Forest of Ruin (Age of Legends #3)

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
1459 0
611GPSTk+nL__SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 05, 2016
ISBN
978-0062071309
Buy This Book
      

Perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones, this is the breathtaking conclusion to the Age of Legends trilogy—from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong. The empire rests on the edge of a knife, and sisters Ashyn and Moria are the handle and the blade. Desperate to outmaneuver the evil Alvar Kitsune, whose hold on the people grows stronger every day, Emperor Tatsu begs Moria to put aside past grievances and ally with Gavril—at least long enough to make an attempt on Alvar's life. Meanwhile, reunited with her long-lost grandfather, Ashyn discovers that she is the key to a ritual that could reawaken an ancient dragon and turn the tide of the coming battle in their favor. But with lies and betrayal lurking around every corner, Ashyn and Moria will have to decide once and for all where their allegiances lie. And it may not be where their hearts would lead them. . . . In this third and final book in her epic and enchanting trilogy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong blends fantasy, action, and romance to give readers the unforgettable ending they've been waiting for.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Action packed conclusion
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
In this third and final installment in the Age of Legends trilogy, Moria and Ashyn are desperate to defeat Alvar Kitsune and rescue the empire and their village’s children. While Moria must force a tentative alliance with Gavril in effort to take Alvar down, Ashyn is reunited with a grandfather she never knew who believes she is the key to a special ritual. With deception and danger all around them, the twins will have to watch their backs if they want to stay alive.

What I Loved:

Ever since I read the first book in this series, I’ve both dreaded and anticipated the last book. I wanted so badly to find out what happens to the characters I love so much, but I also never wanted their story to end. This final book delivers all the action expected from the previous two books and more. Moria and Ashyn still face some of the dangers of previous books, such as the shadow stalkers, but a few new creatures are introduced, adding to the rich world building. The dragons are hands down my favorite addition.
The plot twists seem somewhat less than previous books, but their impacts are just as big. The plot twist during the climax is one of my favorites, showing real emotional sacrifice from one character. The ending answers all major questions for the most part, though it does wrap up a little quickly.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As powerful and intense as the action is, it wasn’t well balanced with the emotional side of the story. Most of the characters’ reactions feel a bit rushed over, and I had a harder time connecting with the characters this time because of that. However, readers who are primarily in for the action will definitely not be disappointed.
Alongside that, specifically Ashyn’s side of the story comes across as neglected. Her character does grow, but her chapters are so spread out between Moria’s that it doesn’t feel as strong. The plot almost seems to leave her behind as Moria, Gavril, and Tyrus are focused on. The sister bond between Moria and Ashyn that was so well established in the first book is significantly missing from this one, and one sister isn’t even present during the big climatic scene.

Final Verdict:

Though the lack of developed emotion and imbalance of the sisters’ sides are disappointing, FOREST OF RUIN captures the intense action, rich world building, and fiery romance that Kelley Armstrong fans expect and adore.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll...
The Last Summer
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the first eleven years of their lives, neighbors Lila...
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with...
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America...
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a powerful novel in verse, an award-winning author offers...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Anger, hurt, and rejection threaten Joshua’s ability to save the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bernita, a teenager from a prominent South American family, knows...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How do you fix a computer glitch that disappears before...
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...

Latest Member Reviews

Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
""Written" by dwarf Nord Diggums with contributions from experts in the field of magical creatures such as Professor Ivana Therey..."
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
"Short story collections are hard to review, especially when one includes so many fantastic authors! My students will be glad..."
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
"DANIELA AND THE PIRATE GIRLS is a fun high-seas adventure about helping others and making new friends. Daniela is the..."
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
"CHILD OF GALAXIES is a lovely poem about life and the broad meaning of it all. The poem begins by..."
Shy Ones
 
5.0
"SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is..."
Once Upon an Eid
 
5.0
"This collection has a wide variety of stories about different aspects of Eid, and is particularly poignant during this time..."
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
"Ollie is in 6th grade and is small for his age. His older brother, Hollis, is in 8th, and has..."
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
"RAGWEED AND POPPY is an interesting middle grade novel that follows Ragweed, a mouse who is on a journey. Ragweed..."
The Right Place
 
3.5
"THE RIGHT PLACE is a picture book that stresses the importance of friends and home. Squirrel wakes up after a..."
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
"I'M SORRY! is a fantastic picture book about apologizing and compromise. Swoop and Scribble are an owl and squirrel who..."
It's Impossible!
 
4.0
"IT'S IMPOSSIBLE! is a delightful road trip picture book that asserts things are only impossible if you say that they..."
The More We Get Together
 
5.0
"THE MORE WE GET TOGETHER takes the song and adds verses about how children can change the world. The book..."
Good Night, Moon 123 / Buenas Noches, Luna 123: A Counting Book / Un Libro para Contar
 
3.5
"GOODNIGHT, MOON 123 / BUENAS NOCHES, LUNA 123 is a fun counting book themed from the bedtime favorite, GOODNIGHT MOON...."
The Hideout
 
5.0
"If you are a fan of “Where the Wild Things Are” you will love “The Hideout” written by Susanna Mattiangeli..."
Circus Girl
 
3.0
"CIRCUS GIRL is a book about Sky, who dreams of being the star of the circus. The book begins when..."
A Friend for Bear
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BEAR is a beautifully illustrated picture book about needing to slow down and enjoy life. Bear has..."
Up and Down Mom
 
5.0
"UP AND DOWN MOM is a really well done picture book about having a parent with bipolar disorder. The book..."
Gloria's Big Problem
 
3.0
"GLORIA'S BIG PROBLEM is about anxiety in children. Gloria's anxiety manifests as this large green being who follows her around..."
Zoom: Space Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: SPACE ADVENTURE is a fun journey through outer space with Ava. Ava is going on a space adventure, and..."
Escape Goat
 
5.0
"ESCAPE GOAT is an adorable picture book that ultimately teaches about scapegoating and the need for honesty. The goat lives..."