Love Me Never (Lovely Vicious #1)

Hot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
3597 1
25664563.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 05, 2016
ISBN
978-1-63375-229-0
Buy This Book
      
Seventeen-year-old Isis Blake hasn’t fallen in love in three years, nine weeks, and five days, and after what happened last time, she intends to keep it that way. Since then she’s lost eighty-five pounds, gotten four streaks of purple in her hair, and moved to Buttcrack-of-Nowhere, Ohio, to help her mom escape a bad relationship.

All the girls in her new school want one thing―Jack Hunter, the Ice Prince of East Summit High. Hot as an Armani ad, smart enough to get into Yale, and colder than the Arctic, Jack Hunter’s never gone out with anyone. Sure, people have seen him downtown with beautiful women, but he’s never given high school girls the time of day. Until Isis punches him in the face.

Jack’s met his match. Suddenly everything is a game.

The goal: Make the other beg for mercy.

The game board: East Summit High.
The reward: Something neither of them expected.

Previously published as Lovely Vicious, this fully revised and updated edition is full of romance, intrigue, and laugh-out-loud moments.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Snarky, Humorous, and An Outright Winner!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Love Me Never, is hands down one of my favorite reads of the year, so far.

Witty. complex characters--with an equally complex plot make this story, a sure winner. What seemed like a story that was simply good for a laugh, was far deeper than it's surface humor--and boy did it serve humor.

What I liked:
Isis--she puts the snark in snarky. Her vicious insults and witty humor kept this reader laughing throughout the day--which is about how long it took me to read this one, give or take a few hours. It's an "in one sitting" kind of read.

Isis' "chubby" past has left her jaded and humorously wary of all individuals--boys in particular. That includes Jack, whom after insulting an innocent girl--becomes the victim of a revenge plot constructed by Isis herself, that kept me entertained and glued to the pages of this book until it was finished--and even after that.

Jack: Jack is a jerk and Isis is determined to make him pay for his faults. It's what ensues between these two characters (the banter, the love-hate) that made this book so easy to love.

Jack, is for all intents and purposes hot, but he's mean--very mean. He walks through the halls with a glacial stare, and a total lack for anyone's feelings--especially those of Isis--the new, loud, and rambunctious girl who can't seem to get from underneath his skin.

These two battle, and they battle hard and that was my favorite part of this book. There was enough wit between the two to make anyone feel shame for not being just as clever. The back and forth was so good, I honestly couldn't get enough.

But, don't let the many laughs (because there will be many) fool you, this book has a dark plot and a even darker agenda. Thee characters have dark secrets and I spent the better part of the novel trying to figure it all out. There's a foreboding sense of "What happened?," throughout the novel--and the author does a great job of making it very vague--so as to not give anything away until she's good and ready.

Let me tell you when you find out, it's not to be expected.

The secondary characters: The "Rents," Avery, Kayla, and Wren. The whole 'lot of them play important parts to this story and are very strong all their own. Some superficial but perfectly fitting. Three dimensional characters abound in this novel.

This book has a purpose, although by the end I'm not entirely sure what it is, because it's not fully concrete. I am dying to find out. I want to pull this book's layers apart, piece by piece until I know all of it's dirty secrets.

The book's all around dark, clever humor will suck you right in, and keep you there.

You'll laugh, you'll flinch, but you'll fall in love--quickly. With so many layers of goodness--romance, humor, and even mystery--there is nothing not to love about this novel.

The cliffhanger, that is the end, will hang over your head like a cloud on a severely stormy day. I had an immediate, "I NEED TO KNOW RIGHT NOW," kind of feeling. Readers will be shocked, because what you get, you don't expect

What I didn't like:A big fat goose egg. I loved it all.

Final Verdict--Stunningly clever writing, humorous characters, with a dark and chilling plot that will set the reader in a frenzy to figure it all out. It wows, and it will stay with you long after it's sequel appears--which is until fall unfortunately, and even after that.

But, don't worry, you can wait with me while I sit here in a glass case of need.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."