Starflight

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.0 (1)
1642 1
Starflight
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 02, 2016
ISBN
978-1484723241
Buy This Book
      

Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. The outer realm may be lawless, but it's not like the law has ever been on her side. Still, off-world travel doesn't come cheap; Solara is left with no choice but to indenture herself in exchange for passage to the outer realm. She just wishes it could have been to anyone besides Doran Spaulding, the rich, pretty-boy quarterback who made her life miserable in school. The tables suddenly turn when Doran is framed for conspiracy on Earth, and Solara cons him into playing the role of her servant on board the Banshee, a ship manned by an eccentric crew with their own secrets. Given the price on both Doran and Solara's heads, it may just be the safest place in the universe. It's been a long time since Solara has believed in anyone, and Doran is the last person she expected to trust. But when the Banshee's dangerous enemies catch up with them, Solara and Doran must come together to protect the ship that has become their home-and the eccentric crew that feels like family.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Starflight
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Solara needs to get to the outer realm where she hopes to make a fresh start. Then she runs into arrogant, rich, Doran Spaulding who made her life miserable while in school. But beggars can't be choosers and when Doran offers her a chance to indenture herself in exchange for passage? She takes it. Then the tables are switched and Doran is now the one in trouble. Add some intergalactic pirates, a eccentric crew with their own secrets, and a mega twist.

What worked: I loved this novel that is filled with adventure, intergalactic travel, rowdy space pirates, and a crew that reminded me a lot of Firefly.

Solara is tough and when she's able to switch tables on Doran? She does it but that doesn't mean she's totally happy. I love how her exterior is peeled back to see her vulnerabilities. The world hasn't been too kind to her. Being raised in an orphanage and then getting mixed up with the wrong crowd could have hardened her but readers are able to glimpse more.

Doran is the typical spoiled rich kid but when his world changes? He rolls with it without being whiny or annoying. The chemistry between Solara and Doran heats up later in the story. They realize they have to help each other in order to survive. I couldn't help but think that that chemistry was always there but Doran pushed it aside because of pride. But when his wealth and family are taken away? He can only rely on himself, which is hard at first for him.

One of my favorite characters in this story has to be the intergalactic pirate ship! The banter between Solara, Doran, and the chief pirate, Demarkus is filled with humor. Demarkus is over seven feet tall and packs a powerful punch. Readers can't help but like him as he warns Doran--during a fight for Solara--that he'll go easy on him. I can almost picture a rugged pirate with a twinkle in his eye.

There's lots of action especially at the climax of the story which ends with a twisty plot.

There is really only a couple things I wanted more of. I wanted more interaction with the pirate ship and those pirates. It would be fun to see some of the women pirates too.

I hope there might be more in this story! It would be so much fun to revisit them and see what other intergalactic travels and people they'd encounter.

Fun intergalactic romp where YA world meets Firefly with equally engaging characters. The space ship Banshee with it's eccentric crew is one that readers will love to be a part of.


Good Points
1. Fun intergalactic romp complete with space pirates!
2. YA world meets Firefly
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Addicting sci-fi
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
All Solara Brooks wanted was passage to the outer realm but to get that, she must become the indentured servant yo spoiled Doran Spaulding for the duration of the trip. Circumstances land them on a vessel named the Banshee instead of their spaceliner, the Zenith, and Solara and Doran are forced to work together, and with the crew of the Banshee, in order to avoid the people suddenly pursuing them. If they can avoid prosecution, they have a chance at learning the truth and exposing the people who set them up, and maybe changing the lives of everyone in the universe.

I was really excited for this book because I love sci-fi, especially when it involves a group of misfits becoming like a family. It was an entertaining read with a lot of action, growth, and characters I really enjoyed reading about. I can see why it was pitched as “Overboard” meets “Firefly”.

The book was told in the two POVs of Solara and Doran. The contrast between the two main characters was interesting. Solara was an orphan who had to beg for passage in order to get to the outer realm and find a job to survive while Doran was the spoiled, rich kid who loved tormenting her as her sole means of getting that passage. Solara was easy to like. She was dealt lousy circumstances in life but she was determined to do whatever she had to do to make a life for herself. She could be ruthless if she needed to be but she also cared about other people, especially those she considered friends. Doran, on the other hand, was extremely easy to dislike at first. Not only was he spoiled but he was a bully and seemed to have no concern for those he deemed unworthy of his time. It took time and growth for him to turn into someone I could root for as a character but I ended up really liking his development.

There were so many great side characters in this book that made it such a great read. The whole crew of the Banshee was amazing and I would have read an entire book of just them sitting around the dinner table playing their games and teasing each other. It was highly entertaining.

The plot was a little slow at first, mostly to set up for what would happen later. It wasn’t boring and I did enjoy it. It gave me a good idea of just how brutal the world was and why characters would have to go through such lengths to protect themselves. The romance was definitely slow burn. There was a lot of hurt feelings and trust issues between Solara and Doran that it seemed impossible for them to become anything more than allies at some points, but there was always chemistry even when they wanted to deny it. The last third of the book was extremely action packed that it was impossible to even think of setting the book down and there may have been a few times when I stopped breathing for a few seconds.

Overall, I really enjoyed it and I’m glad I don’t have to say goodbye to these characters yet because there is a companion novel coming out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
"TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT is an unexpected YA contemporary read, told from three perspectives. Kat, Stevie, and Teri are all..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."