The Smell of Other People's Houses

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1103 1
The Smell of Other People's Houses
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 23, 2016
ISBN
978-0553497786
Buy This Book
      
In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Beautiful Look at Difficult Lives in Alaska
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Loved:

I was very excited about THE SMELL OF OTHER PEOPLE’S HOUSES when I first read the synopsis and the setting- 1970’s Alaska! I also love books with multiple points of view and so I couldn’t wait to dive in once I received my copy.
Mar-Sue Hitchcock writes a beautiful picture of Alaska. Our four main characters are found in Fairbanks, Southeast Alaska, and Canada. Over the course of the story we see a fish camp, a convent, a fishing boat, and a ferry. Even with multiple main characters and multiple locations, Hitchcock weaves together a beautiful story about the meaningful ways people’s lives intersect.
Though beautiful, we also see the difficulty of Alaska living and she doesn’t shy away from difficult topics. She writes about poverty, abusive relationships, teenage pregnancy, and alcoholism in ways that feel real and not overdone. Yes, these characters deal with these topics on a daily basis but these things do not define these characters. They are able to help one another overcome.
I especially loved the character Hank, maybe because I myself am an older sibling. The burden he feels for his younger brothers is juxtaposed beautifully with his overwhelming love for them. Even when they are separated in the midst of very difficult circumstances, Hank is able to keep moving to reunite them. He was kind and gracious while still being tough and guarded, characteristics I was very drawn to. I also really loved Alyce who struggles between pursuing what she really loves and her sense of duty and obligation to her family. All four characters are written so fully, so completely, that their voices and stories jump off the page.

What Left Me Wanting More:

While the world of Alaska is written beautifully and clearly, I found myself confused about which main character I was reading at the start of every chapter, especially the three female characters. I was also often confused about who secondary characters were, especially since they popped in several of the main characters stories even when the main characters themselves weren’t interacting. I think they were meant to serve as strings between the characters but in some cases in confused things further.

Final Verdict:

THE SMELL OF OTHER PEOPLE’S HOUSES is a beautifully written story about the meaningful ways people’s lives intersect in the incredible and unique setting of Alaska. The story isn’t afraid to address difficult topics while reminding us that most important thing we can have in our lives are other people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."