Autofocus

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1472 0
Autofocus
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 14, 2016
ISBN
9780062302236

Family. It’s always been a loaded word for Maude. And when she is given a senior photography assignment—to create a portfolio that shows the meaning of family—she doesn’t quite know where to begin. But she knows one thing: without the story of her birth mother, who died when Maude was born, her project will be incomplete. So Maude decides to visit her best friend, Treena, at college in Tallahassee, Florida, where Maude’s birth mother once lived. But when Maude arrives, she quickly discovers that Treena has changed. With a new boyfriend and a packed social calendar, Treena doesn’t seem to have time for Maude—or helping Maude in her search. Enter Bennett, a cute guy who lives in Treena’s dorm. He understands Maude’s need to find her mother. And as Bennett helps Maude in her search, she starts to find that her mother’s past doesn’t have to define her own future. Lauren Gibaldi has crafted a beautiful and timely coming-of-age story that poses the question: Is who we are determined at birth, or can we change as we grow?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Heartfelt Journey of Self-Discovery and Growth
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Autofocus is an engaging, quick read about searching for closure and truth, finding love, and growing up. Through disappointment, broken hearts, and rough patches, we are taken on a journey of change and growth that feels realistic and honest.

I requested this book because I figured I should read more contemporary, and maybe even take a little break from fantasy. I wasn't overly hopeful that I would like it, but I was interested enough to give it a try. And I am so glad that I did! This book kept me flipping through pages all day long, eager to find out about Maude's mother and the people she hung out with. Each new lead in finding out about her mother was mysterious and gave Maude so much hope that you couldn't help but feel for her. I loved reading about her journey, and I especially love that finding about her birth mother was the main plot line in the book, and that adoption is a strong point, instead of it being hinted at but never really explored.

Maude is a strong, realistic character. She was adopted into a loving family, and she's very lucky for that, but she can't help but wonder about her birth mother. She's tried to find out about her before, unsuccessfully, and now she's ready to try again and go all out. Through all the pain and disappointment, and having the image of her birth mother shattered, she stands tall and accepts the fact that she may never really know how much she's like her mother, or how much they differ. Along with that pain and adventure, her best friend keeps ditching her and acting different. Treena has a boyfriend now and she's so afraid she isn't good enough for him that she goes along with everything he says, and Maude feels left behind, betrayed. She's left on her adventure alone, without the support of her best friend, yet she still makes it through, especially once Bennett offers to help. She cries and she acts out, but that's normal behavior after all she's gone through and found out. This really makes her a realistic, likeable character.

Bennett has seen kids be adopted, but he's never really seen the other side, the journey of finding their birth parents. So when he finds out that's what Maude is doing, he jumps at the chance to help and discover that side, and discovers so much more. He is what kept Maude together for so long, I find. He went with her whenever she asked, he held her while she cried, he cheered her up when she was down, and he was there for her when Treena wasn't. Through all that hurt and betrayal she felt, he was there to comfort and support her. I love them together!

Treena was trying too hard to be someone else, and while change is inevitable, she threw herself at Trey and was so insecure that she did everything he wanted so she wouldn't lose him. She was a good friend to Maude, when she wasn't with Trey. Whenever she was with Trey she was usually ditching Maude, and then getting mad at Maude when she saw her and Bennett having fun. She didn't go with Maude on any of her little adventures to find out about her mother until the very end. It was real and raw, and things like this happen so much in real life that it gives the story an honest feel. So while I got annoyed by Treena's lack of loyalty a time or two, I also appreciated it, especially since it let Maude and Bennett get to know each other more.

This is a heartfelt journey about self discovery and growth. It's a beautifully written tale that gives you hope, even when it breaks your heart. The strength alone of the characters will stick with you because they inspire you. Autofocus is a beautifully written coming-of-age story that will warm and inspire you. This is not one you want to miss!
Good Points
Great character development, Cute romance
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...

Latest Member Reviews

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."