Trust Me (Find Me #3)

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1320 0
Trust Me (Find Me #3)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 22, 2016
ISBN
978-0062229090
Buy This Book
      

“Trust me.” Wick Tate’s never heard these words so much in her life. And with all her secrets, who can she really trust? There’s Milo, her new hacker boyfriend, who’s keeping a dark secret of his own. Griff, the ex who’s always had her best interests at heart but who mostly wants to stay out of Wick’s mess. There’s Looking Glass, an organization that can supposedly offer Wick protection…and a future. And then there’s her family. They should be easy to trust, right? Not if you’re Wick. Not when “family” means so many different things, including a criminal father who may not stay locked up for long. Wick is used to relying on herself…and only herself. But she’s going to have to learn to trust someone if she’s going to finally escape her demons...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

boasts one of the most troubled, complex female characters in YA
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

Like its predecessors, Trust Me is as readable as crack is addictive and your sympathies always stay with Wick. She does some reprehensible things and acknowledges it, but compared to the people who have used and abused her tech skills, she’s on the lighter side of gray morality. Her inability to hear the words “trust me” and do just that cause all the problems you imagine, but that wariness is also what keeps her alive. The sheer amount of fight left in her is astounding and reminds me why she’s one of my favorite female characters in YA. I just want to wrap her up in my arms and make everything better.

Don’t worry, Wick gets justice for everything she’s been through. The previous books hardly came murder-free, but the body count in Trust Me reaches Game of Thrones levels and more than a few of the dead are people Wick was wronged by in the past. Some of the deaths are deeply horrifying–like, say, a man being shoved into a crawl space while he bleeds out after a major beating–but also deeply therapeutic. As the song goes, they had it comin’ all along…

What Left Me Wanting:

Toward the middle of the book, the twists start kicking in. BAM–the therapist is the boss. BAM–the therapist boss is evil (and I rather dislike this twist because therapists aren’t shadowy people with their own agenda). BAM–there’s an inside agent. Just BAM BAM BAM one after another. With so many new twists coming at you so quickly and the playing field being redrawn accordingly, it’s hard to keep your feet on the ground and fully understand what’s going on.

I wasn’t a fan of the romantic angle in the first book and my opinion of the now-love triangle hasn’t improved. The question of who Wick will keep in her life and who she’ll leave behind is easy to answer long before the ending. Though Milo is her boyfriend now, she doesn’t have many scenes with him and none at all that leave a positive impact and make you think he’ll stick around. (It’s not a spoiler when it’s obvious!)

Honestly, Wick should give them both the finger as she runs off into the sunset with her sister Lily and her adoptive mother Bren. If she never re-learns to trust anyone outside her two-person support network, it’s hard to blame her. She’s been through that much!

Final Verdict:

In my review for Remember Me over a year ago, I said I wanted Wick to have a good-enough ending if she was in too deep to get a happy ending. That’s what I got. The Find Me series will forever boast one of the most troubled, complex female characters in YA and I highly recommend these books, especially if you’re a fan of the Prep School Confidential books by Kara Taylor. They’re the lighthearted, tech-light version of these books and just as intricate, readable, and flat-out binge-able!
Good Points
*intensely readable
*Wick remains a strong, sympathetic character
*everyone who wronged Wick gets what's coming to them
*so many twists your head will spin
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...

Latest Member Reviews

Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Pablo
 
4.0
"PABLO is a simple but cute story about a chick that is not ready to hatch. It is time for..."
Shoe Wars
 
4.0
"SHOE WARS is a silly fun middle grade read that is somewhere between a graphic novel and chapter book. The..."
Spin with Me
 
4.0
"SPIN WITH ME is a heartfelt middle grade contemporary about labels and love. Essie has been moved across the country..."
New Shoes, Red Shoes
 
3.5
"NEW SHOES, RED SHOES is a cute and simple book about shoes. The illustrations feature a young boy going out..."
Elevator Bird
 
5.0
"ELEVATOR BIRD is a cute picture book about making your friends' dreams come true. Elevator Bird is an essential part..."