The Lost & Found

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1417 0
51sV8+OAQSL__SX321_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 05, 2016
ISBN
978-0062231208
Buy This Book
      

A charming and imaginative new YA novel about getting lost before you can be found, for fans of Adi Alsaid’s Let’s Get Lost and Margo Rabb’s Kissing in America. LOST Frannie and Louis met online when they were both little and have been pen pals ever since. They have never met face-to-face, and they don’t know each other’s real names. All they know is that they both have a mysterious tendency to lose things. Well, really, things just seem to . . . disappear. FOUND Louis and Frannie both receive news in the mail that sets them off on a road trip to Austin, Texas, looking for answers—and each other. Along the way, each one begins to find, as if by magic, important things the other has lost. And by the time they finally meet in person, they realize that the things you lose might be things you weren’t meant to have at all, and that you never know what you might find if you just take a chance.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lovely blend of magical realism and road trips
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Frannie and Louis have been online friends for years as part of a support group. Time has brought them closer, and they find they have weird things in common like losing random items constantly, but they’ve never meet face to face. When a string of events have them both setting off for Austin, Texas, they start to find the lost items of the other person as they make their way to each other. Together, they might find exactly what they’ve been missing all along.

Katrina Leno knows exactly how to mix magical realism, mental illness, road trips, and romance into an adventurous and sort of heartbreaking, sort of uplifting story. THE LOST & FOUND features Frannie and Louis, two teens who have a habit of losing things. The magical realism of the things being lost and mysteriously reappearing to the other person is a unique twist and is simply beautiful as the characters become more and more real. For a novel that has the two love interests in different parts of the country for most of the book, their friendship/budding romance is one of the sincerest and sweetest I’ve read in a while.

One of the elements that makes the story so moving is the importance of Louis’s relationship with his sister and Frannie’s relationship with her best friend. This is a book about friendship just as much, if not more, as it is romance. Frannie’s family is far from traditional, and her journey in learning who and what matters most to her is stunning. As Louis’s sister is particularly involved in his mental health, their relationship is powerfully close but not without its own share of sibling trouble. These characters are not ones readers will forget soon.

A bit weird, a lot important, THE LOST & FOUND is a moving story about relationships, family, and the things we want to find most of all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...

Latest Member Reviews

Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
"FUN IN THE JUNGLE is an adorable board book great for infants and young toddlers who are exploring the world..."
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS modifies the original poem to be more modern and easily understood by young children. The classic..."
The Magic Misfits: The Fourth Suit (The Magic Misfits, #4)
 
5.0
"THE FOURTH SUIT is a fantastically magical finale. Ridley begins with a inventor's fair which she is entering with the..."
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
 
4.0
"DUCK AND PENGUIN DO NOT LIKE SLEEPOVERS is an overall cute book about two stuffed animals whose owners are BFFs..."
Fussy Flamingo
 
4.5
"FUSSY FLAMINGO is an adorable fictional tale about a flamingo named Lola that doesn't want to eat shrimp. Instead, her..."
Give It! (Moneybunny Books)
 
4.0
"GIVE IT! introduces the simple concept of charity as well as being thoughtful about money purchases. Chummy and his Gran..."
Little Snowflake
 
5.0
"LITTLE SNOWFLAKE is a delightful story that explains the water cycle through the eyes of a small snowflake. Tiny drops..."
Room on the Broom Push-Pull-Slide
 
5.0
"ROOM ON THE BROOM PUSH-PULL-SLIDE is a delightfully interactive board book sure to enchant toddlers and preschoolers. A witch is..."
Stanley's Fire Engine
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S FIRE ENGINE is an adorable picture book that follows a day in the life of Stanley the Firefighter. Stanley..."
Shelly Struggles to Shine (The Derby Daredevils, #2)
 
4.5
"SHELLY STRUGGLES TO SHINE is a great middle grade read that follows the struggle of individuality and feeling like you..."
Thanks a Ton! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"THANKS A TON! is filled to the brim with bright colors, rhymes, animals, and gratitude. While an elephant has a..."
Wild Week
 
4.0
"WILD WEEK is a cute board book that features an animal on each day of the week, doing something in..."
Peppermint Post
 
5.0
"PEPPERMINT POST is an adorable new story about Christmas and Santa. The Peppermint Post is the busiest post office in..."
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
"STOLEN FROM THE STUDIO is a fun middle grade mystery with a choose-your-own-adventure plot. Carlos travels with his mother, a..."
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
"THE WIZENARD SERIES: SEASON ONE is written by Wesley King and created by Kobe Bryant. The MG fantasy follows Reggie,..."
The Triumphant Tale of Pippa North
 
4.0
"THE TRIUMPHANT TALE OF PIPPA NORTH combines magic and humor in a middle grade fantasy full of charm. Pippa is..."
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
"TURBO RACERS: ESCAPE VELOCITY is a fast-paced, high-stakes adventure. Mace Blazer is a TURBOnaut, a high-speed vehicle racer. He recently..."
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
"BREAD LAB! is a cute picture book that walks through the steps of making sourdough bread through the eyes of..."
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
"A THOUSAND NO'S is a cute picture book about the way that feedback can change an idea. A girl has..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."