Memos In Little Stories

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1036 0
Memos In Little Stories
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 30, 2015
ISBN
978-0957319226
Buy This Book
      
An elderly woman fights for justice. A young man confronts the friends who have misplaced his property. A billionaire faces the truth of his own mortality. A missing daughter returns home. In all of these stories, everyone has a choice to make, whether to assist or ignore, forgive or seek recompense, be honest or deceitful, pursue or discard a dream, have courage or give up, love or hate. We are faced with many opportunities every day to make such choices. Each one can reaffirm us; lead us toward right or wrong or even a new path in life. Memos in Little Stories has many enduring principles and truths to help you make great choices. By updating timeless teachings with relatable modern scenarios, the stories explore the positive impacts and more harmful consequences of our decisions and choices. From the first century to the present day and beyond, the light-hearted stories in this collection remind us that when it comes to goodness, loving and living well, some things never change. A present to give yourself, or a gift for someone you reckon needs it more!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Bite-Sized Advice
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A modern take on timeless wisdom.

I went in expecting a short-story collection, and immediately had to adjust my mindset. This is a book of bite-sized allegories. Which means the moral of the story (and its intrinsic acumen) is of far more consequence than the story itself.

Memos is a fast read—no more than an hour’s commitment. Each revamped metaphor is expressed in just one to two pages, interspersed with minimalist black and white illustrations. The prose itself is tight and to the point, offering a distinctly British flare in some of the word choices and cultural references.

Initially this reader recognized the adaptations and was unsettled that the original source didn’t seem to be credited. But at the very end the author does reveal her root material as biblical—citing the individual parables told by Jesus. The resulting effect walks a fine line between sensitive subtlety and spiritual obfuscation. But for some, this may be an ideal medium; a sort of stealthy introduction for those less historically or culturally inclined.

Much like traditional parables, they gloss over specifics of age, personality, ethnicity, and physical descriptions—instead going straight for the meat of the lesson it’s attempting to convey. As a result, there is no opportunity—or intention—of experiencing relatable characterization. Instead the scenarios rely on current technology and pop culture references for added relevancy. While clever and well-meaning, I’m afraid this tactic runs the risk of feeling outdated fairly quickly. Though for the time being, it may more easily speak to the current generation of tech-savvy youth—or those who would not otherwise be willing to consider anything with Biblical origins.

Ultimately a meaningful read; one likely to make a good gift for preteens, teens, and new graduates who are still building their sense of self and purpose.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."