Miss Smithers

 
5.0
 
3.0 (4)
2388 0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0060515465
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Alice is Back!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
I must have been having a mental breakdown of some kind when I first picked up Miss Smithers, because I didnt realize right away that it was Susan Jubys sequel to Alice, I Think until I was a chapter or so in. I was sitting there thinking, Wow, this reminds me of that other great book I read a year or so ago, what was it again? when I took another look at the cover and realized what was going on.

I really liked Alice the first time I read about her, and I like her even more now. Shes still just as zany and out there as before, though no longer quite as socially isolated as she was. After all, shes got a boyfriend (Goose) and a friend (George, who happens to be a girl, thank you very much), and has been entered by one of her parents strange friends into the Miss Smithers pageant.

The best part about the pageant is the $400 dollar clothing allowance, but I wont tell you what Alice spends it on. Or exactly how it is that she alienates both Goose and George, finds herself mixed up with some devout churchgoers, or how she drags her brother off to eat at a steak restaurant (not so stunning until you realize that theyve been vegetarians for quite some time).

Im not sure if its a sign that Im as quirky as Alice or not, but we do listen to the same music, though Ive never worn a pair of leather pants. Come to think of it, Ive never had my zine prematurely published either, though I have taken martial arts classes. Just goes to show you that theres a bit of oddness in all of us.

I recommend this book for teens 14 and up, and especially for those girls out there (you know who you are) that are dancing to a different tune than the rest of the world.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Great Sequel to Alice, I Think!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ambeen

I was looking for a book that would keep me laughing, and I found it! It wasn't as laugh out loud hilarious as Alice, I Think, but I still had to keep myself from laughing to much when reading in front of other people. I think I enjoy this series so much because Alice is just an average normal girl. She doesn't have any superpowers or circumstances that make her stand out. She's just an average girl with fairly average experiences. I also love that she doesn't think she's pretty or anything but it's not this huge deal. She's not constantly whining about not being pretty like it seems a lot of the main characters do in YA novels. I highly recommend this series for a hilarious and relatable (without being whiny) read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
More Alice
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Tif

In this sequel to Alice, I Think, 16-year-old Alice MacLeod begins to emerge from her life as an outsider and misfit as she makes new friends and tries new things, including eating meat, drinking, and entering the Miss Smithers pageant. This is a fun, light novel that takes the reader inside the crazy world of Alice, raised by hippie parents and home-schooled for most of her life. The small town setting is another thing that makes this book interesting and unique. Despite the stylistic similarities to other books about the misadventures of teen girls trying to fit in, Miss Smithers stands out. Its the perfect book to take along on a summer road trip. Fans of Alice, I Think wont want to miss this second novel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Boring!
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Stella

Alice, I Think is the story of a quirky girl from Northern British Columbia, who is a serious fashion disaster! Alice tries out for the Miss Smithers competition in her home town, and the story is mainly about her innocent antics.

I found myself forcing myself to finish this book! The characters were so unrelatable and the story line had no kick to it! Sorry!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Alice Macleod: Pageant Contestant
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by linda

If you liked Alice, I think you'll love this book in which Alice enters the Miss Smithers Pageant. Alice makes us realize not everyone has the skills we take for granted, such as the ability to cut a steak and to not spend $4oo on leather pants. Alice takes a trip down memory lane while watching the antics of the other contestants. She, also, makes some new friends when she joins a Christian group and a self-defense class. Will this home schooled vegetarian ever become a normal girl? And more importantly will she win the pageant? You've gotta read to find out.
Reprinted here with author's permission
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher, Charlie...
Serious Moonlight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After an awkward first encounter, Birdie and Daniel are forced...
Sway
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kat Spears’s hilarious and often poignant debut, high school...
Scarlet Epstein Hates it Here
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online...
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with...
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adam is living the dream, literally.... There are two...
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Since Skye Reilly can remember, she has been looking...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history,...
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becks: How does a straight guy accidentally come out...
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young adult anthology featuring fictional stories of everyday...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonardo Cantrell is a painfully shy sixteen-year-old who cannot look...
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, sweet story of unrequited friendship from the creator...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lena and Campbell aren't friends. ...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The youngest doctor in America, an Indian-American teen makes her...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons was...

Latest Member Reviews

The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
 
4.3
"I started out reading an ARC of Symptoms of a Heartbreak, but then I switched to reading a hardcover in..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.3
"I’m going to start out this post by letting it be known by all and sundry that I was provided..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
"SICK KIDS IN LOVE is a beautiful story about love- as well as invisible illness/disability AND NOBODY DIES! (I do..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."
Frankly in Love
 
5.0
"FRANKLY IN LOVE is a surprisingly deep and heartfelt read. Although it is described as a rom-com, this is not..."
American Royals
 
4.7
"What if at the end of America’s Revolutionary War, George Washington was offered a crown and what if he said..."
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
"This is the type of book I’d like to see included in school curriculums. The stories are like wide open..."
When the Stars Lead to You
 
4.7
"WHEN THE STARS LED TO YOU is quite the emotional YA contemporary. While on the surface it seems like a..."
We Are the Perfect Girl
 
3.3
"'We Are the Perfect Girl' by Ariel Kaplan is a Cyrano De Bergerac style story. There are a host of..."
Stranger Things: Runaway Max
 
4.7
"'Stranger Things: Runaway Max' by Brenna Yovanoff provides an intriguing look into Max's life before and during her time in..."
Crown of Oblivion
 
5.0
"Engrossing and completely thrilling, CROWN OF OBLIVION is a fantastic new YA fantasy that I highly recommend. Dealing with themes..."
 
4.7
"Four very different high school girls plan to spend one month together in GIRLS OF JULY, and they each have..."
 
3.0
"BETWEEN WORLDS: FOLKTALES OF BRITAIN AND IRELAND is a collection of short stories that have been passed down over centuries..."