Moonburner

 
0.0
 
4.6 (4)
1063 3
Moonburner
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 14, 2016
ISBN
978-1-938985-99-7
When 17-year old Kai is exposed as a female sorceress—a moonburner, she knows the punishment is death. Despite the odds against her, Kai escapes her fate and undertakes a harrowing journey to a land where moonburners are revered and trained as warriors.

But the moonburner citadel is not the place of refuge and learning that Kai imagined. The ongoing war against the male sorcerers, or sunburners, has led the citadel leadership down a dark path that could spell the end of all magic. Armed with a secret from her past and a handsome but dangerous ally in the sunburner prince, Kai may be the only one able to prevent the destruction of her people.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.6
Plot 
 
4.8  (4)
Characters 
 
4.5  (4)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Beautifully fun Japanese-like Fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"The moon cannot enslave the sun, nor make the day its mistress."

I absolutely loved this dark yet playful romp through an ancient Japanese-like fantasy culture. As an anime fan and gamer, I found this YA tale refreshing and somewhat original when compared to the other coming-of-age adventure stories out there at present. Especially the use of Seishen, animal companions that are tied to a burner's soul.

"As far as I'm concerned, the world is better off without burners in it. Maybe this is our fate. What we have become. Let us slaughter each other and leave the world better off without us."

The story follows Kai, a moonburner, and her sassy, snarky seishen, a silver fox named Quitsu. Together, they unravel a sinister plot that could mean the end to her and her enemy's kind--the burners. Lies and betrayals form a path for Kai until the truth "burns" for release. And, when it does, it sets the world on its side.

"Or victory shall spell defeat, a crimson sky its auspice. The sun and moon must shine as one, or all will be undone."

Filled with harrowing battles, trials of friendship, hilarious dialogue, and the dangers of falling in love, Moonburner is sure to thrill to the very last page. Claire Luana's writing is vivid and her world is beautifully imagined. And, seriously, I can't get enough of Quitsu!

Highly recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Quick Read and Awesome!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Two countries are on the brink of war (moonburners vs sunburners). Azura is forced to choose between the man and the nation that she loves. Heir to the throne of Miina, is resigned to her fate. She must marry the enemy's king in the hopes of ending a centuries long war. But when a handsome and enticing stranger (Takeo) appears on the horizon, she is swept up in an illicit but undeniable romance.

When Azure's younger sister claims a false accusation of rape, Takeo's life is forfeit. Azura must give up all she knows in a daring and desperate plot to save him from the heat of the Tottori Desert.

This quick novella is awesome! I've added the main series to my TBR pile and when I find the time, I will be reading them! This 100 page story is packed with everything: forbidden young love, a marriage proposal, war, and a sister's jealousy. This novella and story line reminded me of "The Golden Compass" where some people have a spirit animal that talks, can do things and go places. I kept thinking of that movie b/c Azure's seishen is named Lyra.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Really good fantasy story
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Most YA stories worth reading have at their center a strong, worthy heroine. They usually possess a character trait or a perspective that is unique, and because of that, she ends up changing the world around her for the better.

Claire Luana's Kai is just such a character. In a time when "moonburners" and "sunburners" live in fear and hatred of each other, Kai is born a moonburner in a land where, if her identity is known, would spell the end for her and all she loves. Her family helps her disguise herself, but such a huge secret can only be kept for so long. Before she reaches her 18th birthday, she is discovered and sent to her death, only to find a Moonburner city, where she learns her true nature. But she also learns a few other things as well - namely, that evil forces on both sides have taken steps that may result in their extinction.

This book, which from its vivid descriptions, place names and character names made me easily imagine a setting akin to feudal Japan. I can honestly say I've never read a YA book that had such an intense aura of Eastern mysticism about it, and that made it all the more enjoyable. There were a few places when the story dragged ever so slightly for me, but these were few and far between. I would definitely recommend this book to lovers of YA.
Good Points
Lovely writing style, loved the Eastern influence on this fantasy world
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Five Glorious Stars
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Skillfully crafted. Beautifully written. Kai's character was developed brilliantly. Lovely read.
Good Points
Skillfully crafted. Beautifully written. Kai's character was developed brilliantly. Lovely read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."