The Memory of Light

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
2096 1
The Memory of Light
Age Range
13+
Release Date
January 26, 2016
ISBN
978-0545474320
Buy This Book
      

When Vicky Cruz wakes up in the Lakeview Hospital Mental Disorders ward, she knows one thing: After her suicide attempt, she shouldn't be alive. But then she meets Mona, the live wire; Gabriel, the saint; E.M., always angry; and Dr. Desai, a quiet force. With stories and honesty, kindness and hard work, they push her to reconsider her life before Lakeview, and offer her an acceptance she's never had. But Vicky's newfound peace is as fragile as the roses that grow around the hospital. And when a crisis forces the group to split up, sending Vick back to the life that drove her to suicide, she must try to find her own courage and strength. She may not have them. She doesn't know. Inspired in part by the author's own experience with depression, The Memory of Light is the rare young adult novel that focuses not on the events leading up to a suicide attempt, but the recovery from one -- about living when life doesn't seem worth it, and how we go on anyway.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Memory of Light
(Updated: January 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Depression is a subject some people still feel uncomfortable discussing but I feel very strongly that it needs to be addressed. Most books out there address what leads up to someone trying to attempt suicide. THE MEMORY OF LIGHT shows what happens after the attempt.

THE MEMORY OF LIGHT starts right after Vicky Cruz wakes up in Lakeview Hospital Mental Disorders ward after a failed suicide attempt. Her life hasn't been the same after her mother died of cancer. Vicky's father though has been in denial over her depression and even her suicide attempt. While at the hospital, Vicky finds herself with other teens who struggle with their own mental illnesses. Mona, who has bipolar disorder; E.M. who is always angry, Gabriel, who seems perfect but is hiding his own secret, and Dr. Desai. Vicky finds that this group is willing to listen and accept her for who she is. This is very unlike the competitive structure in her family. Through this all, Vicky needs to not only face her own demons but find the strength to want to live.

What worked: The voice is authentic with Vicky coming to terms with her depression. There are some really great images where she describes her feelings and what lead her to want to attempt to kill herself.

...Sometimes it's like the hum of an air conditioner, you know? Always there but noticeable only when I paid attention. And other times it just appeared out of nowhere, like my cat jumping on my lap."

Her relationship with her father, who is in denial, is very realistic. Some people are very uncomfortable on this subject and her father is one of them. I really felt the scenes that showed the interaction between them was real.

One huge thing that worked had to be the observations others had of those who are struggling with schizophrenia. A friend of mine described similar things whenever she visited a friend's tween who they think has schizophrenia. Author nailed the whole switching from the person you know to the one that hears the voices. The shift in personalities can be subtle and/or quick.

The scenes were Mona is manic were very realistic from the pent up antsy energy,talking super fast, to self-medicating. I grew up with a bipolar father, uncle, and older brother who all refused to take lithium or get treatment. So I could connect with Mona's struggles and how much she loved the energy of not taking her medicine.

I also loved how Vicky mentioned that she wrote poetry to deal with her depression. I did the very same thing when I was a young adult. Poetry 'saved' me as I was able to write what I was feeling when I felt I couldn't talk to others.

What I did have issues with though had to be how fast these teens bonded at the hospital. I never had to stay in a hospital but I've had a friend whose son has been in a few. There has been more in his groups than the one in the book but then again each experience is different. At times though this story had a RED BAND SOCIETY feel going for it where the teens automatically connect. Sure, E.M. at first was a little standoffish and blunt to the point of being offensive, but not much longer? He was there with the others.

Another thing that I felt held the story back had to be how quick most of the them were self-diagnosing each other. It felt almost a little too convenient. I do know that there are those that do research their illnesses but not all.

Overall, loved the insight into a teen's depression and what led her to attempt suicide. Realistic depictions that show teens dealing with schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. Also authentic portrayal of how some family/friends are in denial to why a love one might try to attempt suicide.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."