Miss Smithers

 
5.0
 
3.0 (4)
2450 0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0060515465
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Alice is Back!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
I must have been having a mental breakdown of some kind when I first picked up Miss Smithers, because I didnt realize right away that it was Susan Jubys sequel to Alice, I Think until I was a chapter or so in. I was sitting there thinking, Wow, this reminds me of that other great book I read a year or so ago, what was it again? when I took another look at the cover and realized what was going on.

I really liked Alice the first time I read about her, and I like her even more now. Shes still just as zany and out there as before, though no longer quite as socially isolated as she was. After all, shes got a boyfriend (Goose) and a friend (George, who happens to be a girl, thank you very much), and has been entered by one of her parents strange friends into the Miss Smithers pageant.

The best part about the pageant is the $400 dollar clothing allowance, but I wont tell you what Alice spends it on. Or exactly how it is that she alienates both Goose and George, finds herself mixed up with some devout churchgoers, or how she drags her brother off to eat at a steak restaurant (not so stunning until you realize that theyve been vegetarians for quite some time).

Im not sure if its a sign that Im as quirky as Alice or not, but we do listen to the same music, though Ive never worn a pair of leather pants. Come to think of it, Ive never had my zine prematurely published either, though I have taken martial arts classes. Just goes to show you that theres a bit of oddness in all of us.

I recommend this book for teens 14 and up, and especially for those girls out there (you know who you are) that are dancing to a different tune than the rest of the world.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Great Sequel to Alice, I Think!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ambeen

I was looking for a book that would keep me laughing, and I found it! It wasn't as laugh out loud hilarious as Alice, I Think, but I still had to keep myself from laughing to much when reading in front of other people. I think I enjoy this series so much because Alice is just an average normal girl. She doesn't have any superpowers or circumstances that make her stand out. She's just an average girl with fairly average experiences. I also love that she doesn't think she's pretty or anything but it's not this huge deal. She's not constantly whining about not being pretty like it seems a lot of the main characters do in YA novels. I highly recommend this series for a hilarious and relatable (without being whiny) read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
More Alice
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Tif

In this sequel to Alice, I Think, 16-year-old Alice MacLeod begins to emerge from her life as an outsider and misfit as she makes new friends and tries new things, including eating meat, drinking, and entering the Miss Smithers pageant. This is a fun, light novel that takes the reader inside the crazy world of Alice, raised by hippie parents and home-schooled for most of her life. The small town setting is another thing that makes this book interesting and unique. Despite the stylistic similarities to other books about the misadventures of teen girls trying to fit in, Miss Smithers stands out. Its the perfect book to take along on a summer road trip. Fans of Alice, I Think wont want to miss this second novel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Boring!
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Stella

Alice, I Think is the story of a quirky girl from Northern British Columbia, who is a serious fashion disaster! Alice tries out for the Miss Smithers competition in her home town, and the story is mainly about her innocent antics.

I found myself forcing myself to finish this book! The characters were so unrelatable and the story line had no kick to it! Sorry!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Alice Macleod: Pageant Contestant
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by linda

If you liked Alice, I think you'll love this book in which Alice enters the Miss Smithers Pageant. Alice makes us realize not everyone has the skills we take for granted, such as the ability to cut a steak and to not spend $4oo on leather pants. Alice takes a trip down memory lane while watching the antics of the other contestants. She, also, makes some new friends when she joins a Christian group and a self-defense class. Will this home schooled vegetarian ever become a normal girl? And more importantly will she win the pageant? You've gotta read to find out.
Reprinted here with author's permission
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Faith has always known she was different and her...
The Mall
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Poems to Live Your Life By, Chris Riddell, political...
The Claires
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four beautiful girls. Quadruplets. They are not identical.But each is...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo,...
What He Hides
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She wants the truth... or does she? They say...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King,...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"more forgetting time. more midnight dances with yourself."...
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
It’s been years since eighteen-year-old Becca Hart believed in...
More Than His Best Friend
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
She’s got a strict rule against dating. Could her...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...

Latest Member Reviews

TBH, This is SO Awkward
 
4.0
"'TBH, This is SO Awkward: A Novel in Text' by Lisa Greenwald is quite interesting in that it is written..."
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."