Starflight

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.0 (1)
1345 1
Starflight
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 02, 2016
ISBN
978-1484723241
Buy This Book
      

Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. The outer realm may be lawless, but it's not like the law has ever been on her side. Still, off-world travel doesn't come cheap; Solara is left with no choice but to indenture herself in exchange for passage to the outer realm. She just wishes it could have been to anyone besides Doran Spaulding, the rich, pretty-boy quarterback who made her life miserable in school. The tables suddenly turn when Doran is framed for conspiracy on Earth, and Solara cons him into playing the role of her servant on board the Banshee, a ship manned by an eccentric crew with their own secrets. Given the price on both Doran and Solara's heads, it may just be the safest place in the universe. It's been a long time since Solara has believed in anyone, and Doran is the last person she expected to trust. But when the Banshee's dangerous enemies catch up with them, Solara and Doran must come together to protect the ship that has become their home-and the eccentric crew that feels like family.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Starflight
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Solara needs to get to the outer realm where she hopes to make a fresh start. Then she runs into arrogant, rich, Doran Spaulding who made her life miserable while in school. But beggars can't be choosers and when Doran offers her a chance to indenture herself in exchange for passage? She takes it. Then the tables are switched and Doran is now the one in trouble. Add some intergalactic pirates, a eccentric crew with their own secrets, and a mega twist.

What worked: I loved this novel that is filled with adventure, intergalactic travel, rowdy space pirates, and a crew that reminded me a lot of Firefly.

Solara is tough and when she's able to switch tables on Doran? She does it but that doesn't mean she's totally happy. I love how her exterior is peeled back to see her vulnerabilities. The world hasn't been too kind to her. Being raised in an orphanage and then getting mixed up with the wrong crowd could have hardened her but readers are able to glimpse more.

Doran is the typical spoiled rich kid but when his world changes? He rolls with it without being whiny or annoying. The chemistry between Solara and Doran heats up later in the story. They realize they have to help each other in order to survive. I couldn't help but think that that chemistry was always there but Doran pushed it aside because of pride. But when his wealth and family are taken away? He can only rely on himself, which is hard at first for him.

One of my favorite characters in this story has to be the intergalactic pirate ship! The banter between Solara, Doran, and the chief pirate, Demarkus is filled with humor. Demarkus is over seven feet tall and packs a powerful punch. Readers can't help but like him as he warns Doran--during a fight for Solara--that he'll go easy on him. I can almost picture a rugged pirate with a twinkle in his eye.

There's lots of action especially at the climax of the story which ends with a twisty plot.

There is really only a couple things I wanted more of. I wanted more interaction with the pirate ship and those pirates. It would be fun to see some of the women pirates too.

I hope there might be more in this story! It would be so much fun to revisit them and see what other intergalactic travels and people they'd encounter.

Fun intergalactic romp where YA world meets Firefly with equally engaging characters. The space ship Banshee with it's eccentric crew is one that readers will love to be a part of.


Good Points
1. Fun intergalactic romp complete with space pirates!
2. YA world meets Firefly
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Addicting sci-fi
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
All Solara Brooks wanted was passage to the outer realm but to get that, she must become the indentured servant yo spoiled Doran Spaulding for the duration of the trip. Circumstances land them on a vessel named the Banshee instead of their spaceliner, the Zenith, and Solara and Doran are forced to work together, and with the crew of the Banshee, in order to avoid the people suddenly pursuing them. If they can avoid prosecution, they have a chance at learning the truth and exposing the people who set them up, and maybe changing the lives of everyone in the universe.

I was really excited for this book because I love sci-fi, especially when it involves a group of misfits becoming like a family. It was an entertaining read with a lot of action, growth, and characters I really enjoyed reading about. I can see why it was pitched as “Overboard” meets “Firefly”.

The book was told in the two POVs of Solara and Doran. The contrast between the two main characters was interesting. Solara was an orphan who had to beg for passage in order to get to the outer realm and find a job to survive while Doran was the spoiled, rich kid who loved tormenting her as her sole means of getting that passage. Solara was easy to like. She was dealt lousy circumstances in life but she was determined to do whatever she had to do to make a life for herself. She could be ruthless if she needed to be but she also cared about other people, especially those she considered friends. Doran, on the other hand, was extremely easy to dislike at first. Not only was he spoiled but he was a bully and seemed to have no concern for those he deemed unworthy of his time. It took time and growth for him to turn into someone I could root for as a character but I ended up really liking his development.

There were so many great side characters in this book that made it such a great read. The whole crew of the Banshee was amazing and I would have read an entire book of just them sitting around the dinner table playing their games and teasing each other. It was highly entertaining.

The plot was a little slow at first, mostly to set up for what would happen later. It wasn’t boring and I did enjoy it. It gave me a good idea of just how brutal the world was and why characters would have to go through such lengths to protect themselves. The romance was definitely slow burn. There was a lot of hurt feelings and trust issues between Solara and Doran that it seemed impossible for them to become anything more than allies at some points, but there was always chemistry even when they wanted to deny it. The last third of the book was extremely action packed that it was impossible to even think of setting the book down and there may have been a few times when I stopped breathing for a few seconds.

Overall, I really enjoyed it and I’m glad I don’t have to say goodbye to these characters yet because there is a companion novel coming out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake
 
4.0
"'Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake' by Seven Steps is a story of friendship lost and found between main characters..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
4.8
"'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't..."
Igloo High
 
3.8
"'Igloo High' by Jacinthe Dessureault has many of the typical aspects that young adult novels contain, including a popular girl,..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
"This was a sweet high school love story centered around basketball and missed intentions. What I liked: ..."
The Kilwade Tragedy
 
5.0
"Before I start this review, I do want to let you all know that this book is trigger heavy. The..."
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
" What I loved: The cover, obviously, is gorgeous and eye catching. Skye's character is a genuine..."
Kismet and Karma
 
5.0
"The other side of the story. The Story: We finally get to see just what happened..."
Fate and Fortune
 
5.0
"Such a cute story. The Story: Paige is heartbroken after her boyfriend of two years..."
Oberon Academy Book One: The Orphan
 
4.5
"This is a promising start to an exciting new fae series! What I loved: The writing style is..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
3.8
"When Bea's best friend Katherine and twin brother Atticus start dating, she feels betrayed and can't stand to see them..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Addison and Julian have history between them that neither like to talk about. Things changed after that fateful night of..."
The Culling
 
5.0
"Grant and his sister Stevie are on their own, trying to survive in a desolate bayou with limited food sources...."
Darkblood Academy
 
5.0
"With the integration of the human and supernatural worlds, things are bound to get crazy. Luna never thought she was..."
Hitched: The Bachelorette
 
5.0
" When Kimmie-Jayne lands the role on Hitched, she's thrilled that her dreams of acting are coming true. She's..."
Hunter's Truce
 
4.0
"I love retellings--it's kind of my thing--and this was a new one for me. I haven't read a Three Little..."
Adaptive
 
5.0
"Reactive was one of my favorite books of 2018, and I think it is safe to say Adaptive is going..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
5.0
"“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Oh, boy. Where to start… Like the first two books, I absolutely loved The C World. The authors have done..."
After: After Zombie Series Book 1
 
4.8
"I love zombies. I never thought I’d say that. I’m not a horror reader, and in my opinion, zombies fall..."