Trust Me (Find Me #3)

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1322 0
Trust Me (Find Me #3)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 22, 2016
ISBN
978-0062229090
Buy This Book
      

“Trust me.” Wick Tate’s never heard these words so much in her life. And with all her secrets, who can she really trust? There’s Milo, her new hacker boyfriend, who’s keeping a dark secret of his own. Griff, the ex who’s always had her best interests at heart but who mostly wants to stay out of Wick’s mess. There’s Looking Glass, an organization that can supposedly offer Wick protection…and a future. And then there’s her family. They should be easy to trust, right? Not if you’re Wick. Not when “family” means so many different things, including a criminal father who may not stay locked up for long. Wick is used to relying on herself…and only herself. But she’s going to have to learn to trust someone if she’s going to finally escape her demons...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

boasts one of the most troubled, complex female characters in YA
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

Like its predecessors, Trust Me is as readable as crack is addictive and your sympathies always stay with Wick. She does some reprehensible things and acknowledges it, but compared to the people who have used and abused her tech skills, she’s on the lighter side of gray morality. Her inability to hear the words “trust me” and do just that cause all the problems you imagine, but that wariness is also what keeps her alive. The sheer amount of fight left in her is astounding and reminds me why she’s one of my favorite female characters in YA. I just want to wrap her up in my arms and make everything better.

Don’t worry, Wick gets justice for everything she’s been through. The previous books hardly came murder-free, but the body count in Trust Me reaches Game of Thrones levels and more than a few of the dead are people Wick was wronged by in the past. Some of the deaths are deeply horrifying–like, say, a man being shoved into a crawl space while he bleeds out after a major beating–but also deeply therapeutic. As the song goes, they had it comin’ all along…

What Left Me Wanting:

Toward the middle of the book, the twists start kicking in. BAM–the therapist is the boss. BAM–the therapist boss is evil (and I rather dislike this twist because therapists aren’t shadowy people with their own agenda). BAM–there’s an inside agent. Just BAM BAM BAM one after another. With so many new twists coming at you so quickly and the playing field being redrawn accordingly, it’s hard to keep your feet on the ground and fully understand what’s going on.

I wasn’t a fan of the romantic angle in the first book and my opinion of the now-love triangle hasn’t improved. The question of who Wick will keep in her life and who she’ll leave behind is easy to answer long before the ending. Though Milo is her boyfriend now, she doesn’t have many scenes with him and none at all that leave a positive impact and make you think he’ll stick around. (It’s not a spoiler when it’s obvious!)

Honestly, Wick should give them both the finger as she runs off into the sunset with her sister Lily and her adoptive mother Bren. If she never re-learns to trust anyone outside her two-person support network, it’s hard to blame her. She’s been through that much!

Final Verdict:

In my review for Remember Me over a year ago, I said I wanted Wick to have a good-enough ending if she was in too deep to get a happy ending. That’s what I got. The Find Me series will forever boast one of the most troubled, complex female characters in YA and I highly recommend these books, especially if you’re a fan of the Prep School Confidential books by Kara Taylor. They’re the lighthearted, tech-light version of these books and just as intricate, readable, and flat-out binge-able!
Good Points
*intensely readable
*Wick remains a strong, sympathetic character
*everyone who wronged Wick gets what's coming to them
*so many twists your head will spin
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."