The Bermudez Triangle

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.6 (5)
4204 0
Age Range
14+
ISBN
1595140190
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

5 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
I'm in Love.... with this book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Mary

The Bermudez triangle is the story of three friends and what happens when two of them fall in love.

Nina, Avery and Mel have been friends forever. Nina Bermudez is the organized one- the leader (hence the name, Bermudez Triangle). But suddenly something happens which she has no control over. Her two friends, Avery and Mel, have fallen in love. As the two of them grow closer Nina finds herself growing apart. Is the Bermudez Triangle breaking apart?


This is an excellent novel. I most certainly did not do it justice with that summary. Maureen Johnson manages to portray their lives and emotions in a way that seems perfectly real.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Beautiful Story About Friendship
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by the book muncher

Nina, Avery, and Mel have been best friends since forever. They were even dubbed the Burmudez Triangle by a jealous girl who wasnt included in their group. Its tradition for them to go to Chuck E. Cheeses for birthdays, even though theyre in high school.

Nina goes away for the summer to attend a pre-college camp and falls in love. Meanwhile at home, Avery and Mel have fallen in love too with each other. Mels always known that shes into girls, but Avery isnt quite sure. And it becomes more apparent when school starts. Nina is busy with all her school and extracurricular commitments, and Mel is left to fend for herself. It seems that the three-way friendship will crash and burn. Enter a boy whos attracted at first to Mel, and then to Nina, and things get a lot worse.

The Burmudez Triangle rang of friendship and love. It was a beautiful story I will never forget. There were many issues with boy troubles and inside the friendship that made the story very realistic. I loved the ending, because although it was sad, it was filled with hope. I highly recommend this novel to all girls, because it is empowering.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Interesting and Insightful
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ambeen

The Bermudez Triangle is a fast paced novel about three friends and how one summer changes their lives forever. The reader is allowed a peek inside each girl's mind and how she is feeling about the circumstances that arise. The novel is very real and the character's emotions are easily relatable. By the end of the novel, I was rooting for each character, hoping their happy ending would come.

The only part I didn't like was Nina's end. I just didn't like her decision. I understand it, I just don't think it really ensures a happy ending for her.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Touching
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Stephanie

Its the summer before their senior year and Nina, Avery, and Mel are not spending their time together. Nina is going to leadership camp all the way in California, and Avery and Mel are working at a local Irish diner. What happens to all of them over the summer is so unexpected that no one can predict how it will change their friendship forever.

At camp, Nina falls in love with Steve, her eco-warrior boyfriend. Steve is her first love, but he also happens to live in Oregon, 3000 miles away from where she lives in New York. Both are determined to remain together until they can see each other again the following year when they both get into Stanford for college, but until then they have to get through senior year.

Nina comes home with her head full of Steve, only to stumble into shocking news: over the summer, Avery and Mel have kissed, and now theyre a couple! Nina is left feeling like a third wheel, but all is not paradise in her friends land. While Mel is certain shes a lesbian, Averys having mixed feelings. Is it possible she only likes girls when the girl is her best friend, Mel?

Senior year is a time of maturation and understanding for the three members of the Bermudez triangle (called that because Bermudez is Ninas last name). While I found the ending a little too perfect, THE BERMUDEZ TRIANGLE is an excellently written book that explores the complications of love and friendship.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A really interesting and book! So good!!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Dylana

I cannot even explain how good this book was. I could not put it down. The story and plot line is just gripping. It's about 3 friends Nina, Avery, and Mel. The summer before 12th grade, Nina goes off for a special program at Stanford Universtiy while Avery and Mel work together. Things start taking turns when Mel falls for Avery, in more than a friendly way. Mel knows she's gay and that she loves Avery. And they date in secret. That is, until Nina comes back and catches them kissing. This is a total shock and things fall from there. Avery feels that she isn't really gay and made a mistake. Mel tries to come out and fights criticism at school. And Nina deals with all this plus her new boyfriend she emt at college. This book has many amazing and complex issues at hand. It is very realisitc. Read on to find out how the three girls put thier triangle back together and be friends again like before. I thought the ending was a little quick and left me hanging, but it was very good overall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."