The Wild One (Brooklyn Girls #3)

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1457 0
The Wild One (Brooklyn Girls #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
16+
Release Date
November 10, 2015
ISBN
9781250000873
Buy This Book
      

Sweet, innocent Coco has always been the good one. But when she catches her boyfriend cheating on her, she decides it's time to break bad. Coco swiftly goes from spending all her time baking and reading to working nights in (and dancing on) a bar, falling in and out of love (and lust), stealing education - and along the way discovers that she is stronger than she ever knew… In a time when her best friends are suddenly plunged into break ups, break-downs, big breaks, and on the verging of quitting New York City altogether, it's up to Coco to keep them together and find herself along the way. Gemma Burgess' The Wild One: A Brooklyn Girls Novel is the inspiring story about the turmoil, uncertainty, and heartache that every twenty something faces and survives - with the help of her friends.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Identity Crisis
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Reading this is like a religious experience. Of course, my own church probably won't approve of this because of the almost explicit (but still in YA-territory) displays/descriptions of sex, the large amount of profanity, and the presence of lots of alcohol. But oh, my gosh. This book came at the right moment and right time in my life, and it... Well, I need to break it down to explain it.

Let's start with the world building. It's set in New York City, which is a place I have never visited before. It's set in our times, and it's easy enough to pick up. You don't need to know the ways of NYC to understand this book, although in some parts, the roads of NYC is mentioned and explained.

Coco is a very sweet character who will resonate with any person who is questioning themselves and wondering about their own future. (And yes, I'm most certainly lost and confused like Coco, and I have no idea what I want to do in the future. Probably finance, but who knows? But I'll probably end up as a human disaster.) It's so easy to empathize with her, and she, like everyone else, makes mistakes and chooses the wrong choice. But she always swings back, and even though she doesn't know exactly what she'll do in the future, her very character just sits very well with me and absolutely soothes me.

The romance is a big part of the story, and it's a wonderful one that captivates me completely (when Coco's own character and internal monologue isn't holding my attention). I do indeed want Joe and Coco to be together, and they are adorable! It's basically watching two love-sick people who say one thing but mean something completely different. And the message remains this: Lack of communication kills. (Not literally, of course.)

Coco's character arc drives the plot, and she remains as the center of the spotlight throughout the entire book. With progressive progress, she learns and learns and learns, and that is important. The plot goes along smoothly, and it doesn't stop until the sudden ending.

Speaking of the ending, it absolutely ends on a flat note. I totally want more from the story yet it just... Pft. Fizzles out. I wouldn't mind the ending to be drawn out a little more and explored; what's there so far leaves a lot of room for editing.

In conclusion, THE WILD ONE is a story that begs to be read. It's one where any teenager searching for a purpose can understand, and it's definitely for those who are still looking and trying to understand what they want to have and, more importantly, who they want to be.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."