Girl Last Seen

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1338 0
GirlLastSeen_2.jpg
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 01, 2016
ISBN
978-1492602903
Buy This Book
      

Kadence Mulligan's star was rising. She and her best friend, Lauren DeSanto, watched their songs go viral on YouTube, then she launched a solo career when a nasty throat infection paralyzed Lauren's vocal chords. Everyone knows Lauren and Kadence had a major falling-out over Kady's boyfriend. But Lauren knows how deceptive Kadence could be sometimes. And nobody believes Lauren when she claims she had nothing to do with the disappearance. Or the blood evidence… As the town and local media condemns Lauren, she realizes the only way to clear her name is to discover the truth herself. Lauren slowly unravels the twisted life of Kadence Mulligan and sees that there was more to her than she ever knew. But will she realize she's unknowingly playing a part in an elaborate game to cover up a crime before it's too late?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Twisted Interwebs
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Girl Last Seen by Anne Greenwood Brown and Heather Anastasiu is a read-in-one-sitting kind of book. I sat down to read a couple of chapters, and the next thing I knew it, I was reading the final page.

What worked for me: The alternating POVs were crucial in maintaining the element of “who done it?” Girl Last Seen revolves around the disappearance of a budding YouTube starlet. Kadence (Kady) never gets her one direct point of view. There are some descriptions of “found footage,” videos she recorded herself. But we do see all kinds of different sides to Kady from those closest to her. There’s Lauren, who se are instantly introduces to as Kady’s best friend and ex-band member, who recently lost her voice. Even though the reader follows Lauren’s day to day, there is a very real moment when we doubt her actions. There’s Mason, Kady’s boyfriend. He’s a pawn who doesn’t see himself as a pawn. Finally, there’s Jude. Jude is a reinvented man, Lauren’s ex-best friend before the Kadence Show came to town. He’s right along side with Lauren on the list of suspects. Brown and Anastasiu do a fantastic job at straddling the line of moral ambiguity. The reader gets just enough detail from each perspective, not to mention Kady’s videos in between chapters that you don’t know who to trust until the very end.

Lauren DeSanto is a character that is complicated and worth sticking around for. I think everyone can see parts of themselves reflected in her. She’s the introvert sidekick next to Kady’s dazzling star show. They both want to be musicians. Kady wants the stardom. Lauren is a poet and a writer. When she looses her voice to a throat infection, her life is seemingly over. Throughout the narrative, Lauren is forced to reflect on who she is. Who is she without Kady? Who did she let herself become? Was she just a lemming? Being accused of murder is not something taken lightly, especially when she wasn’t the popular of the duo to begin with.

Girl Last Seen is a fascinating look at internet culture. There is a moment where Lauren reads the comments left for her in one of their most recent YouTube videos. The anonymity of leaving behind mean posts and threats is something that’s become normal in our culture. Seeing it done to Lauren, and how out of hand “viral” images can get, is sobering. Entire lives hang in the balance, and for what? A million hits?

Girl Last Seen is a tightly woven web of truths and lies. You won’t know which is which until the twisted resolution. For fans of Gretchen McNeil and fast paced mysteries.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."