See How They Run (Embassy Row #2)

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2739 0
See How They Run (Embassy Row #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 22, 2015
ISBN
9780545654845
Buy This Book
      

Inside every secret, there's a world of trouble. Get ready for the second book in this new series of global proportions--from master of intrigue, New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter. Grace's past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn't stop it, Grace isn't the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down. The twists get twistier and the turns get even more shocking in the second thrilling installment of Embassy Row.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Danger on Embassy Row
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Grace is still reeling from the events of All Fall Down, and is glad to see her brother, who is back in Adria on leave from his military academy in the states. He's brought a friend with him, but when the friend ends up dead, Grace spirals back into her paranoid delusions. Of course, they might not be all delusions- Ms. Chancellor takes her aside and tells her all about a secret society of daughters of Adria, and of course, Grace's mother was a part. Things get weird in Adria as well, when the yearly celebration of a horrific event in history is replayed. Grace's friend Alexi is accused of being a terrorist/spy, which gives Grace a good excuse to run all over town with him in the tunnels. She runs in to Dominic, the Scarred Man, at regular intervals, but he doesn't really shed much information on anything.
Good Points
Carter is extremely good at writing about exotic locales, and Adria sounds like an enticing place to visit, despite the problems it is having. It doesn't hurt that Alexi is a very appealing person for Grace to hang around!

While this doesn't have the missions and espionage of the Gallagher Girls series, or the edge-of-the-seat adventures in Heist Society, Carter still manages to imbue Grace's experiences with a delicious tension and mystery. What did happen to her mother? What about this secret organization? Is Grace really losing it, or are the people around her making her think she is? There is a third book planned in this series, and I wouldn't be at all surprised if we finally learn more about what is really going on.

Readers who liked Monaghan's A Girl Named Digit, Meyer's Inherit Midnight, Elston's The Rules for Breaking or Benway's Also Known As will enjoy this exciting tale of secrets and suspense, and want the next book in the series immediately upon its publication!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Excellent Thriller
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Ally Carter is back with SEE HOW THEY RUN. It's the sequel to ALL FALL DOWN, and the first book in the series leaves everyone in a huge, huge mess. We finally know the truth behind the murder of Grace's mother, and it's a very dark time for Grace. Of course, we, as the readers, struggle to figure out what the truth, the lie, and the figment of an elaborate hallucination is from the very beginning of the story. It's a much darker story than THE GALLAGHER GIRLS, and I love it. I can't seem to put it down while I was hanging out at a Christmas party.

The plot is very fast-paced. This time, the conflict centers around a murder of an American citizen that sends everyone into an uncontained panic. The entire situation, which involves the United States and Russia, has the potential to cause World War III (which Ally Carter seems fond of mentioning). (Yes, she talked about World War III in UNITED WE SPY. Yes, I'm surprised that I still remember about that little detail.) Grace is smacked right in the very middle of the crisis, and her brother, who we barely have even heard about in the previous book, is finally in the series to make a promising debut as her protective and also distant brother.

Grace, the narrator, is a bit unreliable (but not as unreliable as the previous book). Very close to the international crisis, she is the last one to know the full details about it. Her grandfather, brother, and etc. keeps secrets from her, and they all view her as unhinged ever since her mother died. Because of her reputation, she definitely has a hurdle to jump over. We can call her Cassandra (after the cursed seer), who is still trying to uncover the truth. But despite all of her opposition, Grace remains strong to the very end and keeps seeking the answer. She runs very well, by the way.

Espionage. No, there really isn't any espionage. A few international disasters, but nothing that is spy-worthy. Sorry, Gallagher fangirls (and fanboys).

The cliffhanger ending is shocking, and it's very jarring. I seriously can't wait for the sequel, and I need to add it to my Goodreads to-read list. I have to know what happens next, and from her achievements, Ally Carter is guaranteed to give readers exactly what they've been looking for.

In conclusion, SEE HOW THEY RUN is an excellent and exciting continuation to ALL FALL DOWN. It is mixed with just the right amount of drama, mystery, treasure hunting, and lies to make it work. Though a bit far from the usual spy/thieves books Carter is better known for, ALL FALL DOWN and SEE HOW THEY RUN are worth a read.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Rosenhart Book I 'The Sight'
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Be the Legend, Join the Quest" The Rosenhart...
Fabric of a Generation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For one teen, life's greatest adventure isn't time travel but...
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths,...
Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...

Latest Member Reviews

The Babysitters Coven
 
3.3
"What worked: This is a quirky, humorous at times paranormal where a babysitter's club is really a code name for..."
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
"Lady Victoria 'Vicky' Aston has a good life. Her older sister is married to a charming Viscount; her family estate..."
 
5.0
"In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki is disgusted when he finds out that his pen-pal Charlie is a girl. Still, they..."
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
3.0
"LOKI: WHERE MISCHIEF LIES tells a new story of teen Loki, before all the big battles and intergalactic feuds with..."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
"Told from the perspective of a girl who was captured and escaped, JANE ANONYMOUS is a thriller of both physical..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"posso usare l'italiano or english"
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."