Traitor Angels

Featured
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
1497 0
Traitor Angels.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 03, 2016
ISBN
0062278878
Buy This Book
      

A romantic and exhilarating historical adventure about a girl who must unlock the secrets within Paradise Lost to save her father—perfect for fans of Revolution and Code Name Verity—from acclaimed author Anne Blankman, whose debut novel, Prisoner of Night and Fog, was a Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Teens in 2015 Six years have passed since England’s King Charles II returned from exile to reclaim the throne, ushering in a new era of stability for his subjects. Except for Elizabeth Milton. The daughter of notorious poet John Milton, Elizabeth has never known her place in this shifting world—except by her father’s side. By day she helps transcribe his latest masterpiece, the epic poem Paradise Lost, and by night she learns languages and sword fighting. Although she does not dare object, she suspects that he’s training her for a mission whose purpose she cannot fathom. Until one night the king’s men arrive at her family’s country home to arrest her father. Determined to save him, Elizabeth follows his one cryptic clue and journeys to Oxford, accompanied by her father’s mysterious young houseguest, Antonio Viviani, a darkly handsome Italian scientist who surprises her at every turn. Funny, brilliant, and passionate, Antonio seems just as determined to protect her father as she is—but can she trust him with her heart? When the two discover that Milton has planted an explosive secret in the half-finished Paradise Lost—a secret the king and his aristocratic supporters are desperate to conceal—Elizabeth is faced with a devastating choice: cling to the shelter of her old life, or risk cracking the code, unleashing a secret that could save her father . . . and tear apart the very fabric of society.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

It Deserves a Book Hug
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Full disclaimer: I am a huge fan of Milton and Paradise Lost ever since college. So this was a big pull for me with this novel.

Anne Blankman wows once again. I fell in love with her debut duology Prisoner of Night and Fog and Traitor Angels does not disappoint. When it comes to historical fiction Blankman weaves together historical facts, fiction, and plot twists to near perfection. As a reader, I can tell how much love she puts into her storylines. Her world building feels like you are being placed right inside a postcard. Vivid imagery and description put you right inside the action. Even though it is set in 1666, the world feels as fresh and as real as if I just stepped outside my front door.

Being a big fan of Milton, I love how Blackman added in secret messages, clues and codes. Turning what many might assume is just another boring British poem (which it definitely is not) into something so much more. It is a great way to get new young readers into British Lit. It mixes poetry with incredible historical details, religion and science, intrigue, romance, and of course a twisting and turning mystery adventure plot.

I have been incredibly lucky with a historical/literary reading streak. Traitor Angels is up at the top of my list after reading other fantastic YA book on Charlotte Bronte- these two books make a great pair especially if you have time to read at the beach!. The scavenger hunt feeling had me trying to figure out the puzzle too.

Both well-research, imaginative, and obviously written with love, I recommend this book to fans of historical fiction and mystery readers. After reading Traitor Angels I just wanted to give it a hug. I know it might be too soon- but when is the next Anne Blankman book coming?
Good Points
Page turning
Interesting facts about British Lit (Paradise Lost)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: Traitor Angels
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I absolutely loved Anne Blankman’s Prisoner of Night and Fog duology so I was really excited to start a new book with different characters, a different setting, and a new twist on history. It sounded like a Da Vinci’s Code type of book for YA and I was intrigued that it was a standalone, since at first I expected it to be the beginning of a new series.

I liked the main character of Elizabeth. She was feisty and very protective of her family. I especially loved her bond with her sister Anne. She seemed to be the closest of the girls to her father and was the one he seemed to have put the most time into training in sword fighting and making sure she could defend herself. She loved to learn and I loved that she loved it, even though it wasn’t common for that time period for girls to learn. She was so determined to save her father but by following his clues, it led to her faith being shaken and a journey of growth for her.

The side characters were all interesting as well, which I appreciated. Antonio had his own secrets and his own reasons for wanting to help Elizabeth and I enjoyed their slow transition from strangers to friends to romantic interest. I loved that he treated her as his equal instead of like she was inferior to him because of her gender. Elizabeth’s family played a huge role in the book without being present for most of it. Almost everything she did was with them in mind. The mysterious Robert who showed up to help Elizabeth and Antonio on their quest was another great addition and I went from being suspicious of him to liking him and then back again to suspicious then back to liking.

The plot moved pretty slow at times, which I did expect considering the time period. There was a lot of traveling by horse or carriage so that definitely slowed the pace down, other than a few pockets of action here and there throughout the journey. I liked the mystery aspect and that the more Elizabeth discovered, the more it made her question. During the slower parts, it did feel like the book was a little unnecessarily long, but overall, I enjoyed it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...

Latest Member Reviews

There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
"THINGS THAT GO is a delightful lift-the-flap and peek-through exploration of vehicles. In three sets of pages with flaps, die-cuts,..."
Welcome to Florida
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO FLORIDA is a fun touristy picture book about the state of Florida. The book goes through some of..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."