

Latest Member Reviews

Elysium Girls
 
4.3
"ELYSIUM GIRLS is an engaging YA historical fantasy/dystopian. In the 1930s, an area of Oklahoma suddenly got cut off from..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."