The Vault of Dreamers

 
4.0
 
3.3 (1)
915 0
The Vault of Dreamers
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 16, 2014
ISBN
978-1596439382
Buy This Book
      
The Forge School is the most prestigious arts school in the country. The secret to its success: every moment of the students' lives is televised as part of the insanely popular Forge Show, and the students' schedule includes twelve hours of induced sleep meant to enhance creativity. But when first year student Rosie Sinclair skips her sleeping pill, she discovers there is something off about Forge. In fact, she suspects that there are sinister things going on deep below the reaches of the cameras in the school. What's worse is, she starts to notice that the ridges of her consciousness do not feel quite right. And soon, she unearths the ghastly secret that the Forge School is hiding―and what it truly means to dream there.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Vault of Dreamers
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Rosie Sinclair wants to be part of the cut of special students who will be chosen to stay at the prestigious Forge School of Arts. Here their lives are televised and their blimp rating determines if they stay, get financial backing from sponsors, and other perks. But something isn't quite right with the school. One night Rosie is defiant and doesn't take the nightly sleeping pill but instead is awake when she notices strange things happening. There's a whole different world operating behind the cameras. She doesn't know who or what to trust.

What worked: There's a scary twist in this YA meets UnReal. The students are privileged and talented. During the day their every move is recorded life but at night? That's where something else is happening.

Rosie is from a poorer area and staying at the school means she has a way out of a dead-end future. Her struggles to stay and to find out what's really going on follow her throughout this story. I liked how she tried to 'fit' in with the school but can't silence the curiosity that won't leave.

The beginning of this novel sets up the world of Forge School and the televised background. Everything is recorded for TV viewers. They rate each student. This was fascinating but I felt the novel didn't really start moving until Rosie and Linus try to figure out what's going on. Linus is a worker at Forge School with his own secrets. These secrets do have something to do with the school.

Linus and her relationship is more of the forbidden type especially as he's only a staff kitchen worker. He plays on her desire to up her blimp scores by kissing and meeting up with her. I know I was confused on what his real intentions might be.

Then there is brainy Burnham who's parents are the inventors of the sleeping pill the student's take every night. Rosie and his relationship is hot and cold. I admit, I wanted to see more of them together.

The whole premise of a school that mines dreams of students without their knowledge is sinister and gives this dystopia novel more of a horror feel. The psychological horror is reveal at the climax of the story.

The one thing I did want was more action and reveals to come sooner in the novel. The backstory of other characters including ones that didn't make the cut to stay? I felt those parts slowed down an otherwise very intriguing story.

Intriguing dystopian YA meets Reality TV with sinister undertones. What is real and what is a dream? How far would you go to follow a dream? I can't wait to find out Rosie and Linus's fate in the sequel!
Good Points
1.Reality Show meets dystopian horror
2. World where dreams are mined
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
An Interesting Premise
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I used to read a lot about how to write well and I always saw people talking about how the first 10 pages really count. As an author, you have 10 pages to capture a reader before they decide whether or not they want to continue. This book definitely piqued my interest in less than the first 10 pages.

The love interest in this book is boring. I mean, it all started with some random kiss and they just started liking each other? There's a lack of passion so instead of making it a believable relationship, I just sort of roll my eyes at every scene they have together. It's dull, so why should I care?

Around 200 pages, I'm still unsure of the whole thing. I don't feel the suspense I believe I should be experiencing. There's only a simple curiosity as to what is happening at night and while that's enough to keep me looking for the answer, it would be the complete opposite for others.

The fact that she's still all over this love interest after a betrayal is absolutely astounding. Honestly, I can't get behind it. To me, it's unrealistic. My ass would have told them off and walked away long before anything else happened.

Overall, the premise was really interesting. For most of the book, I didn't feel the suspense or excitement I believe I should have been feeling. It felt like there was no real danger until near the end. It didn't have me staring hardcore at the pages as I read like I hoped it would do. The ending was not satisfying at all… instead of answering any questions I had, it left me with more and while I know there are books that follow, I would prefer to have SOME answers before it ends. While the book as a whole was bland, the gist of it is intriguing and enough so to warrant me coming back to read the next book. We'll see how it plays out then.
Good Points
1. The plot was extremely intriguing.
2. Reality show art school is pretty cool.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."