The Mirror King (Orphan Queen #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
1859 1
mirror king.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 05, 2016
ISBN
978-0062317414
Buy This Book
      

In this stunning conclusion to The Orphan Queen, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen. This epic fantasy duology is perfect for fans of Graceling by Kristin Cashore, The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. Princess Wilhelmina is ready for her crown, but declaring herself queen means war. Her magic is uncontrollable and now there’s a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. Princess Wilhelmina’s ability might be just the thing to help reclaim her kingdom—or ruin it forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Perfect conclusion to a stunning fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
If you have not yet read The Orphan Queen, you need to stop what you’re doing and correct that. Like, STAT. Once you’re done, we can get on with talking about THE MIRROR KING by Jodi Meadows.

For the rest of you who have read The Orphan Queen, hold on to your hats because Miss Jodi is about to throw you down an emotional landslide.

The Inundation went down, the people of Skyvale now know Wil’s true identity, they also know she’s a flasher, and she’s made part of the Wraith into a physical being. Not only that, but the soon-to-be-king, Tobiah, has been shot through the gut. The crud-o-meter is pretty much tapped out. So, things can only get better, right?

Wrong. So, so wrong.

I have loved Wil, or Princess Wilhelmina, since page one of The Orphan Queen. That love only grew throughout The Mirror King. She is feisty, opinionated, intelligent, independent, and can handle herself in a scuffle. Wil is also extremely loyal to those she holds dear. We don’t often get to see her softer side, but when we do, it’s a real treat. Her Ospreys mean the world to her, and she will do anything to keep them from harm, even if it means going against those she thought she could trust.

She is very human. In fact, my favorite (spoiler free) scene is where she needs to send a note to the people of Aecor, explaining the situation of her stay in Skyvale. James tells her to use her own handwriting. Well, Wil has spent years perfecting the handwriting of others to forge documents. She’s never used her own, so she freezes, not sure what to so. Wil has a mini breakdown, staring at a blank page, stressing over the fact she doesn’t have her own handwriting. Beautifully human.

Though The Orphan Queen and The Mirror King are only told through Wil’s point of view, I love how we get to know Prince Tobiah through her. Her heavy opinions on her feelings toward Prince Tobiah and Black Knife, though they are the same person, are so wonderfully opposite you just know it will come back to get her. We get to see Tobiah grow as a person, and then as king of the people of the Indigo Kingdom.

Speaking of the Indigo Kingdom, the world building of The Mirror King is just as stunning as book one. While Wil travelled through sub-zero temps to get to Aecor and waded through hip-high snow, I felt the sting of frost as it soaked into Wil’s inadequate skirts. Oh my!

The pacing was a tad odd for me, though. The beginning felt fast and riddled with tension as Tobiah’s survival and subsequent role as king were in danger. The same can be said for the last several chapters. I ate those pages up trying to not skip ahead to see what would happen. The middle, however, felt long-winded and sort of kitchen sink-ish. As if Miss Meadows fought with Wil on each page to make her open her eyes, so threw everything at her she could possibly get on the page. Perhaps this is because Wil is ridiculously stubborn. She has an inability to see the lesson, even when it slaps her in the face. There were several trials for Wil’s journey, nearly all of them ending not in her favor, so it seemed a little overdone. But, again, Will is willful *grin*. When the pieces finally fall into place and she sees the error of her ways, the pace charges ahead until you reach the last word, gasping for air while reaching for the nearest binge-worthy snack food because of The Feelings. As in ALL of them. You've been warned.

Miss Meadows has a knack for intelligent, witty characters. The banter between Wil and Tobiah, the Ospreys, and with vigilant James and Mel are such a joy to read. They are easy to know and love, and they mature in such a way you forget they are teenagers. Their loses are yours. Their triumphs as well. The bonds are felt deep inside with every snap and thump to the chest in salute. It’s what makes exceptional writing.

The Mirror King is a gorgeously written conclusion to a sweeping fantasy full of honorable thieves, monstrous humans, healing destruction, and a boy and girl fighting to save what’s left of their people. It will pull you in, fill you with grief, joy, elation, and the incredible need to paint a black knife upon your sleeve.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
in love all over again
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This was definitely one of my most highly anticipated books for 2016. I loved The Orphan Queen and was so excited to get my hands on The Mirror King that I may have screamed. Just a little. Or a lot. But after that cliffhanger ending of The Orphan Queen and the wait for the sequel, who could blame me? It was everything I wanted from a sequel and it was the perfect conclusion, even with all the tears through both books.

Wil had grown a lot in the first book but here, her growth really got to shine. She was more confident in herself even as she questioned her decisions. She had moments of doubt, of whether she was strong enough to lead a kingdom, if she was the right choice for her people, and I think all that just showed she was the only choice in the end. She cared so much about her kingdom and her people. Everything she went through was for them. She was willing to sacrifice so much for them. She earned every bit of her character growth and she earned a place as one of my favourite characters.

I absolutely loved the supporting characters. The Ospreys were such a tight family without sharing any blood. They grew up together, they planned together, they trained together, and they were taking back Aecor together. My favourites though were Tobiah and James and the bond they shared. Cousins as close as brothers and both so willing to protect each other even though James was the bodyguard and Tobiah the king. We got to see more of their bond, more of their past, and got more answers to some of the questions left from the first book.

The attraction between Wil and Tobiah was always in the background, just like the first book. I really enjoyed the slow burn of it and the fact that it was getting developed without overtaking the other aspects of the books that I loved. It never felt like the friendships or Wil’s struggles or Tobiah’s doubts were overshadowed for the sake of their romance.

There were so many twists in the whole series and I loved it all. There were times when I knew something was about to happen or something was a little off, but I never expected the book to break my heart so many times. There wasn’t much recapping done so re-reading The Orphan Queen, or at least refreshing on it, before picking up this one might be a good idea.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Moon & Shadow: A tale of Liamec (Tales of Liamec Book 1)
 
4.3
"Overall, This book was different from anything I've read in a while. It was more like a folktale which was..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
5.0
"I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"When Aislinn and Catriona are taken into the fae realm, their fate falls into the hands of a broody prince/rightful..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.8
"The story: A Viking, Liv has earned her shield and is set to take her place as a shield..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.5
"For those who can't get enough of Vikings, Norse Mythology, and kick-butt female leads, this one is for you. ..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance...."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."