See How They Run (Embassy Row #2)

FeaturedHot
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
3219 0
See How They Run (Embassy Row #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 22, 2015
ISBN
9780545654845
Buy This Book
      

Inside every secret, there's a world of trouble. Get ready for the second book in this new series of global proportions--from master of intrigue, New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter. Grace's past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn't stop it, Grace isn't the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down. The twists get twistier and the turns get even more shocking in the second thrilling installment of Embassy Row.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Danger on Embassy Row
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Grace is still reeling from the events of All Fall Down, and is glad to see her brother, who is back in Adria on leave from his military academy in the states. He's brought a friend with him, but when the friend ends up dead, Grace spirals back into her paranoid delusions. Of course, they might not be all delusions- Ms. Chancellor takes her aside and tells her all about a secret society of daughters of Adria, and of course, Grace's mother was a part. Things get weird in Adria as well, when the yearly celebration of a horrific event in history is replayed. Grace's friend Alexi is accused of being a terrorist/spy, which gives Grace a good excuse to run all over town with him in the tunnels. She runs in to Dominic, the Scarred Man, at regular intervals, but he doesn't really shed much information on anything.
Good Points
Carter is extremely good at writing about exotic locales, and Adria sounds like an enticing place to visit, despite the problems it is having. It doesn't hurt that Alexi is a very appealing person for Grace to hang around!

While this doesn't have the missions and espionage of the Gallagher Girls series, or the edge-of-the-seat adventures in Heist Society, Carter still manages to imbue Grace's experiences with a delicious tension and mystery. What did happen to her mother? What about this secret organization? Is Grace really losing it, or are the people around her making her think she is? There is a third book planned in this series, and I wouldn't be at all surprised if we finally learn more about what is really going on.

Readers who liked Monaghan's A Girl Named Digit, Meyer's Inherit Midnight, Elston's The Rules for Breaking or Benway's Also Known As will enjoy this exciting tale of secrets and suspense, and want the next book in the series immediately upon its publication!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Excellent Thriller
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Ally Carter is back with SEE HOW THEY RUN. It's the sequel to ALL FALL DOWN, and the first book in the series leaves everyone in a huge, huge mess. We finally know the truth behind the murder of Grace's mother, and it's a very dark time for Grace. Of course, we, as the readers, struggle to figure out what the truth, the lie, and the figment of an elaborate hallucination is from the very beginning of the story. It's a much darker story than THE GALLAGHER GIRLS, and I love it. I can't seem to put it down while I was hanging out at a Christmas party.

The plot is very fast-paced. This time, the conflict centers around a murder of an American citizen that sends everyone into an uncontained panic. The entire situation, which involves the United States and Russia, has the potential to cause World War III (which Ally Carter seems fond of mentioning). (Yes, she talked about World War III in UNITED WE SPY. Yes, I'm surprised that I still remember about that little detail.) Grace is smacked right in the very middle of the crisis, and her brother, who we barely have even heard about in the previous book, is finally in the series to make a promising debut as her protective and also distant brother.

Grace, the narrator, is a bit unreliable (but not as unreliable as the previous book). Very close to the international crisis, she is the last one to know the full details about it. Her grandfather, brother, and etc. keeps secrets from her, and they all view her as unhinged ever since her mother died. Because of her reputation, she definitely has a hurdle to jump over. We can call her Cassandra (after the cursed seer), who is still trying to uncover the truth. But despite all of her opposition, Grace remains strong to the very end and keeps seeking the answer. She runs very well, by the way.

Espionage. No, there really isn't any espionage. A few international disasters, but nothing that is spy-worthy. Sorry, Gallagher fangirls (and fanboys).

The cliffhanger ending is shocking, and it's very jarring. I seriously can't wait for the sequel, and I need to add it to my Goodreads to-read list. I have to know what happens next, and from her achievements, Ally Carter is guaranteed to give readers exactly what they've been looking for.

In conclusion, SEE HOW THEY RUN is an excellent and exciting continuation to ALL FALL DOWN. It is mixed with just the right amount of drama, mystery, treasure hunting, and lies to make it work. Though a bit far from the usual spy/thieves books Carter is better known for, ALL FALL DOWN and SEE HOW THEY RUN are worth a read.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With Joanie Stone's colorful illustrations and Allison Crotzer Kimmel's inspirational...
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The high price of perfection is one 'Perfect' Parker Fadley...
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed and heartwarming story of a dog in the...
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A feisty little girl learns who the real monsters are...
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mischief is multiplied when twins are around! ...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to the...
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and...
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first title in a new series featuring a lovable,...
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second title in a humorous series featuring a charming,...
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Having defeated the Garr, a vicious tree monster who lived...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The...
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Helen Keller was a baby, she became sick and...
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery....
Doodleville
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Drew is just a regular artist. But there's nothing ordinary...
Glitch
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new...
Storm Dog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Whip-smart Ariel doesn’t fit in. Only in the winds of...

Latest Member Reviews

An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."
Sisters of Sword and Song
 
4.3
"SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG is an enchanting and lush YA fantasy. The story follows two sisters, Halcyon and Evadne,..."
Straight On Till Morning: A Twisted Tale #8
 
3.7
"Straight on Till Morning is part of “A Twisted Tale” series, a multi author series of fairytale retellings created by..."
Faith Taking Flight
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Faith Herbert has a secret. She can fly. When she runs into her fangirl crush Dakota, star of the..."
Honor Bound (The Honors, #2)
 
5.0
"HONOR BOUND is an electrifying and thrilling YA sci-fi sequel. Zara, Beatriz, and Nadim are on the run from an..."
Honor Among Thieves (The Honors, #1)
 
4.7
"HONOR AMONG THIEVES is an engaging YA sci-fi that takes place in a world where humanity has been introduced to..."
Bookish Boyfriends: Talk Nerdy to Me
 
3.3
"TALK NERDY TO ME by Tiffany Schmidt is the third installment in the BOOKISH BOYFRIENDS series. This story follows Eliza,..."