Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express

 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1792 0
Samebutdifferent.jpg
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 23, 2016
ISBN
0545094682
Buy This Book
      
Being a teen is hard enough. But when you have autism--or when your sibling is struggling with the condition--life can be a topsy-turvy ride. What happens when you come face-to-face with dating, parties, sports, body changes, school, and kids who just don’t get you? Where do you turn when your sibling with autism is the butt of jokes, the victim of misunderstood social cues, and the one everyone thinks is weird?

Through alternating narratives based on their own lives, Ryan Elizabeth Peete and her twin brother, RJ, who has autism, bravely and honestly reveal what it means to be a teen living with the disorder.

With insight and humor, Same But Different explores the many aspects of teen autism, while daring to address issues and feelings nobody talks about. This powerfully rendered, timely book is the only one of its kind. It paints an important story of hope for teens and families living with autism—and lets us see that everybody’s unique rhythm is worth dancing to.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Refreshing & Insightful
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on the twin’s real-life experiences of navigating life with autism. The book follows twins Callie and Charlie as they enter into their 16th year, but unlike past years of sharing everything together, Callie is moving on to tenth grade while Charlie is held back a grade.

The book does a great job of addressing some of the challenges that face Charlie, who has autism, and Callie, who does her best to be there for her brother as they both try to figure out being a teenager in addition to living with autism. The guilt, frustrations, and joys were apparent as the reader was invited to share in the family’s experiences that might not be “normal,” and can prove to be daily challenges for Callie and Charlie. The love that both twins have for one another is powerful and inspiring, even as both occasionally struggle with coming to terms with their lives being different.

Overall, this book offers some wonderful and honest insight into life with autism from a fresh perspective and authentic voices.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Inspiring Story that Touches Your Heart
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Written from the shared perspectives of Holly Robinson Peete, Ryan Peete and RJ Peete, SAME BUT DIFFERENT details the struggles and joys of a family touched by autism. Although the Peete family deals with autism on a daily basis, the story is a fictional account, told through the eyes of Callie and Charlie.

Callie and Charlie are twins. Charlie, like Ryan Peete, was diagnosed early on as having Autism. Being able to witness every day events through both their eyes brings depth to not only the story but also the characters themselves. It is not surprising that both Callie and Charlie seem so real. The emotions are raw and honest. The voice of each character is unique and powerful. As the story goes on you get to experience life side by side with Callie and Charlie. The emotional highs of having friends and being accepted to the lows when you discover that your twin brother is being made fun of and you want to protect him. The struggle to stand on your own, but be a shoulder for your family is real not only to Callie but to Charlie too.

The Peete's are an incredible family who are an inspiration to all. This is a story of struggling to fit in, struggling to fight for the right to be you, the journey of self-discovery, and most of all the power of unconditional love and family. The story will touch your heart in ways you cannot imagine.
Same But Different is a book all middle school and high school students should read.
Good Points
Multiple Narrators
Short and powerful chapters
Fast paced
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."