See How They Run (Embassy Row #2)

FeaturedHot
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
3812 0
See How They Run (Embassy Row #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 22, 2015
ISBN
9780545654845
Buy This Book
      

Inside every secret, there's a world of trouble. Get ready for the second book in this new series of global proportions--from master of intrigue, New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter. Grace's past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn't stop it, Grace isn't the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down. The twists get twistier and the turns get even more shocking in the second thrilling installment of Embassy Row.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Danger on Embassy Row
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Grace is still reeling from the events of All Fall Down, and is glad to see her brother, who is back in Adria on leave from his military academy in the states. He's brought a friend with him, but when the friend ends up dead, Grace spirals back into her paranoid delusions. Of course, they might not be all delusions- Ms. Chancellor takes her aside and tells her all about a secret society of daughters of Adria, and of course, Grace's mother was a part. Things get weird in Adria as well, when the yearly celebration of a horrific event in history is replayed. Grace's friend Alexi is accused of being a terrorist/spy, which gives Grace a good excuse to run all over town with him in the tunnels. She runs in to Dominic, the Scarred Man, at regular intervals, but he doesn't really shed much information on anything.
Good Points
Carter is extremely good at writing about exotic locales, and Adria sounds like an enticing place to visit, despite the problems it is having. It doesn't hurt that Alexi is a very appealing person for Grace to hang around!

While this doesn't have the missions and espionage of the Gallagher Girls series, or the edge-of-the-seat adventures in Heist Society, Carter still manages to imbue Grace's experiences with a delicious tension and mystery. What did happen to her mother? What about this secret organization? Is Grace really losing it, or are the people around her making her think she is? There is a third book planned in this series, and I wouldn't be at all surprised if we finally learn more about what is really going on.

Readers who liked Monaghan's A Girl Named Digit, Meyer's Inherit Midnight, Elston's The Rules for Breaking or Benway's Also Known As will enjoy this exciting tale of secrets and suspense, and want the next book in the series immediately upon its publication!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Excellent Thriller
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Ally Carter is back with SEE HOW THEY RUN. It's the sequel to ALL FALL DOWN, and the first book in the series leaves everyone in a huge, huge mess. We finally know the truth behind the murder of Grace's mother, and it's a very dark time for Grace. Of course, we, as the readers, struggle to figure out what the truth, the lie, and the figment of an elaborate hallucination is from the very beginning of the story. It's a much darker story than THE GALLAGHER GIRLS, and I love it. I can't seem to put it down while I was hanging out at a Christmas party.

The plot is very fast-paced. This time, the conflict centers around a murder of an American citizen that sends everyone into an uncontained panic. The entire situation, which involves the United States and Russia, has the potential to cause World War III (which Ally Carter seems fond of mentioning). (Yes, she talked about World War III in UNITED WE SPY. Yes, I'm surprised that I still remember about that little detail.) Grace is smacked right in the very middle of the crisis, and her brother, who we barely have even heard about in the previous book, is finally in the series to make a promising debut as her protective and also distant brother.

Grace, the narrator, is a bit unreliable (but not as unreliable as the previous book). Very close to the international crisis, she is the last one to know the full details about it. Her grandfather, brother, and etc. keeps secrets from her, and they all view her as unhinged ever since her mother died. Because of her reputation, she definitely has a hurdle to jump over. We can call her Cassandra (after the cursed seer), who is still trying to uncover the truth. But despite all of her opposition, Grace remains strong to the very end and keeps seeking the answer. She runs very well, by the way.

Espionage. No, there really isn't any espionage. A few international disasters, but nothing that is spy-worthy. Sorry, Gallagher fangirls (and fanboys).

The cliffhanger ending is shocking, and it's very jarring. I seriously can't wait for the sequel, and I need to add it to my Goodreads to-read list. I have to know what happens next, and from her achievements, Ally Carter is guaranteed to give readers exactly what they've been looking for.

In conclusion, SEE HOW THEY RUN is an excellent and exciting continuation to ALL FALL DOWN. It is mixed with just the right amount of drama, mystery, treasure hunting, and lies to make it work. Though a bit far from the usual spy/thieves books Carter is better known for, ALL FALL DOWN and SEE HOW THEY RUN are worth a read.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...

Latest Member Reviews

Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
"THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which..."
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
"There were so many things I really liked about this book. The case of the missing girls was obviously the..."
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
"POISON PRIESTESS is an intriguing YA historical fiction that follows Catherine Monvoisin, a fortune teller and infamous master of poisons...."
Ember of Night
 
4.3
"EMBER OF NIGHT is an intense and steamy YA fantasy read. The book follows Harley, an almost 18-year-old who has..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
"THE SKY ABOVE US is a YA drama about grief, loss, and the search for something better. The book follows..."
Poisoned
 
4.3
"POISONED by Jennifer Donnelly is a YA fairytale retelling of the original Snow White by the Brothers Grimm. In it,..."
Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall in Love
 
N/A
"[b]AMOXIL[/b] is used to treat many different types of infections caused by bacteria, such as ear infections, bladder infections, pneumonia,..."
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
"WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS is a consuming and compelling YA thriller. The book is told from several points-of-view, but primarily..."
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
"HAVOC is an intriguing continuation of a YA paranormal romance. In this world, witches and werewolves live side by side..."
Coming Up for Air
 
4.7
"COMING UP FOR AIR is an intense and heart-wrenching YA contemporary with some heavy themes. The book is told between..."
A Curse of Ash & Embers (The Blackbone Witches, #1)
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ASH AND EMBERS is an intriguing, character-driven YA fantasy read. Elodie has received a letter of employment..."