Miss Smithers

 
5.0
 
3.0 (4)
2403 0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0060515465
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Alice is Back!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
I must have been having a mental breakdown of some kind when I first picked up Miss Smithers, because I didnt realize right away that it was Susan Jubys sequel to Alice, I Think until I was a chapter or so in. I was sitting there thinking, Wow, this reminds me of that other great book I read a year or so ago, what was it again? when I took another look at the cover and realized what was going on.

I really liked Alice the first time I read about her, and I like her even more now. Shes still just as zany and out there as before, though no longer quite as socially isolated as she was. After all, shes got a boyfriend (Goose) and a friend (George, who happens to be a girl, thank you very much), and has been entered by one of her parents strange friends into the Miss Smithers pageant.

The best part about the pageant is the $400 dollar clothing allowance, but I wont tell you what Alice spends it on. Or exactly how it is that she alienates both Goose and George, finds herself mixed up with some devout churchgoers, or how she drags her brother off to eat at a steak restaurant (not so stunning until you realize that theyve been vegetarians for quite some time).

Im not sure if its a sign that Im as quirky as Alice or not, but we do listen to the same music, though Ive never worn a pair of leather pants. Come to think of it, Ive never had my zine prematurely published either, though I have taken martial arts classes. Just goes to show you that theres a bit of oddness in all of us.

I recommend this book for teens 14 and up, and especially for those girls out there (you know who you are) that are dancing to a different tune than the rest of the world.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Great Sequel to Alice, I Think!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ambeen

I was looking for a book that would keep me laughing, and I found it! It wasn't as laugh out loud hilarious as Alice, I Think, but I still had to keep myself from laughing to much when reading in front of other people. I think I enjoy this series so much because Alice is just an average normal girl. She doesn't have any superpowers or circumstances that make her stand out. She's just an average girl with fairly average experiences. I also love that she doesn't think she's pretty or anything but it's not this huge deal. She's not constantly whining about not being pretty like it seems a lot of the main characters do in YA novels. I highly recommend this series for a hilarious and relatable (without being whiny) read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
More Alice
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Tif

In this sequel to Alice, I Think, 16-year-old Alice MacLeod begins to emerge from her life as an outsider and misfit as she makes new friends and tries new things, including eating meat, drinking, and entering the Miss Smithers pageant. This is a fun, light novel that takes the reader inside the crazy world of Alice, raised by hippie parents and home-schooled for most of her life. The small town setting is another thing that makes this book interesting and unique. Despite the stylistic similarities to other books about the misadventures of teen girls trying to fit in, Miss Smithers stands out. Its the perfect book to take along on a summer road trip. Fans of Alice, I Think wont want to miss this second novel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Boring!
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Stella

Alice, I Think is the story of a quirky girl from Northern British Columbia, who is a serious fashion disaster! Alice tries out for the Miss Smithers competition in her home town, and the story is mainly about her innocent antics.

I found myself forcing myself to finish this book! The characters were so unrelatable and the story line had no kick to it! Sorry!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Alice Macleod: Pageant Contestant
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by linda

If you liked Alice, I think you'll love this book in which Alice enters the Miss Smithers Pageant. Alice makes us realize not everyone has the skills we take for granted, such as the ability to cut a steak and to not spend $4oo on leather pants. Alice takes a trip down memory lane while watching the antics of the other contestants. She, also, makes some new friends when she joins a Christian group and a self-defense class. Will this home schooled vegetarian ever become a normal girl? And more importantly will she win the pageant? You've gotta read to find out.
Reprinted here with author's permission
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...
The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
Creep
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The haunting tale of a family that moves into...
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher,...
The Last of the Firedrakes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She never felt like she belonged…until magic pulled her...

Latest Member Reviews

Roll With It
 
5.0
"Ellie and her mother live in Nashville; her father left when she was young and has another family. Ellie loves..."
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
 
4.0
"Zoe lives in Boston with her mother and stepfather. Her best friend, Trevor, lives next door, but as summer starts,..."
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
"Nizhoni Begay struggles a bit. She manages to embarrass herself on the basketball court, watches out for her younger brother..."
That's What Friends Do
 
4.0
"Sammie and David have been good friends ever since the girls in her class started avoiding Sammie because she didn't..."
Catherine's War
 
5.0
"Catherine is living at the Sèvres Children's Home since both of her parents were taken. It has a progessive school,..."
Speed Demon
 
5.0
"Tim has recently moved to town and is starting ninth grade at Hilton Prep. During gym class one day, his..."
Dangerous Alliance
 
3.7
"Lady Victoria 'Vicky' Aston has a good life. Her older sister is married to a charming Viscount; her family estate..."
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
"Gina and Stacy are twins who play for rival baseball teams. This flows off the field into intense and sometimes..."
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"DINOSNORES is another absolutely charming and delightfully ridiculous board book from Sandra Boynton. Here, the dinosaurs get ready for bed,..."
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
"GOOD DAY, GOOD NIGHT follows a bunny on his journey from sun-up to sunset, as he travels around town, plays..."
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
"TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as..."
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
"This gorgeous board book celebrates the parent-child bond in an absolutely stunning way. I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER suggests that..."
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
"Babies and toddlers will love the colorful celebration of Christmas in this delightful board book. MY BABY LOVES CHRISTMAS is..."
Riverland
 
4.0
"RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
"CHRISTMAS CHEER FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG talks about everything exciting Christmas has to offer. There's snowflakes, fires, bells, presents, stockings,..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
 
5.0
"In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki is disgusted when he finds out that his pen-pal Charlie is a girl. Still, they..."
Under the Snow
 
5.0
"When you see snow, you think of how pretty it is or how cold it is. UNDER THE SNOW opens..."