Incriminated (Emancipated #2)

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1323 0
26198825.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 24, 2016
ISBN
9780062288981
Buy This Book
      

Scandal, romance, treachery, and murder—all under one roof. And no one to clean up their messes. Incriminated is the thrilling second book in the Emancipated trilogy, where limits are pushed, friendships are test, and the truth has a nasty way of showing up uninvited. There’s trouble in paradise. Six teens legally liberated from parental control—the bad boy, the good girl, the diva, the hustler, the rocker, and the nerd—all share a house in Venice Beach and they all have one thing in common: murder. After a streak of hookups, heartbreaks, and bad decisions, the housemates’ once perfect life is falling apart. One is caught in a forbidden romance with a Hollywood hearttrob while another puts her dreams on the line for one little kiss. One harbors a dark truth that could save a life while another’s risky business puts all their lives on the line. And before they know it, the friends are fighting like family. But when an uninvited houseguest and a deadly accident entangle them in a conspiracy none of them saw coming, pulling together is the only way out. Alone, none of them can cover up the lies. Together, none of them can be trusted. Packed with conspiracies, intrigue, and scandalous romance, this gripping sequel told from multiple perspectives will have readers suspecting them all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lions, Tigers and Murders, Oh My!
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Lions, Tigers and Murders, Oh my!

Once again, Reyes, hands us a story full of complex characters, crazy secrets, intrigue, murder and a little bit of romance.

There's a little bit of everything in this story, and it should have been overwhelming but, remarkably, it wasn't.

The characters:There are quite a few. Here's the run down if you're new to this series: There's Lucy--the emo-ish African American, former child star, former addict, and deep secret holder.

Paolo: Resident hottie, future tennis star, crush hider, and best friend-ish to John Michael.

John Michael, is the cook, shoulder to lean on, and possible parent killer.

Grace and Candace--are step sisters, one's a star, the other is pretty normal except she has a secret crush, and she cannot be the only normal person in the house--I don't trust that one bit.

And oh yeah, Candace. Candace is hiding a big secret from Grace--no surprise there. This book is filled with all kinds of secrets and mischief.

And then there's Maya--the quiet one, the youngest one, the one with the biggest secret. She's also something of a computer whiz.

The story: The story picks up right where the last one left off, except the plot just keeps getting bigger, and things just keep getting crazier. Essentially what should have been freeing experience--turned out to be anything but for these teens.

To make a long story short, a lot happens--and I can't talk about any of it because, spoilers.

But there's quite a bit surrounding each and every person and things are no closer to be solved or wrapped up than they were in the first story--well, sort of.

Some of the secrets have come up, but they seemed to open up a can of worms, instead of solving anything. You don't know who to trust--well I didn't. And now they're pretty much on the run.

This book is pretty crazy, the author had no qualms about throwing these teens into a hot boiling mess, but it's entertaining.

Some small part of me feels like something is missing for me to fully connect with the story, (not sure what it is) but I'm always entertained.

This is a great story for people who love their stories with a lot of layers, don't mind that there's not much romance--and love to see things unravel--slowly.
Good Points
Multiple POVS, Mystery
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."