The Summer Marked

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1153 0
summer marked.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 22, 2015
ISBN
978-1633750098
Buy This Book
      
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to be home from college for Thanksgiving. All she needs is a rebound guy, a box of chocolates, and some girl time with her best friend, Salome. Problem is, Salome isn't returning her calls, and her family won't say where she is. Feeling sorry for herself, Kadie ends up at Club Blade, a place filled with pumping music, dangerous guys, and promises of a good time. However, when midnight strikes, Kadie's fun turns into a nightmare as she's ripped from the human world into Faerie by a vengeful Winter Prince named Etienne. For the first time in her life, she realizes the monsters Salome always spoke of are real, and they'll stop at nothing to destroy her friend.

Salome thought the winter curse was behind her. But winter has left its mark. Not just on her, but on the whole summer court. The Kingdom of Summer is falling apart, and Nevin is hanging onto his throne by a thread. With war on his doorstep, he has no choice but to send Gareth into enemy territory, which means Salome will be left alone―vulnerable in a world she doesn't understand. A place where beauty is deadly and humans are pawns in the macabre games the Fae play. Both Kadie and Salome will have to call on all their strength to survive in a world where humans aren't meant to be. With death and enemies all around them, it'll be a miracle if they can survive.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Swoony, saucy, and oh so scintillating
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Okay, let’s circle up and talk guilty pleasure reads for a moment. If you have not read any of the YA books that Entangled Publishing puts out, you have done yourself a disservice. Seriously. They put the “O, man!” in Romance, and with a saucy flare. That being said, THE SUMMER MARKED by Rebekah Purdy is right up there on my list for guilty pleasure reads. As the second installment after The Winter People, The Summer Marked is nothing short of swoony, saucy, and oh so scintillating.

Salome Montgomery may have escaped the trenches of The Winter People, but that was nothing compared to what’s waiting for her. The Summer King’s curse has been lifted, she’s gained kind of rockstar status among the Fae Folk, and she is looking forward to settling down with Gareth (le swoon) in the world of Faerie. But the land of Winter is stirring. Winter’s Queen is on the loose and wants to claim all four lands. Can Salome’s new status and her mysterious new abilities be a match for the evil queen, or will Salome be crushed under the hand of treachery?

Boy, do I ever love a good contemporary fantasy. Something about mixing a very modern teen feel of character into a fantastical world makes my heart happy. The characters are uber relatable and you get to see these worlds from their point of view. And Salome is perfect for this. She may have pulled a supergirl move and freed Summer from its curse, but she’s just a human girl. The world of Faerie is still very new to her. The customs, the rules, and the people are still something she’s trying to figure out. Salome is also one of the nicest people you can ever read. She doesn’t just have a heart of gold, it oozes it. This is her true power. Salome also has a quiet strength that we get to see in The Summer Marked. Tough choices are ahead of her and she will really need to woman up for them.

We also get to know Kadie, Salome’s BFF from forever. Kadie went off to Texas and college, but that ended up as well as sand on a fresh sunburn. Now she’s back in town and needs some BFF time, STAT. But Salome has vanished, the parents are on the “you disappoint me” train, and she has nowhere to go. Kadie’s last hope is to track down Salome at Gareth’s old hang out after getting a weird text. That doesn’t turn out so well either. Can Kadie bury her own demons, or will she succumb to the easy road?

Kadie’s spunk is the perfect ying to Salome’s super-sweet yang. Their alternating points of view are wicked fun. Kadie has always been the strong one in their relationship. Always the first one to step up and defend Salome because she was too nice, too naïve. But those roles have begun to crumble. I love how Purdy flips their character so they can fully grow as people.

Let’s talk swoon for a moment, too. The Summer Marked has the perfect amount of romance. It’s not so overdone you feel the ache in your bicuspids. There are sweet moments, but there are hot moments, “awe” moments, and moments that are downright funny. The love between Gareth and Salome will often leave you breathless. And Kadie has some moments where you really, r-e-a-l-l-y want her get herself together for the could-be-right-guy…finally.

To say I flew through this book is an understatement. The pacing is right on the mark for a guilty pleasure. The writing style is on the mark with witty banter and scenic backdrops that burst with beauty and the macabre, as only the Fae can do. Purdy brings together an equally stunning and cruel world of Faerie. It’s tough to figure out who is truly on the good guy side, who to put your trust in. Salome and Kadie are in for the biggest fight of their too-human lives. Summer may have been freed from its curse, but does it deserve to be saved?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental after Steele House, trying to put that..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."