Defender

Defender
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 12, 2016
ISBN
978-0553498950
Buy This Book
      
From the Edgar Award­–winning author of Acceleration comes a mystery about an old murder and new truths, perfect for fans of Barry Lyga, Madeleine Roux, and Michelle Gagnon.

They call her Tiny, but Tyne Greer is six foot six, a high school basketball star who is hoping the game will be her ticket out of the slum. She lives in a run-down building called The Zoo, where her father is the superintendent. One day she discovers a crack in the wall of an abandoned basement room. And sealed up in the wall is a girl’s body. Horrified, she runs to get her dad. But after he goes to take a look, he comes back and tells Tyne that nothing’s there. No girl. No body. He tells her she must be seeing things in the dark.

Tyne is sure it was real, though, and when she finds evidence that the body was moved from the hole in the wall, she knows the only one who could have done it is her father. But why? What is he hiding?

Tyne’s search for answers uncovers a conspiracy of secrets and lies in her family. The closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous it becomes for her. Because some will do anything to bury the past . . . and keep her silent.

Editor review

1 review
Defender
(Updated: April 28, 2016)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
3.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
What worked: This is a very suspenseful mystery that totally had me on the edge of my seat right up to the ending! The twists on the usual stereotypes really added to the story too!

Tyne 'Tiny' isn't the usual petite protagonist. No, she's six foot six and plays basketball. I loved her determination and relationship with Stick her boyfriend. When she finds a mummified body in the basement of her apartment building, she doesn't stop looking for the truth even when her father brushes if off as side effects of the meds she's taking.

The family dynamics totally rang true. So did the 'don't bring up the past' that Tiny encounters with not only her father but grandmother too. Seems everyone around her is keeping secrets. Tiny knows she has to break through this wall of silence in order to find out what happened to the dead girl and why she was sealed up in the wall in the basement.

There's a lot besides a mystery in this story. There's romance, hints of horror, and bullying. All work in this very compelling novel.

Diverse multi-layered characters along with plot twists and reveals is guaranteed to keep readers guessing on the whys behind not only the dead girl but the reasons for the secrecy.
Good Points
1. Suspenseful, edge of the seat thriller
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account