See How They Run (Embassy Row #2)

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2583 0
See How They Run (Embassy Row #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 22, 2015
ISBN
9780545654845
Buy This Book
      

Inside every secret, there's a world of trouble. Get ready for the second book in this new series of global proportions--from master of intrigue, New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter. Grace's past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn't stop it, Grace isn't the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down. The twists get twistier and the turns get even more shocking in the second thrilling installment of Embassy Row.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Danger on Embassy Row
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Grace is still reeling from the events of All Fall Down, and is glad to see her brother, who is back in Adria on leave from his military academy in the states. He's brought a friend with him, but when the friend ends up dead, Grace spirals back into her paranoid delusions. Of course, they might not be all delusions- Ms. Chancellor takes her aside and tells her all about a secret society of daughters of Adria, and of course, Grace's mother was a part. Things get weird in Adria as well, when the yearly celebration of a horrific event in history is replayed. Grace's friend Alexi is accused of being a terrorist/spy, which gives Grace a good excuse to run all over town with him in the tunnels. She runs in to Dominic, the Scarred Man, at regular intervals, but he doesn't really shed much information on anything.
Good Points
Carter is extremely good at writing about exotic locales, and Adria sounds like an enticing place to visit, despite the problems it is having. It doesn't hurt that Alexi is a very appealing person for Grace to hang around!

While this doesn't have the missions and espionage of the Gallagher Girls series, or the edge-of-the-seat adventures in Heist Society, Carter still manages to imbue Grace's experiences with a delicious tension and mystery. What did happen to her mother? What about this secret organization? Is Grace really losing it, or are the people around her making her think she is? There is a third book planned in this series, and I wouldn't be at all surprised if we finally learn more about what is really going on.

Readers who liked Monaghan's A Girl Named Digit, Meyer's Inherit Midnight, Elston's The Rules for Breaking or Benway's Also Known As will enjoy this exciting tale of secrets and suspense, and want the next book in the series immediately upon its publication!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Excellent Thriller
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Ally Carter is back with SEE HOW THEY RUN. It's the sequel to ALL FALL DOWN, and the first book in the series leaves everyone in a huge, huge mess. We finally know the truth behind the murder of Grace's mother, and it's a very dark time for Grace. Of course, we, as the readers, struggle to figure out what the truth, the lie, and the figment of an elaborate hallucination is from the very beginning of the story. It's a much darker story than THE GALLAGHER GIRLS, and I love it. I can't seem to put it down while I was hanging out at a Christmas party.

The plot is very fast-paced. This time, the conflict centers around a murder of an American citizen that sends everyone into an uncontained panic. The entire situation, which involves the United States and Russia, has the potential to cause World War III (which Ally Carter seems fond of mentioning). (Yes, she talked about World War III in UNITED WE SPY. Yes, I'm surprised that I still remember about that little detail.) Grace is smacked right in the very middle of the crisis, and her brother, who we barely have even heard about in the previous book, is finally in the series to make a promising debut as her protective and also distant brother.

Grace, the narrator, is a bit unreliable (but not as unreliable as the previous book). Very close to the international crisis, she is the last one to know the full details about it. Her grandfather, brother, and etc. keeps secrets from her, and they all view her as unhinged ever since her mother died. Because of her reputation, she definitely has a hurdle to jump over. We can call her Cassandra (after the cursed seer), who is still trying to uncover the truth. But despite all of her opposition, Grace remains strong to the very end and keeps seeking the answer. She runs very well, by the way.

Espionage. No, there really isn't any espionage. A few international disasters, but nothing that is spy-worthy. Sorry, Gallagher fangirls (and fanboys).

The cliffhanger ending is shocking, and it's very jarring. I seriously can't wait for the sequel, and I need to add it to my Goodreads to-read list. I have to know what happens next, and from her achievements, Ally Carter is guaranteed to give readers exactly what they've been looking for.

In conclusion, SEE HOW THEY RUN is an excellent and exciting continuation to ALL FALL DOWN. It is mixed with just the right amount of drama, mystery, treasure hunting, and lies to make it work. Though a bit far from the usual spy/thieves books Carter is better known for, ALL FALL DOWN and SEE HOW THEY RUN are worth a read.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week after their eleventh birthday, the Fowl twins--scientist Myles,...
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Kai grows tired of her bookish mum not being...
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Sadie meets Girl in Pieces in this dark, emotional thriller...
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Abigail has just started her second year at the Tarkana...
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Based on the Disney Junior TV show and inspired by...
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the faux-documentary style of The Blair Witch Project comes...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history, leaving...
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ever wanted to fold your own Chocolate Frogs? Or play...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon will...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...

Latest Member Reviews

All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
"ALL THE THINGS WE DO IN THE DARK is an intensely challenging and thought-provoking read with some magical realism elements...."
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
"RULES FOR VANISHING is a deliciously haunting YA horror perfect for Halloween. Told through collected documents, interviews, and texts, this..."
What Makes Us
 
5.0
"WHAT MAKES US is an intriguing story that follows a teenaged boy, his mother (in the past), and his friend..."
Serpent & Dove
 
5.0
"Lou is on the run from her family and she lives a thieving life with her friend Coco. Both of..."
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
"BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY is an engaging contemporary YA that presents some issues very well. The writing is in a..."
On the Come Up
 
5.0
"ON THE COME UP is a fantastic new YA contemporary that handles big issues like racism and sexism. The characters..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
"FIREBORNE is a new YA fantasy that follows two teens, Lee and Anna (Antigone) in alternating points-of-view. Lee and Anna..."
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."
The Rift
 
3.3
"THE RIFT is a unique YA fantasy that takes place on Black Water Island, a place prized for the herd..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
"THE BEAUTIFUL takes place in New Orleans, primarily following a young woman, Celine. Celine fled France after a terrible event..."
 
5.0
"Eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson goes to Madrid, Spain with his family in order for his mother to reconnect with the country..."
Glow of the Fireflies
 
3.3
"GLOW OF THE FIREFLIES is a YA fantasy that follows a teenaged girl, Briony, who has no memories from before..."
Creep
 
3.3
"CREEP is an interesting YA thriller/horror that follows an incoming high school freshman, Olivia (Liv). Olivia lives in a small..."
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
 
4.7
"Sam Jones and Zoe Miller are seniors in high school, but they've never had a reason to communicate during their..."
 
4.7
"Michigan Manning just wants to play hockey. Unfortunately, the high school she attends in the upper peninsula of Michigan has..."
When You Ask Me Where I'm Going
 
5.0
"WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I'M GOING is an absolutely gorgeous collection that reaches to touch the soul. In poems,..."
A Match Made in Mehendi
 
4.0
"A MATCH MADE IN MEHENDI is a light-hearted contemporary romance. Simi aspires to be an artist, but right now, she's..."