Candidate (The Black Mage Book 3)

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1021 0
Candidate-Generic.jpg
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 27, 2015
ISBN
978-1946155023
Buy This Book
      
Welcome to the Candidacy. Where dreams go to die.

Twenty-year-old Ryiah is a black mage of Combat, but she's not the Black Mage. Yet. She's had her eyes on the legendary robe for as long as she can remember, and in just one year, she will have a chance at her country's prestigious--and only--tourney for war mages... Too bad she is going up against a certain prince--the one person she has yet to beat.

The Candidacy finally arrives and a winner is robed, but something dark is lurking in her kingdom's midst. Rival nations are closing in, and it's time to make an alliance.

Unfortunately for Ryiah, that's only the beginning. The worst enemy resides in the palace.

*** The third book in the The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Wild One
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A wild, heart-pounding fantasy.

The Story:
Ryiah is no longer a student and she's no longer just a mage either. She's the princess to be in a country that is on the brink of war. Her fiance may be the only good thing in the palace and she isn't ready to give up her life quite yet. She must switch between serving with her fellow mages and soldiers and serving with the royal family. Both sides distaste for her is evident. Her competitive spirit threatens to break her relationships. And her family is anything but on board. She must navigate perils at every turn and finally sees that she must choose a side.

What I loved:
This story was so fast-paced, I couldn't put it down. There was so much going on and the complexities astounded me after the simpler previous books. We don't always know what is going on or who is the enemy and I loved that it kept me guessing at every turn. The writing is incredibly rich in this one while still staying away from flowery prose. It's a delicate balance and Ms. Carter navigates it with ease.

What was just okay:
The characters weren't quite as likable. They were conflicted, but Ryiah had been such a strong, fierce woman, and at times here she was relegated to a petulant teenager. She lacks any sort of empathy or social awareness and it's replaced by extreme selfishness masquerading as competitive flare. She made up for it in loyalty to her fiance though and love for her family. We were sorely missing Alex in this book. His humor or Ella's kindness would have tempered her. Lucky for her, she's surrounded by fascinating and complex characters like to brother-in-law to be.

Final Verdict:
A roller-coaster of a book that leaves the reader out of breath and without the mental capacity to think of anything but when they can begin the final book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."